Sanity Savers

It may be a crazy time of year but you always have to make room for the good stuff. For sanity’s sake. Health (physical and mental) comes first of course ;)

 

Sanity Saver #1: Food Shopping

Grab a fellow foodie friend and hit up your local bulk food and gourmet grocery store. Be a little overjoyed when you nab the last bag of nooch (which has needed replenishing in my cupboard for months now) and be a little too overjoyed when you find PB&Co. The Bee’s Knees for the first time ever. I think it might just beat out Mighty Maple.

005
L->R: Pita Break Mini Apple Cinnamon Pitas, La Tortilla Factory Multi Grain Wraps, Peppermint Nougats, PB&Co The Bee’s Knees, Nutritional Yeast.

 

Sanity Save #2: Recipes

I tried out Deb’s Moist Low Calorie Microwave Protein Muffin, the choco version.

021

This was the perfect amount of moist. Mine could have used a touch more sweetener since it was a tad bitter, but that was nothing a bit of sweet topping couldn’t fix.
Left = pumpkin and yogurt mix. Right = SF raspberry jam.

029

022

I also made April’s recent Holiday Pumpkin Protein Muffins last night. No pic, whoops, but they’re all containered up and ready for grabbable paper writing snackage.  (PS. My hands definitely match yours, April)

 

Sanity Saver #3: Dancing

I’ll doubtfully be going out again until this term is done so I had to fit a few nights in this past week.

149271_456597936265_505296265_6046558_660008_n - Copy

004 - Copy

005 - Copy

We were at a slightly sketchy club here… clearly something interesting was going on. At one point some random girl started to tell me about somebody getting bloodied up and beaten unconscious in the middle of the dance floor? I’m glad I was around the edge instead…

 

Sanity Saver #4: Umm… FOOD.

Beeeeeee’s Knees & Fruiteees.

005

Turkey, Laughing cow, spinach.

015

Tuna.

021

Dal’d Up Salad.

034

018

Sushi a la grocery store spicy cali roll

038

Tuna mixed with plain yogurt, hummus and nooch. Mmmm.

024

Choco spinach smoothie for breakfast: water, almond milk, spinach, chocolate protein powder, chocolate amazing grass, lots of ice, pinch of the gums.

011

Giant bowls of mixed cereals. Many of these. All the time. Usually with yogurt and berries.

003

Cold oat bran cooked the night before with firm tofu mushed in. Topped in the morning with peanut butter, pumpkin blended with tofu and maple syrup, and fresh berries.

003

007

+ stacks of flyers to enjoy your breakfast with. You know Christmas is coming when…

016

 

Sanity Saver #5: Elf Yourself.

Don’t do this right before you’re about to start on homework. Otherwise you’ll never get to your homework. 

break it down 2

 

And with that… I really DO need to get to my homework. And to class in half an hour, whoops!!

Stay Sane Kiddos!

23 thoughts on “Sanity Savers

  1. Haha, I think I remember seeing your hands a while back and they did match mine!

    Mmm I always get such good topping ideas from you. I gotta try that pumpkin/tofu blend!

  2. I made debsprotein cake thing too! Loved it!!!

    Love the goods you got, Nooch is always a staple in my pantry, and I love PB & CO Mighty Maple but never tried Bees Knees! Wil have to!

    Happy Thanksgiving love!!!

  3. I’ve never heard of Bee’s Knee’s…what flavor is it?
    LOL @ the elf yourself, I love doing that, looks like it’s time for a new one this year :)

    Jen

    • I know right?! It was the first time I had ever seen them. I nabbed them before anyone else came around to steal them away, there were only like two bags left!

    • I know, *everyone *loves Mighty Maple. Me included. But I do find it super sweet and Bee’s Knees is pretty similar except maybe slightly less sweet. Either way they are both deeeelicious.

  4. What is this sanity you speak of? Because I could use a dose of that for sure – so many assignments and exams looming, so little time. Although my pending snow day tomorrow should help ease some of that pain ;)

Leave a Reply

