Midterms Are Icky… and So Is My Hair

I am DONE!

No more complaining about studying and stressing and school. Well, at least not for another week ;)

It is my spring break as of now. Well, technically I have two classes tomorrow morning but they are short classes and I highly doubt I will be missing anything important in them so I am choosing not to attend. I think my sanity is more important right now and anything more to do with school right now might just put me over the edge.

 

This morning I did some last minute studying since my final midterm wasn’t until 4:00.

Prior to beginning that fun though, I did some scrape cleaning:

003

The last of the Pumpkin Seed Butter

002 006

Check out those awesome nutritionals. This stuff is packed with protein!

I got about a tablespoon out of it…

013

…which I mixed with vanilla yogurt to create a delicious topper for this Breakfast:

  • Oat Bran cooked in tea (I used three different tea bag flavours that had already been used once. Anyone else ever reuse their tea bags?) with banana, blueberries, pom seeds and the pumpkin seed butter/yogurt topper.

019 037

This was more than filling but a little later into the morning I had a strange sweet craving so I went with it: Some Pb Puffins with a square of chocolate. I definitely had more than just two Puffins.

043

I spent a good chunk of the day sipping down many a mug of hot coffee. I had the worst sleep last night and I was completely tired and out of it all day. What a perfect state for studying and midterm writing eh? I think it might have had something to do with the crazy winds that were blowing last night keeping me up since winter for the past several months has been so silent. It took me forever to get to sleep and then I woke up at 4:30 and could not get back to sleep no matter how tired I was. I eventually put in The Office on DVD and finally fell asleep again from around 5:30 until my alarm went off at 7:30. Blech. Needless to say I am quite exhausted right now. But moving on first since my timeline is a little off here…

For lunch I finally finished the last of my buttercup squash along with some leftover baked tofu and a slice of turkey rolled with a slice of swiss.

047

More Puffins with Moka Yogurt

055

And since the sweet tooth was still whining, half a banana paired with the White Chocolate Wonderful jar. Somehow I managed to restrain myself from polishing it off. Which wasn’t that hard considering it’s still 3/4 full so polishing it off would involve quite the stomach ache.

066 076

I wrote my midterm. It took about half an hour. Complicated stuff, right? I feel pretty good about it. But then again, sometimes when I actually feel okay about a test I find out I did horribly. Let’s hope this is not one of those times.

For dinner my mom made Chicken Pasta Primavera out of a bag. I don’t typically like my dinners to be completely out of a bag so I had some of that paired with some chicken breast and spinach topped with Goddess dressing, more leftover baked tofu and a small piece of cheesy garlic bread.

096

This wasn’t that filling. Hello frozen mango and end of a vanilla yogurt container.

 101

Then my mom and I did some grocery shopping since our fridge was getting quite bare and we wanted to get it out of the way instead of going out tomorrow.

I was still hungry when I got home. The fact that we had all kinds of new foods to eat only furthered that hunger.

So I had a second dinner:
– couple bites cottage cheese
– half slice rye bread dipped in baba ganoush
– spinach and baby carrots with greek feta (the best way to eat feta) and balsamic vinaigrette
– a few Kashi Go Lean Crunch crunchies with plain yogurt.

Yeah second feast. I at least managed to get a picture of the spinach bowl…

108

 

Despite the fact that I am finally able to relax and no longer worry about midterms, I am not in the greatest of moods right now. I’m pretty sure a huge part of that is the fact that I am seriously sleep deprived, but I’m having an icky down night. And as pathetic as it is, it was mainly triggered by my hair… I know, that’s so lame, but I am having quite the tough relationship with my hair at the moment. I got it chopped off a couple months ago and it has now grown out a bit and is at that awkward middle length. It looks roundish and flat but then flips out at the ends. It’s dumb and I’m having trouble working with it. I seriously miss my long hair. I feel like cutting off my hair cut off a chunk of my confidence and I know that is completely dumb but I’ve just felt a little less good about myself since doing it. I feel like a boy.
Hair, please grow.

Okay, so I’m pretty sure most of that rant stems from my sleep lack. I don’t always feel like a boy. The fact that I’m analyzing the crap out of my coif while at the same time wearing bummy, baggy sweat clothes and no makeup while looking dead tired doesn’t help either.

I love my hair, I love my hair, I love my hair… I know I can convince myself eventually. Tomorrow I’ll wake up loving it. That’s my goal…

18 thoughts on “Midterms Are Icky… and So Is My Hair

  1. Woohoo for being done midterms. That is definitely something I don’t miss…and yet, I’m planning on going back. I’m obviously crazy.

    Mmmm, cheesey garlic bread. Yum.

  2. Ha ha – I love the scrape cleaning job…the ONLY way to finish off any nut butter properly. :) Oh, and I love oat bran cooked in herbal tea – so delish!

    What is moka yogurt?

    Today IS going to be a great hair day…I can just feel it. :)

  3. Congrats with finishing up Midterms!

    I saw a jar of pumpkin butter at the store the other day. I was going to buy it, but wasn’t sure. It’s that good eh?

    Great idea to reuse your tea bags. how do you do it exactly to make your oats? Your meal looks extremely good.

  4. GEEZ! I love everything you had to eat-I’ve never seen pumpkin seed butter! And your oats look FAB. Happy early valentine’s day!

  5. Yayyy for being finished! Congrats! The hair thing totally happens to everyone. I ‘ve thrown a tantrum or two, shhh. Good luck getting quality rest!

  6. Congrats on completing the midterms!

    I’m having similar hair issues, I totally understand where you’re coming from.

    I do hope you start feeling better and get to enjoy your spring break!

  7. Heather – I guess it’s basically coffee flavoured yogurt except the brand calls it Moka. They don’t seem to have it shown on the website but it’s this kind:
    http://www.liberte.qc.ca/en/page.ch2?uid=LiberteProducts. Might be just a Canadian thing though.

    Leng – I’ve had the Pumpkin Seed Butter jar for a while haha so I’m just finally getting around to finishing it now. It is pretty good though, quite unique!
    As for the oats, I just boiled water first, put it in a mug with the tea bags until the steeped, then dumped the tea into a pot with the oats in it and stove top cooked them as per normal.

Leave a Reply

