The way to celebrate is to BAKE

I just worked out and showered for the first time in two days.

Okay, so that might not seem like a lot but it feels like an eternity when you’re glued to your desk doing absolutely nothing but writing one of the worst essays you’ve ever written, breaking only to stuff your face with mindless grub in order to move away, even just for a moment, from the computer screen.

Greek art and archaeology anyone? NOT for me. Stupid elective course. Huge mistake picking that one. But on the bright side, I guess this helped me rule out the possibility of ever becoming an archaeologist in the future…

So I finished the darn essay and celebrated with a good long run, an even longer hot shower and, what else…baking.

Aw yeah.

First up – Allie’s Avocado Banana Bread, halved (since I only had one ripe banana) and in muffin form. I have a big container full of mushed up avocado in the freezer that I’ve been saving JUST to use for this recipe.

003

They’re gems!

Then I did the salad thang. Along with a slice of bread and about 10x more hummus than that glob on the centre. And those would be Crispers on my salad. Dill pickle to be precise. Gotta have that crunch.

014

 

I’ve apparently gained 3lbs from sitting, not moving, not exercising and stress eating for the past week. So I decided to polish it off by making cookies. Go figure. Or should I say, grow figure. Hardy har…har?

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Balls. Holy madness. I couldn’t stop thinking about them from the moment I saw them.

I quartered the recipe for safety reasons. I don’t trust myself around these things. My only changes: light margarine, plain whole wheat flour, spelt flour instead of unbleached, no pb chips (don’t have them), and a mix of chocolate chips and chocolate chunks that I had in a random baggie in the cupboard.

My measurements for 1/4 of the recipe, [Mama Pea’s full recipe HERE] for those who want to take the small batch safety route but don’t feel like figuring out all of the complicated mathematics for themselves:

For 15 small dough balls

2 Tbsp light margarine
1/4 cup + 1 Tbsp peanut butter
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1/4 cup + 1 Tbsp powdered sugar
1/8 tsp vanilla
– Beat-
In a separate bowl, mix:
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
dash salt
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
2 T spelt flour
~1/4 cup chocolate chips

Combine, form balls, Bake at 350 for about 8-9 minutes. Cool. Consume. You know I did.

029

022

 

I’m backlogged on eats but I might leave it for now and get around to a recap soon. Right now though I’m going to go enjoy my newfound sanity since I’m no longer tied to a desk, and enjoy this lovely Friday evening schoolwork FREE.

TGIF, Welcome Weekend, and I hope you all have super ones ahead of you!

12 thoughts on “The way to celebrate is to BAKE

  1. But don’t you feel so much better when all the work is finally DONE?! haha. Sorry your class is a drag :\ It’s always those electives that you think “oh, that sounds interesting…!” that load you up with homework, I swear.
    The dough balls…oh, they just look too good for words! Thanks for posting a smaller batch recipe – I end up quarterig nearly any recipe I make, and the math gets old!

  2. Those ball-type things looks so yuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuum! I don’t think I could make them for fear of turning into one LOL.

    I’ve always wondered what baked goods taste like with avocado in them. Can you taste the avocado??

    Yay for finishing your essay! I HATE essay writing which is why I’m a scientist (woah that makes me sound smart!).

    Have a great weekend!!

    Katy
    xxx

  3. Bookmarked!! Those cookie dough balls sound incredible.

    Working out and baking is the *perfect* way to treat yourself after a ton of desk work. Gotta get that blood flowing again!! And then baking, well that’s just rewarding :)

  4. I need to get on the ball making bus. They look so good! Plus I haven’t baked in far too long. I also blame school. Damn you school, getting in the way of our baking.

  5. Pingback: Journey Through the Eats « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

