Minimal Labour

How was everyone’s fine long Labour Day weekend… aka basically the final weekend of summer?!

Shock gasp horror

baby,child,shocked,surprise-050a14799191fe35f573375de5b059de_h20081023132745 tumblr_l4aq62TA4T1qcsae1o1_500_large
(weheartit)

I still can’t get over the fact that it’s already September… and a week in already at that.

And that I start back to classes in a week. Welcome Fourth and Final Year oh boy. I think I’m ready for it though… bring it on books.

e8d6c379f2c5 
(Source)

 

My weekend wasn’t terribly adventurous.

It involved chilly and peaceful mornings.

055

Accompanied by warm and comforting breakfasts.

Simple stovetop banana oats with peanut butter and raspberries

027 028

Soft and chewy whole wheat pbjb waffles with fresh cantaloupe

002 010

 

The weekend was actually quite laden with peanut butter.

014

As well as vast amounts of roasted buttercup squash. I just can’t get enough, I just can’t get enough. I cooked up a big sucker yesterday… and not a trace remains.

015

It was less laden with other vegetables, though I tried to stomach them where I could. I think I’m in a vegetable rut. I’m just not loving them as much lately. Sigh!

015 061 023

 

There was a bit of shopping (along with some sweet deal scores!) that happened.

I found this Living Raw Food book in the book section of an antique marketplace at our farmer’s market. Perfection condition $12. Done! I’m clearly not a raw foodist but I find it to be an interesting way of eating and this book seems to have some great recipes as well as a whole slew of good clean food information, so I couldn’t pass it by.

037

Not so raw but an equally good deal, Designer Whey Double Chocolate Protein Powder for $8 on clearance. I love Winners.

041

And a retro bar night of drinks and 80s tunes probably happened last night. Black Sunday, busiest night of the year at this particular hole in the wall bar. Can’t miss it.

tumblr_l1bgacwvVA1qzm0c5o1_400_large tumblr_l58cfcyKif1qaab0to1_500_large
(weheartit)

 

And of course, a little recipe testing had to happen as well.

Vegan with a Vengeance (which first introduced me to TVP) delivered my TVP-filled dinner tonight in the form of TVP Veggie Burgers.

007

004

This probably would have been much more successful with tiny TVP chunks (mine were the large ones) and much more finely diced vegetables. They barely held together so the whole “burger” concept was basically shot.

I managed to get one lone burger to stay together.

011

(The left white blob is mashed potato and the right white blob is mashed cauliflower mixed with laughing cow, dijon mustard and ff sour cream… mmm)

021

The taste is still, well… tasty, so the remainders shall be eaten fork style. Or maybe wrap style! Endless possibilities. Ish.

 

I also had a request for da mom for fresh baked granola. So of course I delivered. And this batch got a standing ovation.

Welcome home Averie’s Vegan Gluten & Soy-Free Granola.

068

I completely de-veganized it by using normal butter. That is what we’ve got. And I threw in a handful of pumpkin seeds and raisins. Cooked it for 15 minutes.
And I halved it. You know, just in case it didn’t turn out…

What was I thinking? This one took over first place as favourite homemade granola recipe so far!

066 

Perfectly crunchy, satisfyingly sweet.

How do you spruce up your veggies and make them more exciting when you’re just not feeling them?

Highlight of your long weekend?

 

              Have a terrific

bright-tuesday36_large
                        !

23 thoughts on “Minimal Labour

  1. I like to
    roast veggies
    shred them
    use spices or dressings
    mashe them to make a spread
    hope some of those ideas work to sice up your veggie life
    ;D

  2. Yep, I think every weekend of mine is filled with tons of peanut butter! I love adding to to my oats too, but I add frozen berries to sort of cancel out the hotness (maybe I won’t do that as it gets colder!).

    When I am not in the mood for veggies I like to add low sodium soy sauce to them, because then they definitely taste amazing. I LOVE soy sauce!! I don’t use a lot, just a dab or two does fine.

  3. ohhh i love me some buttercup squash. i’ve got one on the menu for tonight and it’s making me want the day to hurry up and be done! lol

    i love all of your pictures by the way. they’re so clever and cute and correspond to what you say while still being funny. and your foodie pics are always so gorgeous! i wish i had the patience to platter my food attractively.

  4. is it just me or are orange foods like ULTRA delicious lately! the canteloupe i had this weekend was soooo ripe and delicious and i can’t wait to get my paws on some fall squash

    solid attempt with the burgers girl. who needs burgers to stay together anyway right..

  5. Are we twins?! Because I have been starting to consume winter squash like it’s the middle of December and yesterday I made my mama some granola. What whattt.

    Seriously though, I’m glad you had a good labor day weekend!

  6. Mmmmm granola!! I need to get on that stat! (as soon as I get a baking sheet…)

    I actually quite like the idea of decontructed veggie burgers…haha.

    Good luck on the beginning of 4th year! I just finished 3rd year as well but I’m doing a work term at the moment. It feels sooooooo strange not going back to school in September!

  7. Mmm your breakfasts look especially tasty :D Oof and that granola. I’ve been craving some lately! You’ve inspired me to make some! Every time I hear someone say that summer is over I want to tell them to shut up lol. It’s still hot!

    To spruce up veggies I like to mix shredded mango chutney and thyme in on low-heat after the veggies have cooked. Roasting veggies is always tasty! Coat them in olive oil and whatever else you desire, then roast and voila!

    Highlight of my long weekend was going on a tree rope swing into a river! It was the first time I’d done something like that.. besides jumping off a diving board lol, but this was way more exciting.

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  8. I can’t believe summer is ending, but I also can’t wait for school! LOVE IT. (Nerd alert!!!!!!)

    Your veggie burgers look awesome!! As does your oatmeal bowl! It has been WAY TOO LONG since I’ve made myself a nice bowl of oatmeal. Thanks for the reminder!!

    ON SALE PROTEIN POWD. wat waaaaaaaaaaaat

  9. My weekend had so much peanut butter in it that I started with half a jar of peanut butter, and now I’m ready for Oats in a Jar :) haha. Your comment made me think of that!

  10. If veggies aren’t rockin’ your world, I say try and focus on a few instead of a whole bunch at a time. Less is more. Pick the ones you are enjoying the most, and eat them alone instead of mixed in with a billion things. Perhaps the tastes are just getting too jumbled and getting back to simplicity will help you out :)

  11. The fresh baked granola looks yummy as does your oatmeal with PB!

    I work for a big food company and we use TVP, too. Be careful.. too much can be bad :( We get a high percentage of fatty beef and add TVP to soak up the fat and then use the meat for products.. icky, I know, but basically as a filler TVP can add on the lbs quick!

    Seems like you’re rarely using it though so I’m sure you will be good!

    Love your blog!

  12. Pingback: On the Topic of Food and Blogging « Katharina’s Food Adventures
  13. Pingback: Keep Calm and Hug Your Mom « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

