Pasta, Peaches and Peaceful Days

It was a Friday night.
Chicken and pasta were the food duo of choice.
Crazy Plates was the cookbook of choice.
And ultimately, Mr. Bowjangles ended up being the recipe of choice.

I suspected Mr. Bowjangles and I had met once before as he seemed slightly familiar (and with a little digging my suspicions proved to be true).

039

Mr. Bowjangles knows how to make one mean pot of chicken, broccoli & sundried tomato pasta. 040

044

I’m only slightly ashamed to admit that the large amount of leftovers have all disappeared into the depths of my body cavity over the course of the last two days, including when I ate them for breakfast yesterday morning, topped with roasted red pepper hummus and sided by a giant bowl of mushy leftover greek salad.

006

Yes I like mushy salad. And mushy soggy next day sandwiches, wraps etc etc. No joke.

017

I also ate the pasta leftovers IN a salad, this one being much fresher and less mushy (and consequently a bit less delicious. I’m so dead serious about my love for mushy salads).

024

 

Rewinding a bit to earlier points in the day that was Friday, you would probably see:

A lightly toasted sandwich thin with cottage cheese and roasted red pepper hummus

001

A super sweet butterscotch smoothie milkshake based off Katie’s Dashing Dish recipe

  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 15g vanilla protein powder
  • ~6oz water
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 T fat free butterscotch Jello pudding powder
  • Ice

030

A baking adventure using fresh farmers market peaches to make Peach Rhubarb Crumb Pudding using the most retro and delicious Apple Crumb Pudding recipe ever (it has clearly had a lot of love).

015

Peach Rhubarb Crumb Pudding

Into a glass baking dish:

  • 3 cups chopped fresh peaches
  • 1 cup chopped defrosted rhubarb

For the crumb topping, mix together with hands in a separate bowl until crumbly:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • + I added a generous handful of rolled oats for fun

Top the fruit with the crumble mix and bake at 375 for 30 minutes.

012

024

By far one of my favourite desserts of all time.
And therefore one I try to avoid making very often because it WILL be gone in a day.

My Friday night would show you a local music show at a small downtown pub full of plenty of loud, screamy bands where I inevitably got a “I didn’t know you went to shows like this!” I don’t frequent local shows that often but nearly every time I do I run into someone else that is overly surprised to see me there. Are little blondies not capable of enjoying ear splitting tunes? I just like music,  people!

band,concert,photography,show,silhouette,yellow-0f5967127b5db4a7a1555470cf3aafee_h 
(source)

Friday night led to Saturday day, which meant:

Iced Coffee Smoothies  
016

Work

& one serious case of sweet tooth overdrive.

Think puffed rice + Raisin Bran + frozen banana chunks+ plain yogurt + blueberry syrup + raw chocolate cake bits + swirly chocolate chips + mighty maple all in one little fruit-shaped bowl.

033

Intense.

Almost as intense as Shutter Island, which my friend and I rented Saturday night after trying to go see Inception only to have it be already sold out for both 10 AND 10:30, even though we went at 9. Not cool. I want to see what the hype is all about!

shutter-island 
(This lady was the creepiest part of the film).

 

A few nightmares later, Saturday night turned into Sunday morning, which turned into Sunday day, which turned into Sunday night, all of which involved a whole lot of relaxation. Forget GTL, this was a whole lotta RTL (Read, Tan, Lazy).

062

There was also plenty of dining al fresco:

Greens and tuna on brown bread.

028

Cob cornage and chicken wrappage.

032

044

048

And the blended bliss of almond milk, vanilla protein powder, peach slices, xanthan, guar and ice.

055

And then, just as the days before, Sunday night turned into Monday day which is where we currently sit. Well more accurately I’m currently sitting in the big comfy chair in the corner of my living room, just about ready to call it a night since Monday day has just about finished up.

 

Have YOU seen Inception yet? Is it worthy of its hype? I need to see it!

 

Happy Week!

4359593056_d73d533dd3 
(source)

17 thoughts on “Pasta, Peaches and Peaceful Days

  1. I HAVE NO SEEN INCEPTION!
    i feel like the ONLY person in the world!
    I must see it ASAP.
    love the pudding mixture INTO the smoothie! now that is creative. and all the ways you used your pasta! AND your big sweet bowl.. where have u found mighty maple? I AM SO JEALOUS!

    • I found the Mighty Maple at a little gourmet grocery store near me ages ago. I’ve been saving the jar forever so I’m savouring it slowly. I’ve gone back to look for more though and I’ve never seen in there (or anywhere else) since! SO sad, I don’t know what I’m going to do when I run out!

  2. Loving all your delicious eats – that pasta looks SO good too, it’s been ages since I’ve had bow tie pasta. All of your smoothies/milkshakes look amazing as well. I still haven’t seen Inception – maybe this weekend!

  3. All of your eats look absolutely AMAZING! I’m thinking Mr. BoJangles can cook cause that pasta is mouthwatering.

    I haven’t seen Inception yet. I really haven’t had time.

  4. Your bowjangles dish looks AWESOME! The best types of dinners are the ones that you can have for days!!! Leftovers are always the best part, in my opinion at least. I need to look into that cookbook!

    I love attending live shows, it is usually a great atmosphere and i find myself getting lost in the performance, if it is good.

    Shutter Island was a decent movie, and if you were looking for your fill of Leo I’m sure it got that done :) I am hoping to see Inception when it comes out on DVD, I have heard it gives some people headahces because it is so intense. And by intense I mean confusing and loud (but also very very good!). So if you are prone to headaches, take some advil with you!

    • It’s such a great addition, it really does make it so thick and creamy! I need to buy bigger cottage cheese containers though, I always eat it too fast just plain and right from the container to be able to save enough for making “milkshakes” with!

  5. I can’t deal with soggy salads. Ick! I’ll remember to save all of mine for you though ;)

    And hello there peach rhubarb crisp. I would probably eat that whole pan as well :)

  6. I kind of love everything in this post! Your pasta and rhubarb crisp both look BANGIN. And it’s so funny bc my mom always eats our dinner leftovers for breakfast too! I just can’t seem to do it! I thought Inception was pretty fantastic, but I may have liked Shutter Island more. They were both great in my opinion!

  7. How have I never thought to put pudding mix into a smoothie? This is GENIUS, I tell ya!

    Ech, just thinking about your soggy salad lovin’ is creeping me out. I need it crispy – even too much dressing on an extra- fresh salad can kill it for me :/ More for you, I guess!

  8. Man I want that pasta recipe, and I wish I loved salads half as much as you. Teach me your ways.

    Also, I saw inception opening night and it was awwwwwwwesome. It’s long but it doesn’t feel like it. It’s definitely a theatre movie, I wouldn’t wait for it on DVD unless you have some crazy good entertainment system

  9. Your new chair is pretty legit looking. :) I found this ironic reading, because I recently blogged about my new dish chair too! Your food pics looks fabulous too!

Leave a Reply

