Canada Day and Green Tea Gulps

It seems there are a whole whack of us that lean towards the overthinking side. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one with a crazy mind sometimes. It seems like we’re all ready to put some of those excess thoughts on the backburner, though, and start putting that three-letter word (YES) to practice. No better time than summer to start saying “YES” and just live it up, right?

Tonight I’m saying YES to going out for a very special birthday…

Canada’s Birthday!

2628589070_30f1d23517

(source)

Happy Canada Day!

Nothing big, probably just hitting up a pub while sporting some red and white. Maybe catch a few fireworks on the side.

It’s been a hot one today (finally summer shows its face!) so I’ll leave you with a few green tea-filled tidbits and recipes while I head out to watch all the folk wandering around the streets with maple leafs fake tattooed on their faces.

 


My morning smoothie habit is nothing new. Though this so-called “summer” has been a little weak in terms of hot weather and many mornings are still a little chilly… 011

So my smoothies always get paired with a nice hot mug of green tea. 
Plus a handful (or five) of cereal for crunch factor.
009(Yes, I’m just reading ‘Eat Pray Love’ for the first time now. I’m ridiculously late on the EPL bandwagon. I blame it on textbook reading allowing for virtually no leisure reading these past few years. Until now!)

013

I usually eat my Puffins dry and straight from the box but did anyone else notice that these things just do not get soggy? Impressive.

003

 

Aside from drinking hot green tea beside my smoothies, cold green tea is often in my smoothies.

004

A liquid base of half chilled green tea, half almond milk = smoothie perfection.

 

Yep it tastes good, but I think many of us know that green tea does some pretty good stuff to the body too.

Andrea from Lipton Tea sent me a few tidbits to share on just why green tea is a great summer drink:

· Taste: Green tea can taste good. Today, it comes in a variety of flavours making it more enjoyable to drink; for instance, Lipton’s new Superfruit flavours, infused with bright fruit blends. Use your tea to make a delicious iced green tea sangria or fruit punch, great for enjoying on a warm summer day or night 

· Hydration: It’s no secret that green tea is good for us. Made up of 99.5 per cent water, this makes green tea an ideal form of hydration, especially on a hot day

· Weight management: When consumed without milk or sugar, green tea contains zero calories! When compared to a regular iced cappuccino with cream which contains 380 calories, this can make a huge difference, especially when consumed regularly over the course of the summer months

· Flavonoids…huh? Flavonoids are plant compounds that have been associated with normal cardiovascular function. Green tea contains more than double the amount of flavonoids than many other foods and beverages typical in a Canadian diet, including orange juice, broccoli and cranberry juice

Chilled green tea on its own is super refreshing on these hot (or at least semi warm…) summer days but if you want to spruce things up a bit, I’ll leave you with a couple Lipton Green Tea recipes to make it happen.

Green Tea Iced Tea

clip_image002

4 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes Chill Time: 2 hours

4 cup (1 L) boiling water

6 (6) Lipton® Green Tea bags

2 Tbsp. (30 mL) honey or brown sugar

Pour boiling water over Lipton® Green Tea bags in teapot; cover and brew 3 minutes. Remove tea bags and squeeze; stir in sugar and cool.

Pour into ice-filled glasses and garnish, if desired, with lemon or orange slices. Enjoy!

See Nutrition Information for sugar content.

Per serving: 30 calories, 0 g total fat (0 g saturated fat, 0 g trans fat), 0 mg cholesterol, 5 mg sodium, 9 g carbohydrate, 0 g fibre, 9 g sugars, 0 g protein. % DV: 0% vitamin A, 0% vitamin C, 0% calcium, 0% iron.

 

Sparkling Fruity Green Tea

clip_image001

4 servings

Prep Time: 15 minutes Chill Time: 2 hours

3 cup (750 mL) boiling water

6 (6) Lipton® Green Tea bags

¼ cup (125 mL) brown sugar

½ cup (125 mL) chilled purple grape juice

1 (1) medium orange, sliced

1 (1) medium lemon, sliced

1 (1) medium lime, sliced

¼ cup (50 mL) chilled club soda

Pour boiling water over Lipton® Green Tea bags in teapot; cover and brew 3 minutes. Remove tea bags and squeeze; stir in sugar and cool.

Combine tea with remaining ingredients except soda in large pitcher; chill at least 2 hours. Just before serving, add soda. Pour into ice-filled glasses. Enjoy!

See Nutrition Information for sugar content.

Per serving: 60 calories, 0 g total fat (0 g saturated fat, 0 g trans fat), 0 mg cholesterol, 10 mg sodium, 14 g carbohydrate, 0 g fibre, 14 g sugars, 0 g protein. % DV: 0% vitamin A, 6% vitamin C, 2% calcium, 0% iron.

 

 

Happy Canada Day to you Canadians and Fourth of July weekend to you Americans! Any big plans to celebrate?

13 thoughts on “Canada Day and Green Tea Gulps

  1. happy canada day!!! hope you have fun celebrating lady! also are you not loving epl? its definitely one of my favorite books to date, and thats not saying a lot though because i don’t really read anymore hahahaha

    • I hardly read novels anymore! Though with summer plus FINALLY being done school I’m trying to pick up the habit again.. and get through the PILES of books in my room that I’ve collected over the years but have yet to read. ugh. ELP IS really good but it took me a while to get into it! Now that I’m almost done I really like it though :)

  2. Woo! Always nice to hear from a fellow Canadian. Sometimes I feel like I’m drowning in a sea of red, white, and blue ;) Happy Canada Day, girlie. I’m hoping to catch the fireworks tonight, and then I’ve got a BBQ tomorrow afternoon. Should be good times :D

  3. Tea does make an amazing addition to smoothies – definitely gives you a different flavour profile from just fruit and your milk of choice. Love using matcha powder in my smoothies :)

    And I’ve never read Eat, Pray, Love either, but have no intention of doing so. I’m so not a fiction reading person.

    Happy Canada Day!

    • I’m not the best fiction reader out there but I’ve been trying to make myself get into it more. I just take forever to get through books because I don’t have a lot of patience to sit through them so I can only read little bits at a time. They have to be preeeeetty good to keep my attention.

      I’ve been wanting to try matcha powder for a while now. I just might need to bite the bullet and buy it!

  4. Happy Canada Day love!

    I know, puffins do not get soggy at all! I love them, but I actually like them dry a whole lot better! I just love getting the full effect pb flavor!!!

    Happy sunday!! xoxo <3

    • I really want to find those new peanut butter and CHOCOLATE Puffins… haven’t spotted those around these parts yet (Canada is slow to jump on the new cereals bandwagon) but I’m sure they’ll pop up eventually!

  5. Your smoothies look SO DAMN GOOD!! I love that vibrant green! Puffins are my faaave cereal! I totally wish we had the chocolate ones here! I always stock up when I find the peanut butter ones :)

Leave a Reply

