“You Are What You Eat”

I found a fun little article in my school newspaper a while back –

Foods that mirror the body parts they nurture

– a list of foods that look like the body part they’re good for. Some might be a slight stretch but it’s a pretty clever memory aid if you just can’t seem to remember exactly how that eg. glass of red wine is doing good things for the bod.

 

A summary of the newspaper article:

Carrots
Resemble: an Eye when cut crosswise.
Nurture: Their beta-carotene is converted to vitamin A, which maintains eyesight and decreases risk of macular degeneration (and is also good for healthy skin, growth, and infection resistance)
I feel like I eat carrots like they’re going out of style. In this case I should have some pretty spectacular eyesight. For the record, mine is only mediocre.

Spot the Carrots

019

Walnuts
Resemble: the Brain.
Nurture: Their omega-3 fatty acids support brain function and development (They are also one of the best plant sources of protein, rich in fibre, B vitamins, magnesium and antioxidants)
Apparently I need to eat more walnuts!

Celery
Resembles: long lean stalks = long lean Bones
Nurtures: Rich in calcium, phosphorus, and magnesium, which all lead to optimum bone health (also contains Vitamin C, folate, thiamin, riboflavin, vitamin B6).
Not the biggest fan of celery. I’ll stick with dairy for my bone health for now.

Avocadoes
Resemble: bulb-like = Uterus
Nurture: Full of B vitamins and folic acid, they support reproductive health and pregnancy (and also have 60% more potassium than bananas).
<3 avocadoes. Yeeeeah sushi.

Clams
Resemble: Testicles
Nurture: Their zinc and folic acid are good for male sex organs and improve semen quality.
Guess my very low (aka zero) clam consumption is not of personal concern.

Tomatoes
Resemble: Sliced open, the inner chambers resemble the Heart
Nurture: Their lycopene has been found to reduce heart disease (and prevent oxidization of LDL cholesterol, thereby preventing plaque formation in arteries that can lead to heart attacks).
Just had some with dinner. My heart feels super.

Spot the Tomatoes.

019

Red Wine
Resembles: Blood
Nurture: Its phenolic antioxidants, including resveratrol, increase HDL cholesterol to prevent blood clotting. Its flavanoids help prevent blood clots and plaque formation in arteries.
I don’t drink a lot of wine. Maybe I should try choosing red over my fruity sparkly (wussy?) wines next time.

Ginger
Resembles: the Stomach
Nurtures: Ginger promotes secretion of enzymes that neutralize stomach acid, and its phenols relax stomach muscles and increase movement through the intestine, leading to increased digestion, a soothed stomach and reduced nausea.
Another frequent sushi partner? Clearly SUSHI is the ultimate healthy body food!

I spot avocado AND ginger.

024 - Copy

Sweet Potato
Resembles: Pancreas
Nurture: Again with the beta-carotene, which protects all body tissues, including the pancreas, from cancer and aging damage. Consuming 5 portions/day of highly protective foods (which include sweet potatoes) reduces pancreatic cancer risk by 50%.
Who doesn’t like sweet potatoes?

Hmm… how about some buttercup squash instead?

019

015

 



I may not eat a lot of the foods featured in this particular article on a regular basis but I’m pretty confident that I’m getting plenty of body-nurturing nutrients in among my other foods… even if those don’t happen to resemble my body parts.

 

Nutrient Overload!

Lots of fishy Omega 3s

006

020

080
(this one was mixed with light cream cheese and Frank’s buffalo sauce. SO good)

Greens and proteins

013

027

019

 

Berry Goodness

005

038

010
(we’ve been buying a lot of strawberries lately…)

 

And of course there’s always room for the…ehem… less nutrient-bulging bites?

Topping cereal with fruit totally makes it a nutrient powerhouse.

012

Chocolate eggs a little less so but there’s always room for those too.

tumblr_ljpavfLGBY1qff1qco1_500_large

 

Now I’m off to spend my Saturday night… studying for my final two exams on Tuesday and Wednesday. Most exciting Easter Weekend to date, by far…sigh. But they’re almost over so I’m sucking it up. And there’ll be some good eats tomorrow to look forward to…after plenty more studying. Heck yeah.

 

What is your favourite food off the ‘Foods that Mirror Body Parts’ list? (Recap: carrots, walnuts, celery, avocadoes, clams, tomatoes, red wine, ginger, sweet potato)
I’m going with sweet potato based on deliciousness, but carrot based on frequency – I eat them EVERY day.

 

Happy Easter Weekend!

 

 

 

19 thoughts on ““You Are What You Eat”

  1. i think i would pick clams because of what they look like? hahahahahahaha obvi i’m kidding. its late i’m on a paper coma so excusee me

    also have you been in my pantry stealing my tuna?

    • Bahh you caught me. I ran out and I was desperate, sorry! Next time though i’m taking the clams so watch it. …do people actually keep clams in their pantries? I don’t…yet. Happy papering ;)

  2. Mmm, definitely sweet potatoes for me as well.

    One of the coolest things about food, at least how I see it, is that every single food has some nutritional value to it. No matter what, it fuels and nourishes our body in some way. Amazingness.

  3. The food resemblance thing is kinda freaky. Somehow makes everything even more connected. Great post! I really enjoyed it.

  4. Thankfully, those are some of my favorite foods!
    And I eat a sweet potato probably every day. Too bad a mango isn’t on there for my mangoats!

Leave a Reply

