Long Weekend Fun and Fuel

What a long weekend.

Not what a long weekend, but rather WHAT a long weekend. One solid track of celebrations, complete with copious amounts of cupcakes, decent amounts of dancing, and devilish amounts of drinks (Slight exaggeration. It was all good times but all decently tame. I’m too old and crotchety for that party animal lifestyle! Har Har). Something about long weekends that just makes everyone want to nonstop celebrate.

 

Thursday there was a night out reunion with a group of old high school gals. We’ve lived in different cities for school but they’ve all finally trickled back in for the summer and it was time to reconvene. Drinks and singing along to cheesy Glee tunes beforehand; drinks, dresses and dancing at a bar to finish it off.

tumblr_llg31akF8i1qfysh2o1_500_large
(weheartit)

I rarely actually drink fruity drinks but they sure do look suave.

Friday was a buddy’s birthday, complete with breast-studded cupcakes delivered in a shoebox to his delighted hands. There were several big hungry men at this birthday and they were all more than excited about the brownie-bottomed treats, topped with chocolate womanly bits. The way to a man’s heart…

Said birthday began at the house, then continued on to two different bars. It was a Bud Light and antojitos (Stuffed with MANGO. Absolutely delicious) kind of night.

Bud-Light-Beer
(google)

Antojitos
(google)

Saturday was the craziest one yet! Okay…no it wasn’t. Highlights included going to work, running, eating a salad and a lot of bean salad, updating my Ipod and going to bed early. Hey, I needed a break! I told you, old and crotchety.

008

 

Sunday was good for some tame tanning time during the day (I got some nice colour and a good dose of the natural Vit D) and some retro moves and grooves at a bar at night. The best thing about going out on a long weekend Sunday is running into faces you rarely see. I love my long-lost acquaintances.

 

A whole weekend of late nights left me run right down though. I actually half napped today and I NEVER nap. It was lovely.

 

Aside from cupcakes, non-fruity beverages and low levels of sleep, how else did I fuel this long weekend?

A LOT of greens. Green smoothies are my breakfast of choice these days, now that the weather has really warmed up.

008

006

010

012

040

ONE of these was stuffed not with spinach but with collard greens. It needed a bit more sweetener but I kind of liked the slightly earthier taste the collards added.

Considering how darn cool it is to blend your spinach into your smoothie… how about topping your spinach with your smoothie?

Yup, I did it.

005

Yup, I ate it.

032

Yup, I ate it all.

033

Creepy? Weird? Unnecessary? All of the above. But it wasn’t half bad. And I’d do it again.

I also ate a lot of salads. What else is new?

Salad topped buffalo-chicken style (cooked chicken;dressing of light source cream, dijon mustard and balsamic vinegar; Frank’s buffalo sauce)

016

Salad topped plain style – veg and honey mustard dressing with rye and cottage cheese on the side.

015

Salad topped taco style – seasoned ground beef, bean salad, tomatoes, salsa, sour cream, cheddar

018

Salad topped tuna style – tuna mixed with sour cream, dijon mustard, worcheshire sauce and pepper

015

 

And some odd balls

Italian "Pizza Cheese” made with cashews

015

Chicken-stuffed Enchiladas. Hideous but delicious.

021

Red fiesta with red peppers, red salsa on crackers, red ketchup on egg whites

048

Collard greens, broccoli, zucchini and mushrooms stir-fried in a curry mayo sauce (light mayo + curry powder + splash of milk) with a side of mashed cauliflower

056

Strawberries topped with coconut/cocoa powder yogurt and sesame brittle

076

More berries

053

And more berries

060

And even more berries – accompanying leftover carrot cake of course.

024

And to wash it all down? A nice big glass of Crystal Light blended with water, carbonated lemon water, ice, frozen raspberries and frozen mango chunks.

033

SO. Refreshing.

030

 

And now I just got asked to go out AGAIN. This long weekend is over, how do people do it? And more importantly, why am I actually considering it? Oy vey!

10 thoughts on “Long Weekend Fun and Fuel

  1. Haha! I always joke that I’m getting old, but seriously… I have NO idea how people go out and party all the time. Like none. And it’s funny because I used to go out pretty much every night when I was younger, and I’d never be home before midnight, but now? I just don’t have it in me anymore. I’d rather stay home and blog or read or watch TV… and if I do go out, it’s usually for a quiet get together with friends or family. Weird how things change. I guess I must have gotten it all out of my system…

  2. Your weekend sounded kinda like my weekend!! Super busy and tons of celebrating!!

    Love your eats!! totally want that crystal light drink asap!!!

    also the chicken enchiladas look great! Recipeeeeeeeeeeeeee please!

    love you!

  3. It looks like you balanced out some serious fun with some seriously good eats!

    And I always find that the more I go out, the more I want to KEEP going out. It’s addictive in the best of ways :)

  4. What a fun weekend, sometimes I feel like I’m getting old too lol There are weekends where I just wanna be in bed by 2am the latest!

Leave a Reply

