Scooter Girl

Can someone build a gasless car and deliver it to me by the end of the week? Otherwise I’m never leaving the house again. That or I’m going to invest in one of those motorized bicycles. Or maybe a really sweet scooter. Considering I work at a motorcycle shop (Didn’t know that? Now you do :)), this idea just might be plausible. Thoughts?

I think I could rock a scooter (please excuse the hairy legs…and arms).

ridin in style copy

Seriously though, gas prices make me want to cry… along with the rest of the population since that’s all the news and anyone who drives seems to talk about lately. I just heard the prices are supposed to skyrocket even more? And I’m down to a quarter tank…sob.

 

While a scooter might not be on the agenda for this week at least, green smoothies have been. Smoothie weather has arrived!

For Breakfast…

007

011

…AND lunch.

010

Yes, those are three entirely different smoothies. How exciting am I, they all look the exact same and I can’t even be bothered to switch it out of a Bullet cup. That’s just another dish to wash though and the Bullet cup fits oh so nicely into the hand.

The contents of the three above smoothies vary slightly but include:
Chilled green tea, unsweetened almond milk, ice, large handful spinach, ~1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder, frozen strawberries, cinnamon, barley grass powder, xanthan gum (and maybe some guar), a bit of sweetener if needed.

 

Aside from smoothie binges, last night I chomped on a veggie burger on a slice of rye with dijon mustard, Laughing Cow cheese, sundried tomatoes and spinach.

016

Can we just focus on the faux grill lines for a second? Are they supposed to give some sense of real burger authenticity? It kind of makes me laugh…but I totally felt like I was eating a big juicy burger hot off the grill…or not quite.

036

It was even better that the real thing. Thumbs UP to veggie burgers.

DOUBLE thumbs up to Pita Pit. I hadn’t had a Pita Pit pita in ages but I finally had one again the other day. Isn’t it beautiful?

004

A babaganoush and vegetable-loaded bundle of joy: baba, romaine, red onions, pickles, hot peppers, tomatoes, green peppers, mushrooms, honey mustard.

010

 

Last night I was also in a baking mood so I baked granola!
Making granola is a little more like concocting than baking but it satisfied the urge and mom’s request for granola. Two birds, one stone.

I based mine off of this recipe, making a much smaller batch with the ingredients I had on hand.

057

My batch included:

Dry: 50 g rolled oats, 50 g quick oats, 10 g puffed rice cereal, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp sea salt
Wet: 1/4 cup applesauce , 2 tbsp honey, 2 tbsp packed brown sugar, 1/2 tbsp safflower oil, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Add-ins:1/4 cup chopped almonds and cashews, 1/4 cup chopped dried apricots, cranberries and raisins

Baked at 300 for 20 minutes without the fruit and nuts.
Then stirred and baked for another 30 minutes with the fruit and nuts.

This granola came out beautifully. Lightly sweetened, super crunchy, with some of those oh-so-coveted granola clumps in the mix.

Be sure to check out the original recipe, which breaks down all of the steps to a perfect batch of granola.

 

Still on the topic of baking, I was recently sent a bag of Emerald Forest Xyla brand Xylitol, an all-natural sugarless sweetener extracted from natural fibrous sources such as birch trees. It has the same sweetness as sugar with 40% less calories and 75% less carbs.

029

Considering it can be swapped 1 to 1 with sugar, I decided to try it out on a miniature batch of flourless peanut butter cookies: 1/4 cup peanut butter, 1/4 cup Xyla, 1/4 egg (this was a little tricky).

024

Though they’re no substitute for the real thing, the Xylitol puts an interesting flavour spin on the cookie and they’re plenty sweet. I think I’d cut down on the Xylitol a bit when using it again as a swap for sugar in baking.

That being said, I finished off the last cookie last night atop a bed of plain yogurt, banana and peanut butter. Mmm. I’ll have to see what other good uses I can come up with for the Xyla. Ever used it? Any suggestions?

042

 

Wow, where did the morning go? I think it’s about time I get a move on…preferably not via driving, though I now also have a nice big chip in the windshield after a rock came shooting at me off the highway the other day. Swell. So I need to go get that repaired stat.

 

Do you drive? Are you crying right now because of it? Are these rising gas prices making you change or consider changing your driving habits?

I sure am less motivated to want to go out anywhere. And I’m definitely trying to figure out how I can use bicycle transportation more often. Sadly I live in the burbs so everyone and everything is a bit of a hike out of the way. Otherwise I’d be doing a lot more walking to where I need to go! Motorized shoes perhaps?

 

*Don’t forget to enter my Tuesday Tea Giveaway!

18 thoughts on “Scooter Girl

  1. I LOVE my scooter!! I just got one off Craigslist (I had to keep checking back, because they sell pretty quickly). It’s only a 50cc, so it doesn’t have a ton of power – I can do about 30-35 mph on it. It gets about 70 mpg, and I can park it on the sidewalk. LOVE IT. I do ride my bike, but for farther distances, this lil’ guy is awesome. This engine size is great for a beginner too, but I’ll definitely be upgrading next time so that I can go a little faster. I hope you get one – they’re SO MUCH FUN! :)

  2. Those flourless (and sugarless) cookies look great! yum. I haven’t really tried baking with xylitol but I’ve used NuNaturals stevia baking blend- works pretty well.

    I have not had Pita Pit in FOREVER! You just brought me back to college days of stuffing my face with honey mustard soaked pitas! :)

  3. Thank God I live super close to work and hockey season…AKA lots of travel is over b/c I just saw this morning that gas at 7-11 was $140.9!!! Grrr….

  4. A motorcycle shop? Girl, you just became my new hero ;) Gas prices are definitely getting ridiculous, though, but I’m thankful that the weather is warming up so I can use my bike as a method of transportation more often. Healthier and more cost effective. Win, win. And if that didn’t work out, well, I wouldn’t mind a scooter either ;)

  5. I drive a bit, but I walk to work and try to bike places that are pretty close by. These gas prices suck, so I’m lucky I haven’t have to fill up very often.

  6. gas sucks. i just filled up for the second time THIS WEEK for $4.50 a gallon…A GALLON. do you know what i could buy with the 40 bucks TIMES TWO!

  7. Oh my gosh girl, don’t get me started – I’m one of those people who could go forever b******* about gas prices. But in all seriousness, I really think Canadians need to get talking and KEEP talking about how much we’re getting hosed at the pumps. This would never happen in the US – time to take a stand.

    Doesn’t help that our transit isn’t great. I live in the burbs too so to GET to transit, I’d have to drive…which defeats the purpose.

    Looks like I’ll be investing in a good old bicycle this summer – but, like you, it won’t do much good for getting where I really need to go.

    :(

    Those grill marks scream summer. =)

  8. Haha! I use the magic bullet cups all day too, no worries. ;)

    I’m seriously ready for gas prices to go down! The price of oil dropped so we should be seeing a reduction in gas prices soon… though probably not for long since summer travel season is nearly upon us!

  9. I am laughing and loving the pic of u on the bike!! U are so cute!

    Yes gas prices stink but what can u do ; )

    Loving the pb cookies!!! My friend made some last weekend, we loved them!! So good!!!

    Love ya girl!!

  10. gas prices are TOTALLY making me cry! i am trying to drive AS LITTLE as possible. got my bike out of storage this week, even, as i plan on walking and biking my errands as much as possible this summer! good thing i live right in uptown!
    i love pita pit, too!
    your cookies look fantastic! flourless cake is delicious, so i bet cookies are great, too!

  11. Gas prices make me weep. I just went to visit my college in southern Virginia and I felt like I “scored” with the gas prices at $3.65. Then I started to cry again when I made it back home to northern VA and the prices are $4.20!! gahh!!

  12. gas prices make me want to cry too…60 dollars just to fill up my wimpy little tank! thank goodness for warm weather which = BIKES and walking more!! yayaya! i love your 3 smoothies:) hahaha ps-i secretly love the fake grill lines;) love the healthy granola recipe…and the pb cookies too! GAH!

  13. THE GAS PRICES SUCK! omgah! SO not good for my social life either!!!!! love love love your eats! pita pit is the BOMB! love you pretty girl!

  14. Pingback: Friday Fiver « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

