23 Years in the Making

This past Friday, March 25 was the day I turned 23.

023

My brother is belle artiste, did you know?

A birthday that falls on a Friday is always extra special. Especially when you happen to have no classes on Fridays and the sun is extra bright. Win!

I started it all off with a batch of whole wheat pancakes topped with Greek yogurt and fruit.

049

Then I followed it with one of the best, energized workouts I’ve had in a while. I hammered through an hour on the treadmill followed by Jillian Michaels Shred Level 3. Normally I’d be pretty dead by the end of Miss JM but I was hopping after this was all over. WHAT was in those pancakes?!

Lunch was a big ol’ salad pile topped with plain tofu chunks, balsamic dressing and nutritional yeast.

084

Then I received some schtuff from the fam. This year I specially requested to order a few things online. Save them the trouble of trying to figure out what to get and I get to order things I can’t find around here.

But first, my brother’s lovely wrapping skills. The artiste reappears.

034

It was a set of 15lb weights. That’s what I asked him to get. I guess they’re not the easiest thing to wrap…

Of course I had to order some foodie stuff because, well, how could I not? Thanks to The Low Carb Grocery I was able to get:
Flatout Wrapswhich are not sold around here at all. Are these really much of anywhere in Canada?
Sugar Free Lime Jell-O and Sugar Free Banana Cream Jell-O Pudding – Just because. I rarely eat Jell-O but I also don’t see many sugar free flavours in stores so I was curious. What the hey.
PB2 Chocolate Sample Packet
Tofu Shirataki and Miracle Noodle noodles– might have to do a little comparison
PEANUT FLOUR – This was the main reason I made the order.

016

I haven’t tried this yet but it’s happening asap.

020

And some Dark Chocolate Peanut Spread. Saw it for the first time in a grocery store the other day and there was no hesitation.

069

 

Side Note: Done a little experimenting with the Flatouts already. I’m kind of hoping these might come to stores around here someday soon?

012

Hummus, dijon, goat cheese, sundried tomatoes, spinach, cucumber, dill pickle.

022

mmm.

030

Pizza – Sauce, spinach, mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, mozza, goat cheese.

064

072

Side Note Over.

 

Next online gift order: Sephora, for The Bombshell curling iron. After the rave reviews and impressive videos, I really wanted to give this a try. It takes a little getting used to without the clamp and since I’ve only tried it once so far I’m far from an expert, but it really does make sweet curls very fast. Anyone else ever tried this?

077

 

Then it was time for dinner. All you can eat Sushi? But of course

Seaweed salad.

018

Tempura vegetables.

020

Some kind of delicious roll.

022

Among many other things. Definitely had a food baby after that meal.

But that didn’t stop the cherry cheesecake from happening.

Often I opt to make my own birthday cake because I like to bake and getting to make whatever cake I fancy is a gift in itself. But this year I just wasn’t feeling it. What’s wrong with me?! But seriously, I wasn’t in the mood to bake and all I wanted was a store-bought, fruity cheesecake. So that’s what I went for. Perfect.

028

Though I wouldn’t mind a slice of last year’s rainbow cake right about now.

I’m not a big birthday celebrator so I didn’t do anything too crazy but I spent a few different nights going out or staying in with my closest friends which was nice.

I also found these Extra Dessert Delights gum flavours this weekend. Key Lime Pie and Mint Chocolate Chip. Holla?! I’d only ever seen these in magazine ads before. I just about flipped, I think the girl behind the counter thought I was a little nuts. Though she then said the Strawberry Shortcake was the best, which they were out of. I scored these though, can’t complain!

034

 

In a nutshell I enjoyed the birthday, it was a good time, and I’m already 23. I don’t have a clue when that happened. I swear it was only a few weeks ago that I could hardly imagine ever reaching the age of 20. Weird.

 

Don’t forget you still have a few days left to enter the Larabar Giveaway!

24 thoughts on “23 Years in the Making

  1. I picked up Dark Chocolate Almond butter for the first time this weekend! I think Loblaws just started carrying it – it was the first time i’ve seen it also!

    Happy Birthday by the way!! :D

  2. I love this post! What a amazing birthday you had!! Happy Birthday!

    Love that your brother wrapped so nice ; ) it is hard to wrap those though for sure, and I love that you wanted those, I need to up my weight and buy heavier ones too!

    Sushi is the best, I would celebrate my birthday the same way! Seaweed salad a MUST! I always start with that!

    Just so much I love in this post! U will love the peanut flour too! Enjoy girl!!!

    Love ya! xoxo

  3. It sounds like you had a pretty great birthday:) I know they sell Flat Outs at Safeway here in Edmonton…not sure if you ever shop there but they are in the deli/bakery area. You can even get wraps made with them at the sandwich bar if you want.

  4. Happy Birthday to you! Totally lovin’ that curling iron, I’ve now spent the last 45 minutes reading about it and want one! Would love to see photos!

  5. Girl the years go by flying!! I remember turning 21 and then now I’m already 22. Time needs to stop lol :) Love all the goodies you got. Flatouts are my favorite and that sushi roll looks amazing!

  6. Happy belated birthday!!! I turn 23 in two weeks and I swear I still feel 16.

    Let me know how the curling iron works out… I desperately need a good one! My hair falls flat in about .2 seconds :(

  7. happy belated!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i can’t believe i missed the actual date :)

    glad you had such a great time and please ask your brother if he’ll wrap my xmas presents next year?

  8. Happy bday! :)

    Don’t get your hopes too high… the Strawberry Shortcake gum was gross :/ at least my friend and I thought so. Sigh. Mint choco and key lime are like crack for me though. Nom nom nom, lol.

  9. Pingback: LARABAR Giveaway Winners « Lighter Portions
  10. i will always thank you for introducing rainbow cake to mee!!

    AND I WAS WAITING FOR THE SUSHI + SEAWEED SALAD BDAY MEAL! yayo!!!

    hurray for flatouts! they have a special place in my heart!!!

    happy birthday again, beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Pingback: Hello April! « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

