Lots of Food but Not Much Signal

I could talk about how I’ve spent all week cleaning up the pantry cereal supply

005

007

002

(For the record, that Cookie Crisp all up in there ^…it’s so BLEH. I bought the most gigantic box you ever did see at Costco just because I was so excited to see it since, to my knowledge, Canada doesn’t do Cookie Crisp. I even tore it open in the car on the way home out of sheer excitement. And yet… those are not even remotely close to cookies. Never ever being deceived by any sort of cookie cereal for breakfast again)

006

018

 

And the fridge produce supply.

027

017

019

053

(We have a slight overabundance of cobbed corn taking up precious shelf space in the fridge right now, hence it has become quite the salad staple this week)

047

 

Along with the old freezer food supply.

031

(Add some steamed spinach, Frank’s hot sauce, and black pepper and one mad good meal this boxed pasta shall become.)

034 042

 

Or I could talk about how I’ve been messing around with some must try meals.

Like Exhibit A: Julie’s egg ‘n oat breakfast bowl.

– The night before: 1/3 cup oat bran cooked stovetop style with 2/3 cup water, cinnamon and stevia. As well as an egg white pancake of egg whites, cinnamon, stevia and baking powder cooked in a frying pan. Tupperwared and shoved in the back of the fridge to chill ‘til morn.

016

– The morning of: oats and egg whites ripped and mashed together with cold banana chunks and rhubarb jam on top.

005 018

 

Or Exhibit B: a Lentil Loaf using the Eat, Live, Run Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf

All original ingredients and directions are on the original recipe page. Here is the recipe with my slight modifications based on what I had, which means no walnuts and a few extra dashes of flavour added at the end. I also happened to deveganize mine by adding worcestershire, ah vell.

Loaf:
1 can precooked lentils (~2 cups)
1/2 large yellow onion, diced
8 baby carrots, diced
2 stalks celery, diced
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1 cup panko breadcrumbs
3 tbsp ground flax mixed with 1/2 cup water (flax egg)
few dashes garlic powder
few good splashes of Worcestershire and Frank’s Red Hot Sauce

Glaze:
2 tbsp CHILI ketchup
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

In a pan, cook the veggies in the olive oil. Add in the garlic and seasonings in towards the end.

In a large bowl, combine lentils, cooked veggies, breadcrumbs, flax egg and any additional flavourings you choose.

Press into a cooking sprayed loaf pan, top with glaze and bake at 350 for 40 minutes.

032

034

039

053

 

But instead of jabbering away about all of the above such nonsense, I’ll talk about my most current pressing issue at hand.

I woke up in the morning feeling like… well maybe a little like P. Diddy but mainly just like I wanted to go back to sleep. Except that that falling back to sleep once you’re up thing? Yeah, I’m pretty incapable of that. So 7:30 on the clock, I did some reading til my tum was ready for some eats (which was the last bowl in the cereal series above – Raaaaasin Bran) and then headed downstairs, giving my phone a glance before heading on over to the kitchen.

055

060

066

Pardon me?
(Yes, these pictures were taken in the evening, NOT the morning. But the message remained the same from morning til night. Not such a good sign.)

Okay so I woke up with no service. Alright. Maybe something wrong with the network. I’ll wait it out.

Hello breakfast.

Hello again phone. No service. Okay. Well I’ll give it a bit more time.

Yeah okay. Time time wait. No service.

Fast forward to afternoon. Still no service. Mom’s phone has service. Bro’s phone has service. Problem therefore is not some freaky wireless-blocking dome surrounding my house.

Turn phone on and off. Take out battery and hard reset. Plug in and attempt to charge even though already mostly charged. Nothing.

Head out to Costco. Different location, different results? No. No service.

Here we go Tech support…

40 minutes of phone support, 3 battery removal resets, a revival of my ancient Krazr to determine if the problem was SIM card or Blackberry based (the SIM card works just fine) and a Blackberry software reset and upgrade later…

fido-motorola-krzr-red-1

Here we still remain at 8:30 this evening.

066

Sigh.

In eliminating all other factors…it looks like it’s a hardware problem. Which according to Mr. Tech Support probably means… it looks like I need a new phone.

Sigh.

I’ll be calling them back tomorrow to see where to go from here. Which may be right to the Rogers store at the mall tomorrow. I sure hope my account has a darn good deal on a phone upgrade waiting for me.

 

I hope you’re all doing well, eating plenty of cereal and pasta (Or please not. This is part of where my lack of balance has come into play. I don’t recommend this. I’m tired, cranky, lethargic, have no energy and am not feeling anywhere near as good as I could be. I have a feeling a large part of this has to do with the excessive sugar and carb consumption that my body has been dealing with as of late, especially when it’s not used to it. I’m really hoping to try to balance this back out soon), having success with your technology (or at least working it out if it’s being a brat for you like mine is), and thinking about or working on some good goals for yourself. I’m thinking right now that mine need to be to get my phone back in order… and get my body back in order. Here here? Heck yes.

Happy last final August Weekend!

9 thoughts on “Lots of Food but Not Much Signal

  1. That sucks balls about your phone. I’d say wait until the new Blackberry Torch comes out, but who knows when that will be. Might be too long to be phoneless, that’s for sure. Pretty sure I need to get the new one when it comes out though.

    I actually just had a delicious pasta meal for dinner. Must go post the recipe now actually. Mmm, gourmet pasta.

  2. oh cookie crisp…i don’t even remember what they taste like! pretty sure real cookies are better!

    i can’t wait to hear what goals you come up with! if you need help narrowing it down to something more specific let me know; i’m always here to help!

  3. Kristie,

    I feel you on the carb overload! Ug. I can’t wait to get back to school and get back to “lighter fare”. Having the fam’s carb party going on every day in the kitchen makes it hard to stay away doesn’t it?

    Feel better sweetie and don’t be too hard on yourself. :)

    Emily

  4. I saw that huge box of Cookie Crisp at Costco, too. Thankfully my kids didn’t see it!! ;)

    Sorry to hear about the phone trouble. How frustrating!

  5. Pingback: The Problem Solver « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

