The Fatty Bases

Heatless, Carless, Classless.

For real. All at once.

Heatless: Our hot water tank stopped working for some reason or another and now we have zero hot water. I experienced the coldest shower of my life this morning. It lasted for two seconds before I opted for ice cold sponge bath instead. I did wash my hair underneath the freezing cold tap water but there was no way I was going to stand under a stream of liquid ice. Brrrrr.

tumblr_l7yt0radYm1qbinluo1_500_large 
(weheartit)

Carless: Yesterday morning – drove to class, drove home, no problems. Yesterday afternoon – rushed out the door, hopped in the car to head to my next class… nothing. My car would NOT start. It wasn’t dead since the light still came on, but nothing else. So I had to get it towed to the garage down the street. Thank you CAA. It’s fixed now but I still have to go pick it up. Hopefully it was just the starter or something equally simple…

3968728728_8ffab9fb2c 
(weheartit)

Classless: The only positive one of the bunch. My morning class was cancelled today! What a treat. Except for the fact that I drove all the way to school (borrowing ma’s car), late already, had to park 100 miles away since my school is overcrowded and I couldn’t find anywhere close by, hoofed it until my legs practically fell off, only to see the pathetic little piece of paper taped to the door once I got there. They really need to email this info to students beforehand. Though not that I checked my school email this morning anyway… Umm… okay so I checked the email. And there, right at the top of the inbox: 9:05 am – CS315A cancelled. I just cursed very loudly. My brother just called me an idiot. :(

funny-4747528fe1e89d51a4eb44fd9e7e2494_h 
(vi.sulize.us)

If only I’d checked that darn email earlier, I wouldn’t have had to rush as much through my lovely breakfast.

The queen of all things healthy fat, a Heather breakfast inspired my bowl of blended avocado oat bran this morning:

1/4 cup oat bran, 1/4 cup wheat bran, 3/4 cup water, 1/4 cup vanilla soy milk, 1 packet stevia, 1.5 Tbsp SF maple syrup, 1 tsp cocoa powder and 50g avocado cooked up on the stove then blended with a hand blender and topped with a dollop of cocoa peanut butter.

011 

And still on the topic of oat bran, I was having a little fun the other day with a container of light silken tofu that needed to be used up, so I made myself an overnight oat bran breakfast for the books.

Java Me Up Oat Bran

Blend up: 100g light silken tofu, 1/4 cup cooled coffee, stevia and vanilla.

Cook up: 1/4 cup oat bran, 1/2 cup water, and the blended tofu/coffee mix. Plus a splash of fat free hazelnut creamer for a really decadent coffee experience.

Put the cooked oat bran mixture into a jar of almost empty peanut butter (or a jar of jam that you had stored peanut butter in).  037

040 

And then (if you can resist eating it right then and there) put the lid on and stick in the fridge overnight.

You’ll wake up to one really darn good breakfast the next morning.

001

009

 

I blended the rest of that silken tofu into a version of Cheesecake Mousse: 1 Laughing Cow cheese wedge, 60g light silken tofu, ~1 Tbsp lemon juice, 1 tsp vanilla, stevia.

026

Then stuffed it burrito-style into a “slice” of Nearly No-Carb Sandwich Bread with a smidge of cocoa pb. Next time I’m going to try not to burn it.

022

024

Lots of oat bran, lots of silken tofu, lots of HUMMUS.

Hummus on salads!

015

Hummus on sandwiches! with avocado + tomato

004

Hummus on broccoli and mushrooms! mixed with marinara sauce

020

Looks like I’m hitting a lot of fatty bases this week. Avocado, hummus, peanut butter, oh my! Maybe it’s an innate attempt to store up on body insulation for the soon to be coming COLD winter months. Oh how I definitely can wait.

 

What’s your #1 favourite healthy fat?
I’m thinking hummus is pretty high up there. And nut butter. Avocado’s climbing the ladder pretty quickly.

19 thoughts on “The Fatty Bases

  1. oh man hummus is one of my FAVS!! im loving EVOO these days.. and beef! beef has fat.. but i guess its a main protein.. haha.. i LOVE cheese too! and nut butter..obviously! my NEW fav nut butter is PUMPKIN SEED butter!!

  2. ugg, i know what you mean about the no hot water. now that, is harsh. when i was in australia and we had no running water we had to put stream water in black trash bags, set them out in the sun to heat then use it sparingly. it was nuts! so if you need warm water….black bags and the sun. works every time!

    and i’m with you on all the fats: hummus, nut butter, avocado.

    • Wow, and I thought I had a long wait just waiting for the kettle to boil in order to get hot water… seriously, I swear I’ll appreciate my hot water tank every day from here on out!

  3. I have honestly never liked avocado but I think I need to try it in a different way, like chocolate avocado pudding. My favorite fat is coconut oil. I miss a tiny bit with Stevia and chocolate and put it in the fridge to harden into a chocolAte. Yum!

    • I hear a lot of people say they have troubles with the texture of avocado but it does seem more tolerable when blended into things. You should for sure try it in pudding form.

  4. Avocado is DEFINITELY my favorite fat. Olive oil would have to be a close second – I swear I don’t know how I could live without some good crusty bread dipped into herbed oil!

  5. I cant eat Avacado’s, I am unfortunatly allergic and would rather not die from having some guacamole. I do on the other hand LOVE cheese. I think my favorites are Mozzarella, Parmesan, Ricotta, and Cream Cheese. They are the BOMB!! :)

  6. Healthy fat=coconut butter for me!

    Loving all your aot bran creations and the cheesecake, too. I’ll have to try that one out.

    Hope the car didn’t empty your wallet!

  7. My fave healthy fat is Almond Butter! I LOVE it!

    I have to say I love avocado as well : )

    Hope the water problem gets fixed ; p

    Happy Weekend! xoxo

  8. Oh, nut butter is definitely my fave healthy fat. As much as I love me some avocado, nut butter trumps it. Mmmm, nut butters…now I want a spoonful of peanut butter.

    Having no hot water sucks balls. Our hot water tank broke once, and we had to shower at the gym for 5 days until they fixed it. I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

