Have You Ever…

Have you ever seen a racken (rabbit-chicken)? Or a chibbit/chickit (chicken-rabbit)? Or a bucken (bunny-chicken)? Or a chinny/chunny (chicken-bunny)?

I don’t know what the heck I would call this thing but I swear it was a bunny-chicken hybrid.

027 (2) 

Our local park houses animals. One of the animal cages was shared between chickens and rabbits. This thing was even fuzzier/more rabbit-like than it appears in the pictures. Mummy or Daddy in the background there, perhaps?

030

 

Have you ever tried overnight oats? Please tell me that’s a ridiculous question. Because if you haven’t, you ARE missing out.

006

Though I just discovered that I prefer using quick oats to rolled oats in my overnighters. They get oh so creamy.

004

 

Have you ever made protein ice cream?

I’ve made many varieties before but finally tried following Heather’s original recipe to a T for the first time. It just sparkles in the sunlight.

020

I saved some of the giant batch for later and reblended it with frozen raspberries for a deliciously fruity version.

024

 

Have you ever eaten a giant salad topped with tuna and creamy hot sauce?

013

Or dressed with balsamic vinaigrette, leftover roasted potatoes and a side of brown toast topped with salsa and hummus?

040

Now that’s a ridiculous question. I’m sure many of you have done something similar a billion times before. But so have I and it rarely gets old. So keep loading up on your veggies kids!

 

Have you ever seen a house burn down? From start to finish?

Right down the road from me today was a fire department planned burn as a task for the newest fire fighters. I saw it from the initial smoke until it was nearly right to the ground. It took a surprisingly long time to burn completely. Seeing the rage of the flames so close up was pretty intense.

tumblr_kwsc8m1rT91qzu5svo1_500_large  
(weheartitnot the house I saw)

 

Have you ever baked Angela’s Cherry, Banana, Coconut Butter Bread?

I did the other day. I worked with what I had but my only differences ended up being:

  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup spelt flour (instead of 1 cup + 3/4 cup of whole grain spelt flour)
  • 3 tbsp safflower oil (instead of sunflower. no idea if that was a wise switch or not but I did it anyway)
  • 1/4 cup real maple syrup and 1/4 cup sugar free maple syrup (instead of all real. I didn’t have enough of the real stuff left!)

021

It didn’t turn out quite as moist as I was hoping, probably because of my switches, but this was still a good loaf. Give it a try! But I suggest following Angela’s substitution suggestions instead.

 

Have you ever added spinach to a smoothie? Most likely.

Well have you ever added it to an iced coffee smoothie? I did for the first time this morning. No idea why I waited so long to do this. I guess I thought coffee + spinach would be weird…

Nope!

  • ~2/3 cup coffee and 1/3 cup light vanilla soy milk
  • 10g chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • packet stevia
  • 1/2 tsp guar and 1/3 tsp xanthan gum
  • 2 small handfuls spinach
  • plenty of ICE

010 

013

Have you ever gone to your local farmer’s market and bought an armload of fresh fruits and veggies, including tomatoes, corn, yellow zucchini, raspberries, strawberries, and the biggest cherries you’ve ever seen?

043

And then continued your shopping by browsing the tacky non-food item stalls and clothing stalls, leaving with a brand new romper?

I’m the owner of a romper? Huh, seriously?

018

You bet. And I might kind of want to go back and buy another.

 

Have you ever… seen a goose kissing a moose? Down by the bay, where the watermelons grow…

 3300968681_5551321228_large  tumblr_l56gsx7XeG1qa91mbo1_500_large
(weheartit)

Yeah, me neither. Great song though. 

 

So tell me:
What “popular” foodie trend or recipe have you not yet tried but would like to?
What other adventurous act have you never tried that you’d like to someday?   I’m thinking I could go for some white water rafting or jet skiing right about now.

29 thoughts on “Have You Ever…

  1. Heya!

    Considering my fear of the ocean and sea life, I think id like to go scuba diving one day.

    Also, that protein ice cream looks amaaaaaaaazing. I only have a magic bullet though, no real blender, did you make yours in it?

    Jordana

    • Yep, I don’t have a blender either so it all went into the bullet. I added the ice a bit at a time though, otherwise there’s no way it would have all fit and blended at once!

  2. That romper is beautiful! I’ve always wanted a romper, but I never thought that I would wear one. It’s never warm enough here!

  3. Hmmm, I’d like to scuba dive, or perhaps do some mountain climbing one day. And maybe try out that snowboarding thing that all the kids are into these days ;)

    I totally had no clue what a romper was until you posted the picture.

  4. i’ve tried the green monster but i’ve just never fully hopped on the wagon. i’d like to experiment with tahini a little more but haven’t gotten around to it!

    • Yep definitely Waterloo park. I hadn’t been in ages but I was glad to go back, those animals are so darn cute! Even if there are a few “strange” ones there haha

  5. Hmmm, never seen that kind of animal before, but then again, I’ve never been to Canada (haha). I think your romper is freakin awesome. In fact, I do believe I own the exact same one and have been sporting it for the past 3 summers. Love it! The only problem is having to get completely nude to go to the bathroom. Needs a trap door or something.
    -Erika
    P.S. I heart your blog :)

    • HAHAHA oh no! I haven’t worn it for a full day yet so I didn’t even THINK of the bathroom issue. Just dandy, it’ll bring back memories of the days of sporting one piece bathing suits. Can’t wait haha.

  6. A food trend I really want to try is naked bars. haha okay so its not really a trend per say, but everyone has those bars but me ;)

    Have you tried the protein ice cream with cookies n cream powder & cocoa powder. oh gosh its just divine.

    seriously that is that animal!!? its like a fluff ball..

  7. I have been eyeing Angela’s loaf for a while now as that combo of flavors sounds amazing, and I want some of those huge cherries!

    I have done most of things, but not all. I have seen a house burn down and eaten a salad very similar to yours…I think all that was missing was the leftover roasted potatoes, but I did add leftover roasted kabocha. :)

    Never owned a romper either…and am I the only one who eats the entire batch of protein ice-cream at once?!? ;)

    Enjoy your weekend Kristie. You look adorable in that photo!

  8. CREAMY HOT SAUCE?!?!
    yumm!
    oh my gosh seriously you look so freaking adorable in that outfit. cant even handle it!! HOT MAMA!! I bet you got da boys all over you!!
    love that recipe too!!!

  9. Mmm, coffee smoothies = amazingness. Especially if you happen to throw in some cacao nibs or chocolate covered espresso beans to make it like a frappuccino.

    I’ve yet to do overnight oats! I’m perfectly happy with my hot, microwave-’em rolled organic ones!

  10. Your smoothies look so. dang. amazing. Holy cow! And I accidentally discovered I far prefer quick oats to rolled for my overnighters, too. Glad it happened accidentally, because I probably never would have made the discovery otherwise!
    I’ve never tried either of the gums – but they seem all the rage lately!

  11. I LOVE protein icecream, it is the best ever!! I had some last night and having some agin tonight for dessert!!!

    I need to try Angelas overnight oats that she adds frozen icecream to the next day, have you seen that?!! It looks amazing!!!!!!

    I hope all is well and I love the romper , looks good on you! xoxo

    • I got mine at my local farmer’s market! It was actually full of all kinds of cute dresses and summery clothes, great place to get items slightly different than you’d find in a lot of stores too.

  12. haha love that sparkly protein ice cream! still havent tried it…or overnight oats! oops my bad. one day! you can definitely pull off the romper…i keep trying, but i’ve yet to find one that even looks halfway decent :)

Leave a Reply

