Journey Through the Eats

Alright. Because I have an abundance of food photos from the past little while that I have yet to use, and because that’s about all I have to offer right now, here’s a nice little journey through some of the stuff I’ve been eating this month.

And by the way, 99% of what I eat right now is speedy so if you need to know what to eat in a jif, welcome to my appetite. :)

 

Spinach is about the most convenient green I can get. Giant bowls of it with a bit of dressing and you’re good to go. By the way, the big containers of Fontaine Sante Taboulé at Costco = delicioso

004

011

030

I really like that tabbouli…

 

Spinach steamed in the micro for 30 seconds is equally as convenient. And even better topped with pasta, preferably if your mother makes it if you’re pressed for time but I know we’re not all quite so spoiled.

015

009

Or you could top it with a mixture of pasta sauce and hummus for a pimped out pasta sauce without the pasta.

015

You could even side it with some Vegan Red Lentil Dal. I was missing a couple spices so I did a quick Google search to figure out what might work as a substitute:

For the 1 tsp cumin – I used 1 tsp chili powder
For the 1 tbsp coriander – I used 1 tbsp dried parsley

I have no idea if these subs were valid or not but the dish did taste a bit overspiced so I’m thinking the cumin and coriander are pretty key, especially since I think they’re pretty regular players in Indian cuisine? Either way it didn’t turn out too badly but I think I’ll have to give it another go once I have the proper spices on hand.

016

 

I’ve just started topping some of my salads with plain mustard and I LIKE it. That and random freezer leftovers but that’s nothing new.

023

Those random Deep Dish Veggie Tart leftovers are the way to go.

020

Tuna is a good protein-packed speedster.

003

As are egg beaters mixed with laughing cow, salsa and spinach atop toasted a english muffin. I used to eat this like…every day? Not surprisingly I got sick of it and I hardly eat them anymore but when I do… thumbs UP.

037

Roasted vegetable salads aren’t quite as quick (I’m impatient so the 20ish minutes it takes to roast the veggies feels like an eternity sometimes!) but they’re easy peasy:
Spinach topped with roasted broccoli, brussel sprouts and carrots coated in dijon mustard and balsamic vinegar before roasting, all topped with roasted red pepper dip and cottage cheese.

035

And by the way…sauerkraut? Any fans? I just tried it for the first time this week. It’s okay… I’m not a huge salty food fan (please ignore the cottage cheese above), or I guess more precisely olive fan, and this was kind of reminiscent of shredded olives? I have a lot left though, what do I use it for?

005

 

I’m no food saint though. Despite all these veggies I’ve definitely been consuming even more breads and sugar. Doh. FYI – bread rarely gets photographed but it’s abundant in my everyday eating…usually in the form of a giant hunk ripped off a slice and shoved into my mouth while prepping other foods. No one wants to see that spectacle.

But I guarantee you do want to see the spectacle of the other sweeties of my eaties.

I’m a little miffed about my lack of hot breakfasts lately. The temperatures are dipping but hot oats are still only an occasional breakfast guest.

002

006

006

I’m still more into the cold breakfast thing right now.

Maybe not this cold though. This smoothie was the first I’ve had probably since summer. I need to bring them back more though, I miss them. Just as long as I have coffee to pair them with. This baddie>spinach, almond milk, water, stevia, vanilla protein powder, frozen banana, ice, the gums.

007

I brought back the smoothie once more for dinner. Vanilla protein powder frozen berry smoothie (with mucho gums and ice) in a near empty whipped peanut butter jar with big chunks of chilled roasted squash stirred in. I crave interesting things in the heated midst of intense essay writing.

024

So when I said cold breakfasts, I was thinking more along the lines of cold cereal. Or more specifically, in this case, crumbled Granola Plank in almond milk (which, by the way, I wasn’t impressed with. It just tasted like a stale rice krispie square to me).

004

I save the real deal cereal bowls for dinner. Sometimes dinner cereal is the way to go, especially when you have a hungry yet queasy stomach. This was perfect – Puffed rice, Shreddies, frozen berries, banana, almond milk and a hefty sprinkling of chocolate Amazing Grass powder.

026

And when you’re always looking for quick grab foods, those freezer baking stashes never fail. Avocado Banana Muffin bottom topped with puree of baked sweet potato blended with a splash of almond milk, SF maple syrup, cinnamon and nutmeg.

017

All that baking I did in my last post… mostly gone now. Despite stashing it in the freezer. Gotta love convenience.

 

I have about a million words to write for papers in the next two weeks so I better get cracking. Our prof in one of my classes just gave us a week extension on our final paper though which is a huge help. I love awesome profs.

Usually in the heat of the term I’m really good at isolating myself from humanity and work work working until I get everything done but for some reason this year things just keep cropping up and pulling me out of the house. What is this social life business?! I can’t handle it!

How do you balance a social life with school/work/the like? Tips, tricks, tools and savvy advice?
Google Calendar is one of my sanity tools :) So is quickly jotting down daily schedules/to-do lists. I do one of these every night before bed for the next day, and then check off what I actually accomplished before writing the next one that night. It doesn’t matter if I don’t get everything done, it just helps keep my brain organized.

18 thoughts on “Journey Through the Eats

  1. Good luck with all your school work! I LOVE shreddies and I see you eat a lot of them :P We don’t get them here (in New Zealand) so when my Mum recently went to the UK she brought me back a 1 kg box of them. I’m actually having trouble getting through them before they go stale!

    Your combos are so inventive! Hummus and pasta sauce?! Hummus can go with anything!!!

    I’m a huge fan of making lists and writing a plan of what I should do for the day such as in the morning I’ll do X, in the arvo I’ll do Y and in the evening I’ll do Z. Like you, it doesn’t matter whether or not I get everything done, it just keeps me from going crazy!

    My wise words for the day: Use your time wisely for you cannot get back wasted time.

    xxx

    • Yep! I don’t talk about workouts that much on here I guess but I still work out almost everyday, usually taking 1-2 days off depending on how much school work I have. I run on my treadmill most days and I find I enjoy those runs more than ever right now, they’re *so *good for destressing and clearing my head of school work thoughts for an hour or so haha. I also do some kind of strength training after most runs, usually around 10-20 minutes of light weights and body weight exercises. I’m definitely keeping up with it!

  2. Goshhh, your food always looks so scrumptious and your photography is fantastic and you write very well. Total Blog Inspiration.
    As far as balancing school and social life and everything, I am attached at the hip to my planner. I find that doing some work every single day versus shoving it all into one or two days per week really helps. And saying YES to little plans with friends. Just because its only 30 minutes or less doesnt mean it isnt helping the two of you bond, you know?

  3. That Deep Dish Veggie Tart looks amazing. Seriously. Actually ALL of your meals look amazing! Gah!

    So, social/work/the-rest-of-life balance.. when you figure out a way to get all of those things in order, you let me know. I love Google Calendar but I never use it and when I do I forget to check it.

  4. Well, you have done much better than I at taking photos of..anything these past few days. School in November = insane, and it will pretty much stay that way for me until December 15th when I have my last exam. Le sigh.

    You have also done better at eating greens. I’ve been lacking seriously in the green things department, and it makes me sad.

  5. I make a to-do list every day. That way I can prioritize everything and not forget something. I find totally focusing on one thing for half hour chunks of time is way more productive that trying to multi-task three different things in 1 hour.

  6. I just found your blog, and I love it! You have some tasty foods there :) I never thought about using mustard like a salad dressing… but it seems simple, tasty, and healthy! I’ve been topping my salads with hummus lately, but I think mustard could be a cool swap! I’m looking forward to reading more! :)

  7. I just found your blog, and I already know it’s going to be a must read! I’m 22 and in my fourth year of college too :) Love all those highlighters– I’m currently looking at a nearly identical row on my desk right now. Thanks for the meal ideas, and good luck with school!

  8. Pingback: Sanity Savers « Lighter Portions
  9. Pingback: Rodeo Roundup « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

