Food Hog Backlog

Several weeks and several thousands of bites later, I have a photo or twenty that finally feel like making their way out into the open. I figured I’d help them along.

You know that whole Quest bar trend, and how everyone says they’re “omgbestbaryou’llevereatever!”?

Maybe not the best idea to buy an on sale, almost expired Quest bar online as your first attempt at jumping on that bandwagon. I nearly chipped two molars. These bars do not hold up well stale.

IMG_3725(For the record, I’ve tried a fresher variety with much better results, though not totally sold on their holy grail-ness just yet.)

This Perfect Fit Protein bar was also a new try, luckily with some easy on the teeth results. Tastes a lot like a chocolate chip Larabar.

IMG_2244

Visible chocolate chips right in there, I’m sold.

IMG_2248

I’ve had a few Greek salads this past month, a hardcore Kristie favourite, clearly. Minus the olives. ALWAYS minus the olives. Yet I still try to eat one every.single.time. Why? Apparently after a certain number of tries, you can learn to like a food. I’ve tried olives many many times. If it hasn’t happened by now, it ain’t gonna happen. 

IMG_2241

Salads (non-Greek) that include pictures before I demolished them:

IMG_2282

IMG_3821

IMG_2290

Sauteed kale, runny egg and squash with…. blackcurrant dijon mustard? What don’t they put in mustard these days?IMG_2295

Everything’s better with Greek yogurt.… except my skin. I’ve noticed a direct correlation between the state of my breakouts and the amount of yogurt I’m eating. That and throat clearing. Yep, I’m that annoying “ehem hem, HEM cough hem” person. Unfortunately this means I don’t buy it all that much anymore. Yet I still manage to crave it every day. EVERY day. Geez dairy, why you gotta be so mean?

IMG_3759IMG_3764 IMG_2303

Whey protein in smoothies seems to be hit or miss. Sometimes it destroys my stomach, sometimes it’s just dandy. So I still frequently experiment with different kinds/brands etc.

I ordered a few tasty protein samples online to try from CanadianProtein.com (Still working through them).

IMG_3767 IMG_3777

I also heard great things about this North Coast Naturals Whey Protein Isolate so I’ve been having that in my breakfast smoothies a lot lately. Big fan of this one and it seems to be just fine on my stomach so we’re looking at a repeat purchase from this brand.

IMG_3793 IMG_3815

There was also a time, a couple weeks ago, when I ate only fruit for a few days (in this case, tomatoes + avocados = fruit).

IMG_2324 IMG_2344

Felt nice and clean at that particular moment, but ultimately didn’t do much for me other than make me eat my weight in peanut butter and pumpkin-shaped cheeseballs mere days later.

Banana Granola Peanut Butter? Come on, Kraft, you’re killing me. No one person needs to consume this much peanut butter in two days (it almost happened). I’ve currently enabled a temporary peanut butter ban. It hurts, but so does sitting in can’tbreathtight jeans all day. And I apparently have no self-control.  Cold turkey it is!

IMG_3804 IMG_3799

And yes I did make a cheeseball in the shape of a pumpkin on a spider webbed plate for Halloween. Oh you fancy huh.

IMG_3838

And now I’m working at home alongside the scents of Cider Lane while trying to stay warm in my freezing cold household and contemplating how realistic it would be to attempt a sugar cut down right before the holiday season. My sweet tooth is taking over my sanity. It’s getting bad. Like “I just ate stale marshmallows and don’t even like marshmallows” bad. Whomp whomp.

IMG_3875

At least it’s Friday!

5 thoughts on “Food Hog Backlog

  1. ahh that mustard sounds like heaven! greek salads are a staple for me, too. i will have your olives! send em over ;) quest bars are BAD when they are hard. i have had fresh batch ones that are soft and sooo good.. otherwise i have to microwave them for 10 seconds to soften them up. the only flavors i like are choc chip cookie dough, raspberry white choc, and the new double fudge one. all the others i pass on. have a great weekend!

  2. North Coast Naturals Whey is my new fave. It’s also lactose reduced, which is why it probably works for you better :)

    I’m the same way with olives. I try them every once in awhile, still hate them. Also cilantro. Vile stuff!

Leave a comment