The Run, The Birthday, The Mailbox

What happens when the sun is shining and the weather is hot and you’re in a mini workout rut and you are pumped with a sudden and unexpected jolt of inspiration?

4609563397_1023a8d3f3_large

You tie up your running shoes, pop in your headphones, close the front door and hit the pavement for your first outdoor run EVER. And by your I mean my. And okay, not my first EVER. I had to do mini runs on my own time for gym goals way back in the beginnings of high school and I’ve done a couple short-lived night runs in the not-so-near past but this was my first full-fledged, solo, outside of my immediate neighbourhood, “I feel like a real runner” run.

It was hot, it was sweaty, and it was glorious.

I’ve been a dreaded prisoner of my treadmill for far too long, and although it has served me well and will continue to do so often, I needed to overcome my (ridiculous and unnecessary) fear or taking my strides outside and somehow, some way, I was finally ready for it. And I did it. And it wasn’t nearly as scary or as difficult as I thought it would be. I only went for about half an hour but I was really HOOFING it and it was really hot out. And I had no idea how long my intended route would end up taking (since, you know, I’d never actually ran any kind of outdoor route before) but I plugged it into mapmyrun and got a good 4.5 miles in so… Go Me!

if i can change then anyone can change i promise

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Aside from all that running excitement, there was another very important event that went down this week –

 My Mom’s Birthday

This special lady turned the ripe young age of 35 ( or somewhere around there… ;) ) on Tuesday and our mini fam jam celebrated with what else but pizza and cake.

The pizza was compliments a tiny local restaurant with a menu chalk full of delicious gourmet thin crust pizzas.

My choice: whole wheat crust topped with tomato sauce, goat cheese, broccoli, peppers, tomatoes and asparagus.

116

Mom’s: Whole wheat crust with pesto, feta, sundried tomatoes and olives. Perfection minus the olives.

117

Broski: Chicken parmesan with not-so-tasty spaghetti that was sweet and tasted like black licorice. Weird?

118

And for dessert?

Rhubarb Upside Down Cake with rhubarb fresh from the garden. Rhubarb desserts seem to be popping up left, right and centre at the moment so clearly we had to take part in the rhubarb loving mayhem.  

041

055062

Not complete with cool and creamy vanilla ice cream of course.  

094

Happy Birthday Mom!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Another thrill of the week – A special delivery in my mailbox. Who doesn’t love those?

A little while ago I found out that I was the receiver of a bit of joyous luck. I won Miss Chocolate Covered Katie’s $50 iHerb shopping spree!

No way? Yes way!

Considering that decision making happens to be a great weakness of mine, trying to decide on the many many MANY product choices on the site was quite the task. But I tackled it with vigour and picked out a few items that I’ve been wanting to try for a while now.

Amazing Grass Green Super Food, Bob’s Coconut Flour, Yogi Tahitian Vanilla Hazelnut Tea, Clif ZBars (hehe), Biochem Whey Protein in Vanilla (had to try after all of April’s hype, though they had none of her fav chocolate in the smaller container!), plus a few free goodies thrown in.

012 037

I have to say, shopping with iHerb was a joy! Aside from the overwhelmingly lovely selection, they were super helpful and the delivery was quick and painless. So a huge thanks for Katie for hosting the giveaway (you’re a doll!) and Abby at iHerb for all of the help!

 

And all that other food stuff

When you order massive sized gourmet pizzas all for yourself on your Mother’s birthday, you end up eating a lot of cold leftover pizza for the next few days at pretty much every meal.

Even breakfast. Along with egg whites with spinach, hot sauce and guac; leftover rhubarb slivers; banana.

001

Snackalacks. Am I alone in my addiction to wasabi peas? Because serious nose burn and all, I can take down fistfuls of these with no problem.

025

Anyone remember fruit leathers? I used to eat these at recess in elementary all the time. Sticky, icky and sweet. I found this probably 5 year old Fruit To Go in my food stash. I brought it for a work snack. Surprisingly great appetite quencher for 50 cals of miscellaneous fruit concentrates.

028 

Now this is a good Kashi granola bar. Kashi Pumpkin Pie. Granola bar base, sweet chewy date topping. So delicious. 004 016

Almost as delicious as my Brown Rice California Roll lunch. As much as restaurant sushi takes the cake, fresh grocery store sushi is still incredible, I’m not above it! You have to cover it in wasabi and ginger though, BEST way.

020

 

Hmm… what else was good this week?

You know those oats in a jar things? I ate one of those, only the improved version… OVERNIGHT oats in a jar.

006

Yes with Kraft Light. Don’t be hatin. Be lovin, very much.

Oats, almond milk, strained plain yogurt, blueberries, strawberries, flax, jam. PB on the bottom. Food love allllll the way through.

009 011

017

 

A word of recommendation. Don’t try to make hummus in a Magic Bullet. It’s very very difficult. Use a good processor or a heavy duty blender. I think I almost ran my Bullet right into the ground with this batch. I had to water it down a lot to get it to blend, which kind of killed the flavour. I might add some more spices and reblend later on.

I used this recipe. Even though the blend was a tough job, Greek yogurt ( I used strained yogurt) is a great idea!

026

Watered down hummus on my salad. And there’s that leftover pizza again.
(I wear my sunglasses at night lunch, so I can, so I can…)

036

Another recommendation: Top your steamed broccoli with salsa and feta. No explanation needed.

038

A third (and final) recommendation for the day: Make raspberry cake. Make it with the intention of giving it away to the staff at your mom’s work. But do not do so without ensuring to have a sample (or two or three) for yourself.

Old school recipe. Very simple. Not very healthy. Very tasty. We used to make this at my grandparent’s cottage a lot since we always had the ingredients on hand. Oh childhood memories.

Raspberry Cake

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 1/3 cup milk

Mix butter, sugar, eggs. Sift flour and baking soda together and mix with batter. Mix in milk and raspberries.

Bake at 375 for 35 minutes in an 8×8 pan.

041

047

My mom whipped up the icing so I’m not quite sure what was in it, but I know there was icing sugar and butter. Any vanilla icing would do. Or no icing at all!

 

*I finally published a Rainbow Cake Page from my rainbow caked up birthday way back in March so be sure to check that out.

 

I hope you’ve all been enjoying this May 24 weekend!

23 thoughts on “The Run, The Birthday, The Mailbox

  1. Congrats on running outside! You will be hooked in no time. That rhubabrb cake looks fab – Allen and I were just trying to figure out what we can make with rhubarb and I think this may be it! Clif Z-Bars – I stock up every time I am in the US. We def need them in Canada! I have made hummus in a Magic Bullet before, it always ends up pretty chunky though. Have an awesome long weekend!

    • Upside down cakes are so good so I figured you can’t go wrong with a rhubarb version! And we seriously need so many great products in Canada, it makes me so sad every time I see a product on a blog that we don’t get here haha

  2. yay for running outside!! ISNT IT SOO AWESOME?! i love it!! your pizza looks SO good! and i LOVE cold pizza for breakfast! amen to that!!! sorry about the water-y hummus :( still looks good tho!

  3. Hey girl! I’m so glad you tried the hummus! I like my hummus extra spiced and garlicy…But I lessened the spices for my blog readers (and left it up to them to add more if they would like! :)) So i’m glad you noted you would add more next time! :) Thanks for the mention! I love your blog btw! :) Your too cute!

    • In the process of making it, while it was still chunky the flavour and creaminess of what WAS blended so far was great. Seriously love the thick yogurt in there. Watering it down to get it to smooth out toned down the flavours a bit but next time I’ll be doing it in the food processor and I’m sure it’ll be super!

  4. Hi Kristie!

    A. Got my magic bullet to go in the mail on Friday!!!
    B. I’m in love with wasabi peas! Have you ever tried wasabi edamame? It’s just as delish and has 14 grams of protein!
    C. Congrats on the run!! I’m so jealous, between my asthma and shin splints, I can’t ever get in a decent run.
    D. Deff trying the raspberry recipe!

  5. congrats on the run!! that is so awesome :)
    and looks like you had a great birthday celebration with your mom. those pizzas look bomb!! sadly, though – i’ve never had the opportunity to have a rhubarb pie/cake/dessert. am i missing out??
    the cake looks wicked good, too, btw ;)

  6. Wooooo for running outside! I need to get on that ASAP…there’s nothin like a good sunset run in the summer.

    Your raspberry cake looks GREAT- sometimes it’s fun to bake without worrying about the nutritional value! Butter and sugar is delish once in a while!

  7. I want to devour this post! That rhubarb cake and your mom’s pizza (black olives = my fave) look seriously to die for. And I love all the stuff you bought- those z bars are yummy. I’m glad you enjoyed running outside! Ever since I started I haven’t been able to return to the tready.

  8. Outside running is such a horse of a different color from treadmill running. Congrats on making it 4.5 miles!

    Ooh, fruit in a cake – so summery! And I’m certainly not above grocery store sushi…Publix all the way baby!

  9. Rhubarb upside down cake? Yes please. Love me some rhubarb. Although, your raspberry cake would be great as well.

    I’m not above grocery store sushi either – my store has sushi chefs in our deli, and they make some awesome varieties.

    I would imagine your bro’s pasta was licorice tasting due to too much fennel. But I’m only guessing. Maybe they used real licorice?

    • You’re probably right, it must have been some kind of licorice tasting seasoning. Never tried fennel but that could be it. I HOPE they didin’t use real licorice, that just doesn’t seem like a very good pasta addition, but maybe that’s just me? Hah.

  10. Hey, Kristie.

    I definitely know what you mean about running outside. There is even a bit of that snobby attitude when people find out you run on a treadmill. Like – pffff – what are you, a hamster? :)

    I usually run on a treadmill because it’s softer on my knees, and “save up” running outside for special occasions and races.

    What about you?

    One thing you must try is running outside in the winter. Or late fall! It’s the most refreshing feeling! Just dress appropriately.

    Kate

  11. Yummy. Your mom’s pizza with LOTS of olives, looks like perfection to me. I am an olive lover! Happy bday to your mom! Sounds fabulous. That raspberry cake also looks divine. I love the old fashioned recipies. Nothing but the good stuff. No weird tricks or tips to lighten calories..just butter and sugar and love :)

  12. I hear you about the running. I still remember running for the first time outside versus the treadmill; it was such a weird feeling. I didn’t like that I could track my exact time and speed, but I loved the fresh air, the scenery, and the larger sense of freedom. Now I’m totally converted to the outdoor runs.

    PS: That rhubarb upside down cake looks absolutely amazing! As does everything, actually!!

  13. Happy belated Bday to your mom!
    Congrats on your run!!!
    I literally drooled while reading this post- your pizza, the rhubarb cake…oh my goodness. Amazing!
    What camera do you use? Hope your week is going well!
    XO

  14. Oh my gosh – what to comment on first! That pizza looked AMAZING! As did those OIAJ and that Raspberry Cake!! I’m definitely going to have to make AT LEAST one of those things this weekend!!

    Happy birthday to your Mom! It looks like you gave her a great day :)

    Also – YAY for running outside!!! Once I started, I could never go back to indoor – it’s world’s better!

  15. Pingback: Want Pep? Get a Papasan « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

