Fill Me Up Buttercup

Yesterday

A day full of plenty of studying. And plenty of FOOD!

Breakfast: 1/4 cup 5-grain oats, 1/4 cup wheat berries, 1/4 cup pom seeds, 1/2 banana topped with Moka yogurt and blueberries

002 005

What better to accompany a day full of studying than an oven session involving…

Baked Tofu

  • Seasoned in soy sauce, honey, balsamic vinegar, garlic and ginger (idea from here)

017

Kale Chips

018

And the Star of the show… Buttercup Squash!

030

013

I could eat buttercup squash every single day of my life and not get bored of it. This was one HUGE honker of a squash and I’m pretty sure I ended up eating half of it throughout the course of the day. Lots and lots for lunch.

And then more for “dinner”. I wasn’t all that hungry come dinner time because I loaded up on all of that squash, kale and tofu earlier in the day so dinner was simply squash and carrots.
Notice the teeny tiny print on my “cheat sheet” underneath the foods. We were allowed a one-sided study aid on our computer processing midterm so I wrote down plenty of definitions and terms. I almost considered bringing a magnifying glass along with it but thought that might be a little weird. (I hardly ended up needing the sheet at all, but that’s how those study aids always end up working, isn’t it?)

 061

And a sweet feast because that’s what I was really craving. So I had some puffins, frozen mango, yogurt

068

Then a date or two with White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter… plus some more of the Wonder straight from the jar.

077

And an iced coffee to keep me trucking through the studying. I love that I’m finally able to handle the iced coffees more often now that spring is on its way!

089

 

Today

Two midterms this morning. Back to back shorties (50 minutes each). I think I finished both within the first half hour or so. I’m not really sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing… could go either way. I guess I’ll have to wait to find out… dun dun dun…

I wasn’t hungry but I knew I need a sustaining breakfast. I went with some cottage cheese, half a banana and half an orange.

002 007

Simple and satisfying… for about ten minutes. But post-coffee I was feeling a little light-headed so I also had a small bowl of Barbara’s Shredded Spoonfuls with vanilla yogurt. This did the trick.

013

When I got home from my midterms I was hungry but not quite ready for lunch. Solution? Squaaaaash! And some baked tofu. 015

And of course a good ol iced coffee for a quick pre-workout boost.

031

Except I ended up getting onto the computer and taking longer to get around to doing a treadmill run than I thought I would. So by the time I was all geared up and had done some stretching and bouncing around as a good warm up I was suddenly feeling quite hungry.

Toasted Nuts ‘N Cranberry Luna Bar to the rescue. I had half. First experience with this flavour. I don’t know if it was influenced by the sudden hunger hit but this tasted really darn good. I had another 1/4.

034 043

Then I went on to do 45 minutes of running/incline intervals. My legs were dragging a bit today. Must be from all of the sitting I’ve been doing for what, two weeks straight now of studying? Yuck.

I kept lunch simple – Plenty of raw veggies drizzled in balsamic vinaigrette, plus some more buttercup squash and baked tofu. Which was so delicious that I went back for even MORE.

046 057

Shortly after I still had room for the last of the Luna bar, which I heated in the microwave. It tasted like a warm melty rice crispy square. I can dig it.

061

I kind of studied during the afternoon but not really. I have one more midterm tomorrow. I’m studying plenty right now instead. And by plenty I mean clearly not at all at this moment since I am writing here instead. I’m just so sick of studying… I’m planning on skipping my two classes tomorrow to study during the day since the midterm isn’t til 4. It’s all multiple choice, true and false, and fill in the blanks. Shouldn’t be too tough, right? *crosses fingers*

Dinner was a little random. Chicken and kale topped with a salsa/sour cream mixture and some grated parmesan, with a side of leftover pasta/chicken cacciatore. With several extra pasta pieces snuck of out of the pot.

069

I was plenty full after this but suddenly quite hungry a couple hours later. I had an iced chocolatey coffee (hello cocoa powder!), grapes and some frozen mango but that didn’t do it. So I dug into the butternut squash. I know, I’m nuts. I’m going to turn pure orange.

And I’m still kind of hungry. I think it’s more study boredom than anything but I might dig into some PB Puffins. We shall see…

15 thoughts on “Fill Me Up Buttercup

  1. I love buttercup squash, and I haven’t had one in years. I’ll have to be on the lookout next time I go grocery shopping…oh, and iced coffee. I know I will pick up my habit again soon…still a bit too cold. I love iced coffee in the summer!

    Good luck with all the studying and your midterm tomorrow. Hope you enjoyed some more Puffin action tonight. :)

  2. Where do you purchase your buttercup squash? i’ve heard that they’re really similar to kabocha and I really want to try them ;]

  3. I love your entirely roasted dinner from the other night! And everything else looks yummy! Good luck on finishing up midterms, ugh sorry you have been doing nothing but studying!

  4. Haha that’s how my study sheets look too :) I’m sure you killed your exams, girl!!

    That is the only Luna I’ll willingly eat – I think it’s because it’s more like an actual granola bar.

    Yummy brain foods!

Leave a comment