The Overthinker

Spontaneity is not my most practiced trait.

I’m an overthinker and overanalyzer. I don’t get excited about the suggestion of nearly anything until I’ve had time to mill it over in my head several times, and then several more times until I’m finally able to come to the conclusion that yes, that particular suggestion does, or perhaps does not, sound like a good idea.

tumblr_lg855gKgzV1qc9e8lo1_500_large
(Ain’t that the truth…(weheartit))

Half the time I overthink so much that I just end up talking myself out of stuff. Even the simple stuff. Even the fun stuff. Even something as great as going to the beach.

32014_10150192378510228_630620227_12507745_3125313_n_large
(weheartit)

My friend wanted to go to the beach yesterday. I didn’t smile, get giddy or jump for joy at the suggestion. Instead, I groaned (it was over text message so she was spared the extent of my humming and hawing).

 

My mind was on overdrive: “But it’s so far. And I’m tired of driving. And gas is expensive. And that’s a long day. And it’s only supposed to be “mainly sunny.” And I don’t feel like sitting around all day. And what if the water’s cold. And I’m not digging the idea of wearing a bathing suit in *gasp* PUBLIC”
(I’m not that whiney all the time, I swear).

 

After voicing a few of my “concerns” to my friend and her saying we could just do it another time (clearly annoyed and disappointed), I sat for a second, calmed my thoughts and said to myself – “Wait a second. What is wrong with you? You’re getting stressed out about the idea of going to the BEACH? You have absolutely nothing to do tomorrow, you haven’t been to the beach in ages and you have zero real reason not to want to go. SMARTEN UP.”

So I texted her back: “Alright screw it. Let’s go.”

It took a good swift self-kick in the bum to realize I was being ridiculous. It’s okay to break out of the everyday routine. In fact, it’s GREAT to break out of the everyday routine. Thinking and planning are smart and handy tools to have, but as such, too much of anything can be dangerous. And my overthinking as of late has been dangerous to my abilities for spontaneity and fun.

So I went to the darn beach.

The drive flew by.
The tunes were bumpin’.
The beach was nice and quiet.
The skies were overcast but it was prime for tanning without being a sweaty, sticky mess (Though clouds definitely don’t keep you from burning. I’m a bit of a lobster. On one side only. Prostar tanner I am not).
001

The kiddy swirl cones dipped in toasted coconut we picked up along the strip were creamy, melting bliss.

004

And the day was simple, fun, and of course worth the trip. It gets two big ice cream cones up.

 

It’s about time to put the overthinking on hold. Because:

5874740410_64915b561c
(source)

…when you’re willing to let it be.

 

Do you tend to overthink and over-plan before making decisions (of any calibre) or do you jump head first into whatever comes your way?
I’m going to work on becoming more of a YES Man. Life’s much more exciting with a little impromptu adventure thrown in.

17 thoughts on “The Overthinker

  1. I’m a big time over thinker and I think it’s the reason why I myself create too much stress in my life. I like to control things and sometimes the best times are just when you go with the flow. I should join you and try to be more of a YES Man too :D

  2. Yes…I definitely over analyze EVERYTHING! I have never been a “go with the flow” type of person. Even if I have nothing to do and friend asks me to meet her for lunch at the last minute, I’d rather re-schedule until a few days later. It’s terrible.

  3. i think we can work on being “yes men” together! i started with saying HELL YES to happy hour in nyc on friday even though i hate committing so far in advance, and the city is far and its expensive and drinks are 1,000 dollars and i have to drive all the way out east on saturday. eff it i’m 25 and i’m going. wahhoo

  4. I am the biggest overthinker that I know! I think I get it from my Dad– both my mom and my brother are very free-spirited. I over analyze evvverything, and usually I back out of things or say no because of it. I totally get where you’re coming from.
    I need to have more “screw it, just do it” it moments like you had there :) Good job!

  5. It really depends on the situation as to whether I feel the need to analyze or not. I’m all for spontaneous going out on random adventures on most days, but sometimes I’m just not feeling it, or have to turn into rational/responsible Marianne depending on other things going on and funds. Does that even make sense? I think the bigger the decision, the more I will analyze. But sometimes it just feels right to throw caution to the wind and do something wild and crazy, regardless of whether it’s completely rational or responsible…never illegal though! Just had to put that disclaimer in there ;)

  6. I am just the same as you! Seriously down to a “T”! The only thing is that I usually say yes because I know it sounds like fun and then right before the event I back out. Yesterday a bunch of friends were playing volleyball and I said yes knowing it would be a perfect day to spend in the sun with friends. But then the time rolled around and what did I do? I just didn’t go. I just didn’t go! I sat on the bed and did nothing because I was thinking “oh its too hot.” “I dont really like volley ball” “I’m not very athletic” Whatever.

    I do this ALL THE TIME! Thank you for pointing out that I can miss some really great opportunities for fun this way! Not to mention I end up looking flaky…

    So glad you went and had fun! :)

  7. I am just the same as you! Seriously down to a “T”! The only thing is that I usually say yes because I know it sounds like fun and then right before the event I back out. Yesterday a bunch of friends were playing volleyball and I said yes knowing it would be a perfect day to spend in the sun with friends. But then the time rolled around and what did I do? I just didn’t go. I just didn’t go! I sat on the bed and did nothing because I was thinking “oh its too hot.” “I dont really like volley ball” “I’m not very athletic” Whatever.

    I do this ALL THE TIME! Thank you for pointing out that I can miss some really great opportunities for fun this way! Not to mention I end up looking flaky…

    So glad you went and had fun! :)

    http://www.weighedown.wordpress.com

  8. You and I are two peas in a pod….and in fact, I think that is pretty common among the blog world ladies [have you noticed that]?! I think alot of us bloggers are one breed and so alike in many ways! But anyway, ya! That is part of my introversion. Like at camp yesterday we had to go from the park to the pool (about a 5 min drive plus the addition of packing up campers in and out of vans). For me, it has been exhausting to deal with kids, so when we found out that the pool only had public free swim at 1:30, AFTER we had arrived at noon since the schedule was wrong online, the instructors had then decided to go BACK to the park. Even just a 5 min drive I was like ahh, they can play here right?! I swear, I feel sooo lazy sometimes. Then I have to kick my butt…. or surround myself with energetic friends, and just grab a coffee and GO.

    [Def. am bringing more caffeine to camp tomorrow! ;) ]

    Wow, long rant. All I meant is I am TOTES THE SAME.

    Love you so, yay for ice cream cone-age. :)

    MWAAAAAAAAAAAH

  9. I am HORRIBLE at overthinking. WITH EVERYTHING. My math teachers in high school would tell me that I was making problems more difficult than they should be because I was thinking too much. =P

    I also think too much about food and counting calories and such. I wish I could just be more intuitive! But, it’s a long process. I am working on it.

    This week I am just going to be more relaxed and see what happens as to planning and eating. I hope it all goes well!

  10. Glad you enjoyed yourself at the beach!! I’m pretty bad at over thinking sometimes but I’ve started to make the switch to become more of a “yes man.” I’m extremely Type A and a huge planner so spur of the moment things make me a little anxious but I’m working on it!

  11. I am such a over thinker, and it was bad when it came to wedding planning! lol! Did not help!

    LOVE the ice cream cones dipped in coconut, how yummy!

    Thanks for all the sweet comments too while I was away!

    love ya!!

  12. I love this post! I can be a bit like that too sometimes, the best friends Ive ever had know to be persistent and just drag me along and usually I will find myself having fun! Unfortunaltey I left them in England and my new American friends just leave me when I’m like “oh, I cant go out I’m already in my PJs and tomorrow I want to get up and go to the gym blah blah blah” hehe…

  13. Oh my gosh I used to be SUCH an overthinker and a worrier. But honestly, in the last year (since moving to a new city) I’ve learned to just say YES to things, and take risks! Things are usually fine 99% of the time :) Why worry? Enjoy life!

  14. Pingback: Canada Day and Green Tea Gulps « Lighter Portions
  15. Pingback: Decisions, Decisions « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

