Waste Not

I don’t know about you, but I can’t waste food.

4115203072_9d8cb93e21_z_large
(weheartit)

So when I have a third of a huge bag of wilted spinach sitting in the back of the fridge, I don’t chuck it right into the compost bin like a sane person might do. Instead, with wrinkled nose, I grab chunks of the soggy green mess with my bare hands and shove them fistful after fistful into the Bullet until they’re pulverised into one giant bowl of drinkable delight.

The bag of spinach left a green juice puddle on the counter, that’s how greatly rotting it was.

Not so edible but certainly drinkable as a Dark Chocolate Greens Glugger when combined as the following:

3+ cups wilted spinach, 1/2 cup chilled coffee, 1/2 cup almond milk, splash of orange juice, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, 2 heaping spoonfuls cocoa powder, packet of stevia, pinch of xanthan and guar gum, lots of ice.

001

Now that’s a “Soup”

020

Waste Not your wilted spinach!

 

As I said, I can’t waste food.

So there was no way I was wasting my curry “chicken” by not eating it fast enough.

Hence eating it virtually every day this week for lunch.

012

020

014

Lucky for me I found a great new salad dressing to make the faux chicken consumption process all that much more interesting.

Welcome to my fridge, Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Dressing.

008

My friend’s and I had an entire conversation about the greatness of the President’s Choice brand the other night. If you have the pleasure of buying PC foods at your local grocer (Holla Canadians!), I’m sure you know what I’m talking about.

Waste Not your fake chicken (That probably isn’t actually fake. I swear that stuff has to be real!)

 

I didn’t need to worry about any of this Couscous Chickpea Salad going to waste after experimenting in the kitchen the other day. My family had it eaten up in no time. Though it would be pretty hard to mess up a bean and grain salad.

1 cup cooked couscous
1 cup chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/2 large cucumber, chopped
1/2 white onion, chopped
1/4 cup edamame, shelled
3 Tbsp Kraft Sundried Tomato and Oregano Salad Dressing (or whatever vinaigrette style dressing you have on hand and want to use up)
2 Tbsp red wine vinegar

Cook the grain, add the beans and veg.
Mix the dressing and vinegar and pour over the rest.
Chill and eat.

014

This was also an attempt to use up the bottle of dressing. It’s taking up precious fridge space for a while now since I don’t love it on salads. Another perfect way to Waste Not!

Waste Not your least favourite dressing!

 

Often when I cook up spaghetti squash I have a problem finishing up the leftover strings. I’ll admit, I don’t think spaghetti squash is quite the bomb that some people seem to. I certainly doesn’t replace pasta.

But if what you’re really looking for is simply an adequate vehicle for your bowl of sauce and cheese, it does the trick quite well.

After trying out Janetha’s Faux Lasagna, I knew I’d have no trouble finishing up this batch of remainders.

036

Spaghetti squash + cottage cheese + bottled pasta sauce all topped with mozzarella = darn good bowl of food.

047

Leftovers sans cottage cheese but with mucho mozzarella (and a sprig of parsley for aesthetic pleasure)

015

Waste Not your spaghetti squash!

Are you a food waster or a creative reworker? Be honest! No judgements here. Do you throw out that less-than-fresh produce or those boring leftovers, or do you find a way to rework them and eat them up in new ways?

I love getting creative with whatever happens to be hanging around in the fridge. It makes for some…interesting meals here and there. I usually draw the line at mould and funky smells…but I keep pretty close tabs on what’s going on with the food supply so usually I can eat it up before it reaches that point! No shame.

31 thoughts on “Waste Not

    • Yep I’ve definitely done that before. I do try to switch things up or make a new dish out of them though so that it’s a little more exciting if it’s something I’m really not feeling like eating. Sometimes you DO have to just give in and get rid of it though, not worth it if you’re suffering through it haha

  1. Kudos to you for eating wilty spinach! Grosses me out when it gets that way. HEHE! And you can bet I’ll be buying that salad dressing. What would I do without you letting me know about all these great finds??? :)

    • They had a whole bunch of new salad dressings when I was there about a week ago. AND they were on sale. I almost grabbed them all! I’m excited to see which you pick up :)

  2. So thrifty – and with delicious results! I love it.

    I hate wasting food most of the time, but there’s one thing I will waste, no guilt – and that’s a bad kabocha squash. I like ’em dry and potato-ey, with a hint of sweetness, but sometimes I end up with a dud that’s stringy and way too squashy for my tastes. In that case, I throw it out – not worth it to me!

    • YES! I LOVE them dry and just slightly sweet. I’ll still eat them if they’re not and I don’t MIND them but I definitely get pretty disappointed. Dry kabocha ALL the way.

  3. I admit I probably throw out food that others would still eat…I’m kind of picky if there’s any sign of deterioration on any produce, I don’t eat leftovers after a few days (so I never make enough to have this problem!) and I’m a stickler for “best before” dates. I’m a bit of a food waster I guess, so I try not to buy any more than I know I will use.

  4. i agree- i feel so guilty when i waste food!! i love your spaghetti squash meal- i need to try that asap

  5. I hate wasting food too. I feel so guilty when I see food going to waste. Green smoothies are the perfect way to use up lots of spinach. I probably put 2-3 cups of the green deliciousness in my smoothies. Yum!
    Have a great weekend! :-D

  6. I absolutely cannot waste food! Even at restaurants I have to clean my plate or take it home. I worked as a waitress and was shocked by how much food gets thrown away every day! I love the creative ways you reworked your foods. I usually just eat it straight up wilted but I probably would enjoy it more if I prepared it another way!

    • Whenever I see people leaving a perfectly good chunk of their meal on their plates as they leave a restaurant, I’m always tempted to grab it and shove it in my purse! …luckily I’ve never actually done this before. I’m not THAT nuts. It sure is tempting though ..har har.

      I’ve eaten some straight up wilted foods before. Definitely ended up with some pretty nasty meals though so now I try to use a little discretion and disguise them enough that I won’t be choking down mouthfuls of mush.

  7. I don’t like to be a food waster (mostly because it’s my money going out in the trash!) so I try to only buy what I know we can eat in time, but we don’t get to it and the food has gone bad, it goes out. I couldn’t eat that wilted spinach – once my greens start to leak, they’re tossed.

    I’ve got to grab some of that dressing the next time I’m at Zehrs – it looks delish!

    • If I didn’t drink my greens in smoothies I probably would have tossed the spinach too. Actually on second thought, I’d probably try stir frying it first ;)

      Zehrs has several hummus dressings now, so exciting! Gotta love good old PC brand.

  8. ohhhhh i neeed to pick up a spaghetti squash!! also i’ve been meaning to get some ricotta cheese too but idk how i would feel about that haha.

  9. I end up coming up with a lot of ideas for creatively using things up and then wind up just eating them plain :P but I definitely don’t waste food! My ex-roommate did frequently, or would forget about her fruit in the fridge so I’d eat borderline-spoiled strawberries just to keep them from their misery ;) Or I stole her overly browned bananas and put them in the freezer for later baking use :)

    Looks like some good eats! I’m particularly jealous of your spaghetti squash… mmmmm
    <3
    n

    • I end up eating things plain a lot too jaja/ It’s easy to brainstorm great ideas and pull out great recipes but when it comes time to actually eat, sometimes straight up is just way easier! And if I were living with roomies who let their food rot, I’d be saving those fruits from their misery too :)

  10. Hey Kristie! I could not resist posting this time, because I do love using the leftovers! :) It’s too little to say I dislike eating exactly the same five times in a row (besides some exceptions, like green smoothie and some fruits), but I get so inspired when I need to make something new with the foods I have left. For example, something that was a stew, can become a soup with some fresh veggies and herbs added, or something that was just plain rice with veggies, can become vegetarian pancakes with some extra ingredients too! :) :)

    • It sounds like you’re the pro at re-purposing meals. I’m not surprised :) Those leftover ideas of yours sound delicious! Especially pancakes made from rice and veggies, I’ll have to try something like that next time I have leftover rice kicking around.

  11. Bahaha, you remind me so much of me its not even funny! I w i l l n o t w a s t e one drop of food. I sometimes make the nastiest meals just so I can use up random ingredients – its seriously appalling. Clearly, I dont blog it. You got cajones, lady. But those meals arent even nasty! Not at all.

    • OH boy, I’ve made some of the worst meals before. Once in a while it’s a heck of a lot safer to just toss the food…rather than tossing your cookies. Seems we’re willing to learn that the hard way eh? Haha doh.

  12. I’m a saver and eater of wilted spinach. Another thing that I do with greens is throw them in the fridge. I like frozen spinach and kale best in my smoothies because they’re thicker. You can also easily use frozen greens in soup, egg dishes, or stir fries.

  13. I know I’m majorly tardy for the party but CONGRATS ON GRADUATING!!!!!!!!!

    That dressing sounds incredible! I’m also loving the couscous! I hate wasting food but I usually don’t rework it into something else. I’ll just eat the same combo/meal over and over and over!

    • Thanks so much for the congrats K! Always appreciated :)

      And you’re pro at the repeat eats, I kind of love it. Especially since they always look so darn tasty. If it’s not broken, no point in trying to fix it right? ;)

  14. I’m all about using up food in the fridge – I hate throwing them out. I’m all for finding creative ways to use them up. But I do have to draw the line at wilty, liquidy greens. They are kinda gag inducing. I would have tossed the spinach instead of making it into a smoothie…and not just because my blender is broken!

  15. Pingback: A Day in the Kitchen of a Grazer « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

