Want Pep? Get a Papasan

I’ve been intending to blog for the past, oh I don’t know, at least 5 hours now?

But I’m feeling lonely, puffy and cranky and an inspired individual those emotions do not make. So I’ve been humming, hawing, sighing and puzzling over what the heck I feel like doing to perk up and occupy myself.

And I arrived right back here. Not because I suddenly know what to babble about or because I’m in any perkier of a mood, but just because I’ve been meaning to and I have nothing better to do.

And I want to show off my cool new Papasan. Whatuuuuup.

031

There was a time during this day today when I was peppy and giddy and giggling like a child. That time was when I first placed this beauty of a chair beast into its new home in my bedroom.

I may sleep in it.

063

In with the new means out with the old. Adios cheapass squeaky uncomfortable black papasan wannabe. You are no longer welcome here.

022wannabe

But then it all went downhill when I got bored and lonely and unwillingly antisocial. It just happened. Out of control. Does anyone understand mood swings? Because I sure don’t.

The culprit clearly wasn’t my gigantic green monster of a breakfast smoothie since I was just fine and dandy in the morn after drinking it ALL down.

003

  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 scoop (15g) vanilla protein powder
  • 1 scoop (8g) Amazing Grass Chocolate
  • 1/2 large frozen banana
  • 1 packet Stevia
  • 1/2 tsp guar and 1/3 tsp xanthan gum
  • HUGE amount spinach (it was going raunchy so I shoved all of the remainders, maybe 2 cups of slimy wilted greens, into the mix)
  • HUGE amount ice

Glass #1 was consumed with Shreddies, my favourite cereal to throw in smoothies.

006

009

While Glass #1 was being consumed, Glass #2 (The Big Kahuna) was waiting patiently in the freezer for its turn, which came shortly after.

018

Everything was still fine and dandy after working out, after consuming lunch (which was a lovely loaded salad that gets no picture play since my camera batteries died), after buying le papasan and some health food store goodies.

It was good even up until dinnertime, when the freezer delivered me a slightly tough but still tasty spelt veggie burger dressed up with goat cheese, dijonnaise, lettuce and a sandwich thin jacket. 077

Maybe it was the fact that the veggie burger was a little freezer burnt, but I have higher suspicions towards my first attempt at a…

Chocolate Cherry Bomb Wannabe.

I started off with 1/3 cup water and 1/3 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup frozen cherries (which I did not pit pre-freeze… not smart), 1/2 frozen banana, 2 Tbsp vanilla protein powder, 1 Tbsp cocoa powder and a splash of vanilla.

Blech! This was NOT good. I blame the cherries, which were very firm and tart before I froze them. A delicious smoothie they did not make.

So only with the addition of frozen strawberries, a splash of POM, ICE and the GUMS was this finally drinkable.

084

I eventually liked it.

100

 

Despite the sunny smoothies and the peppy papasans, my sunshine and pep is MIA for today. To be honest, it’s been wavering all week. Isolation does not do a soul well and I’ve had a pretty antisocial week. So my soul has been doing a lot of sighs.

 

That being said, at least food highlights bring temporary pep.

 

For example, I felt pretty peppy while making Gracie’s Coconut Banana Cookies.

I had no coconut oil so I subbed 1 heaping tsp coconut butter and 2 tbsp applesauce. Otherwise I kept everything the same, throwing in a small handful of swirly chocolate chips and some dried cranberries.

059

096

I ate a few of them…

And breakfasts are always cause for pep, this week being no different.

Overnight oats anyone?

007

Or perhaps a Deep Chocolate Vitatop with Greek yogurt, cantaloupe, banana and flax?

014 023

 

We’ve got sweet, but pep can also be found in the savoury.

I think it was the Frank’s Hot Sauce that really brought the pep to my egg white wrap stuffed with goat cheese, salsa and spinach.

002

Pasta has pep…especially when in casserole form loaded with cheese, chicken and cream of whateverisinthecupboard soup…

022

…though that pep dies fast when you feel lethargic from eating such a dish.

019

And a Crack Wrap with roasted red pepper hummus, Allegro cheese and spinach is pep in itself.

029

Cleaning out hummus containers is a pretty peppy practice. 075

And making sweet potatoes slices using the Low and Slow Method is pep in each pillowy bite.

080

088

 

Even new products bring on the pep.

Chocolate Brownie in bar form anyone? We don’t get Clif Z Bars in Canada but after a super iHerb win a little while back, I made sure to order some and finally got to experience the greatness of these bars. If we can get Clifs, why can’t we get Clif Kids?! There are kids in Canada too!

005

We DO get Quaker Chewy Granola bars in Apple Fruit Crumble flavour, one of my favourite granola bars ever and have been forever, unnatural ingredient list and all. Sorry but they’re darn delicious.

038

Keeping up with the junk food trend, check out the Kraft WHIPPED Peanut Butter I discovered yesterday.

025

032

It was consumed with nearly every vegetable I was chopping up today. Who says you can’t dip broccoli or zucchini into peanut butter, especially of the whipped variety? It’s already weird enough, might as well double the strange factor and throw some veggies into the mix.

 

And if all else fails in the search for pep, buy stuff.

Especially beauty product stuff. Most especially if you need it, and most definitely if it’s on sale and/or you have a coupon.

033

L’Oreal Elnett Hair Spray $12 normal price.
Got2B flat iron heat protector spray – $4 on sale.
L’Oreal Skin Genesis facial moisturizer$13 on sale from $20 + $4 off coupon = $9
Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Nail Polish$2ish each? normal price.
CoverGirl Clean Pressed Powder $7
CoverGirl Lash Blast Fusion Mascara – $9
  but with coupon for $3 off any 2 CoverGirl products…nice.

Sometimes a little retail therapy (especially when it involves deals and steals…and primping and priming)… all that ripping open new packages, placing those new products in their designated spaces…is perhaps not a perfect pick me up but a peppy process nonetheless.

 

And sometimes you just need a refreshed mindset and a new day. I’m thinking a little cozy up in the papasan might be in order before sleep time. Because I’m thinking this will practically guarantee pep for tomorrow. That and the fact that tomorrow is Friday which just demands positivity.

And to end it all – Visual Pep.

tumblr_l4g8wxy7a91qzb7gjo1_500

What is your favourite pep-me-up method?

21 thoughts on “Want Pep? Get a Papasan

  1. So, I just recently discovered your blog & I love it! First off, I LOVE cereal in my smoothies. Sometimes you just need a little crunch in the “smooth”ness of it… Also, where in the world is that whipped peanut butter?? That looks like foodgasms galore… I will just say that if you ever need anything from California, we could swap some packages =)

  2. Sorry to hear about your rough week, I’ve been feeling up and down myself. TOo weird, I’ve actually had both of the same papasans. They are too big and house too little people to fit in my current condo so they both reside at my parents. I can’t wait until we get Z-Bars here, but for now, I stock up every time I visit Seattle.

  3. oh I love papasan chairs!!!! I want one so badly. At my old office where I worked we had one and I would always go there to take a little nap on my breaks cuz it was so comfortable… I might be a little jealous of you :)

  4. I’m jealous of that chair! I’ve always wanted one.. that and a hammock!

    Whipped PB spread?? Maybe we should trade purple sweet potatoes for those! LOL

  5. Thanks for the visual pep! :)
    So much delicious foooood in this post. I tried making a choco cherry bomb once too and it was gross! I stick to recipes I know I’ll like now! And I agree, sometimes you jut need a new day. I always tell myself “this too shall pass” and then try to distract myself with something like baking, exercising, or reading.

  6. That is one giant ass green smoothie!

    Always pit cherries before freezing – it’s worth it when you go to use them. Even if it’s a bit of a pain in the ass to do in the first place.

    And I see nothing wrong with dipping any veggie in PB. PB makes everything better.

  7. Wow, that was an incredibly peppy and loaded post! Love it! So much good food. I am totally loving those smoothies and the casserole, and the cookies! YUM!

    And I want a papasan. :)

  8. haha wow, love the pic of you in your new chair. i have a squishy comfy chair in my living room and i looooove to curl up there with a drink and snack and book. it’s the best!

  9. Ok I have never seen that whipped pb, it looks so FLUFFY!!!!!!!!!!!! Yum!!!!!!!

    I love the pappsan, I need one of those for our office, my fiance and I are looking to get one! Love yours and you look so cute sitting in it!!!!

    I hope your feeling better, I have had a rough couple weeks too, we moved to a new state, which means everything new again, new friends, new places here, etc… it gets scary for me, and I get upset and down, but I remember that life is too beautiful to waste days being down, and I should be thankful for everything!

    Have a great night girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVE hot sauce with eggs! Mmmmmm the best!

  10. Great food, a thrill on a sea doo, and seeing good friends can pep me up. That chair looks sooo comfy. Is it from Cost Plus World Market?

  11. sorry the week was crummy. But I’m a chef and let me tell you, I’m very impressed by your plating skills! I’m gonna try that cherry bomb, I’ve been craving cherries lately andI hear its good for muscle soreness! I got my hair cut this weekend, I suppose that was my “pep-me-up” method

  12. look at you go with all this ridic awesome food in this post! i think the coconut cookies would have totes made up for the chocolate cherry bomb (literally haha) but on the bright (green) side haha your green smoothie WAS the bomb!

  13. I just saw that whipped PB spread in a grocery store in Montreal – I was intrigued, and now I might have to partake in a little nut butter purchasing while I’m here!
    I love papasan chairs – in one of my smallest apartments ever, in NYC, I had one as my sole piece of furniture – often used it as a bed, which was surprisingly comfy (though I’m sure my spine would argue otherwise).

  14. I hope you feel better :) But sometimes we just have those moments in our lives. I think it’s natural. Just like the seasons change so do our moods. Speaking of seasons, isn’t it funny how the things we do adapts to them? We tend to stay indoors and eat more earthier foods like root vegetables, then when it gets warm a lot of the things we eat grow above ground and we are usually out doing things more often.

    But yes, I agree that shopping can be a little pick me up… especially if you find great sales and something you absolutely fell in love with. That doesn’t happen to me often though. I usually go into the fitting room with things I like, but I don’t like once I try on. Then I’ll leave empty-handed, but I’m not sad about not getting anything. But when I set my eyes on something I love… very little things get between us lol. Maybe sometimes patience, but more often than not I’ll just get it but it makes me happy :D I also like to hang out with my little puppy when I’m feeling blue. Or going for a walk, watch a funny movie or show, curl up and read, or bake! (And your baked goods look GOOOOD!)

    Gosh the sound of goat cheese and dijonnaise together sounds soooo yum! Everything looks so yummy. Even that smoothie with the cherries that you said was not so good lol. Maybe dark sweet cherries will do the trick?

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  15. Buying stuff…anything really peps me right up. I especially love grocery shopping.

    So glad to see that someone else’s green monsters require two cups as well. :)

  16. I like to read. When I am having one of those days, or weeks, I tend to find myself needing some good ole self development time.

    A great book to read, “The Ultimate Life”

  17. Pingback: High on Coconut and Sunshine « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

