Burn Free Granola and such

Thanks to everyone who entered the Magic Bullet Contest. I think I’m going to be making a whole lot of smoothies over the next little while, I kind of want to try every. single. one. Winners are chosen by the Magic Bullet folk and should be announced next week – Good Luck!

And speaking of smoothies, I’ve been enjoying a number of my latest obsession of tea smoothies over the past few days.

Including a couple Candy Cane Lanes…

019 

058

014

…and a Strawberry Spiced Chai – we just picked up the biggest bag of frozen strawberries at Costco yesterday… totally made my day. I’ve been craving frozen strawberries literally for a few months now but our freezer had ZERO room. Now there’s finally space and I snatched up the big bag right away.

026

Aside from consuming a good amount of giant brain freeze inducing frozen strawberries yesterday, I also ate one of the best peanut butter cookies ever. It might not look like much (mainly because I took a picture after eating 90% of it so now it just looks like it could be a bite of almost anything) but just trust me, this was delicious. Especially dunked in strawberry smoothie.022

And just to be more chaotic and out of order, you can see my Friday bowl of breakfast quinoa last, which was mixed with pumpkin and yogurt, topped with Sunbutter.

008

Wednesday and Thursday

Chronological order is so predictable so let’s jump from Friday and go backwards…

Wednesday I went to work and punched numbers into a computer all day.

Before doing that I ate hummus tuna in a wrap.

005

After doing work I ate steamed broccoli topped with pasta sauce mixed with roasted red pepper hummus. MUCH more than that little bit of pasta and shrimp on the side there was also consumed, only straight out of the pan. I was starved, I couldn’t be bothered with plating. 007

While doing work I had lunch at a sub shop, where I got a chicken gyro with a side of pickles. It was good, but it would have been better with mustard. After thought. The fresh doughy pita bread was the best part. I’ve been SUCH a sucker for bread and anything within the same doughy family lately.

019

I also ate yogurt mixed with pumpkin and a bunch of other junk alonside a clem but I eat things like this 10x a day so this isn’t quite as thrilling.

015

 

Thursday  – I did not go to work but I did make pumpkin french toast: a slice of cinnamon raisin Ezekiel dunked in a mixture of pumpkin, egg whites and cinnamon. Cooked up and topped with peanut butter, banana and Blueberry Syrup.

007

001

 

I also finally made a batch of perfectly cooked granola! This is my first completely NON burnt batch. The secret? Oven at 275, no higher. Anything else and it burns on me. 275 from now on.

My granola experiments are always small batches since I don’t want to be left with 8 cups of burnt/tasteless/gross granola to eat or pitch.
This batch made 2 cups or 8 1/4 cup servings

POM Sunbutter Granola

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup kamut flakes
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds
  • 1 Tbsp shredded coconut
  • 2 Tbsp Sunbutter
  • 3 Tbsp POM juice
  • 1 Tbsp honey

Mix the Sunbutter, POM and honey together and pour over the dried, mixing well. Bake at 275, stirring about every 10 minutes for ~40 minutes.
Per 1/4 cup: 120 calories, 5.5g fat, 4.3g protein.

026

This was not a sweet granola but that could easily be fixed by adding more honey or chosen sweetener. The crunch is great though, especially with the addition of kamut flakes, which are quite a bit crunchier than rolled oats.

This batch is almost dunzo.

I’ve been terribly indecisive lately (that’s nothing new but it seems to have reached new levels) so deciding what to make for dinner was a little painstaking.

Solution? I turned to my Food Inspiration folder  – I save pictures from food blogs and the world wide web of meals/snack ideas etc that look amazing and I want to remember to try. Anyone else do this? It’s great for meal inspiration!

After browsing some amazing looking wraps, I decided on a grilled turkey wrap: turkey slices, laughing cow, dijon mustard, tomato, cooked spinach; dipped in salsa.

035 048

Bon choix.

 

We’ve got Friday, Wednesday, Thursday covered. How about yesterday, the beginning of the Belle Weekend that is Saturday.

More inspiration from the food folder led to a hummus sandwich kinda breakfast. Fresh marbly rye (isn’t it pretty?) stuffed with Sabra roasted red pepper hummus, Laughing Cow wedge, sweet and sour mustard, hot peppers and spinach.

003

013 016

Good but unsatisfying since I ended up eating the rest of the kitchen after this. Another story for another day. Or not.

Much less pretty was this veggie burger/hummus/salsa topped salad. Fugly as anything. Fairly tasty. Unfortunately stomach pain inducing. Not fun. 

021

This pumpkin protein cake was equally fugly though insanely good. I threw things into the bowl but approx measurements: 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1-2 Tbsp chocolate protein powder, 1 Tbsp egg whites, pinch baking powder, cinnamon.
Microwaved for ~45s-1min. Topped with plain yogurt. Incredible.

028

And my Saturday night consisted of KenpoXing (P90X), showering, nail filing, internet perusing, chatting, mass fruit and cereal consuming…

039

…and an early bedtime. Twas nice.

Now it’s Sunday. It’s a grey one… And not gonna lie, these are my favourite kinds of Sundays! Especially if they involve new breakfast treats like PIZZERTS (to be seen later), sweaty runs (to be had soon) and errands (to be done later).

Have a good one :)

14 thoughts on “Burn Free Granola and such

  1. Your granola looks so good! I love the veg burger / salad / hummus combo, sorry to hear it was ache inducing. Rainy day here too, but should still be a good one!

  2. Such a good food inspiration idea! I need to start compiling a folder of food blogger meal ideas! Your blog will certainly be an inspiration. :)

  3. ohhh myyy! tea smoothies?! that’s an incredible idea! how do you make them? i love my tea, but with hot weather around the corner, i see less and less sadly.

    i can totally relate to recent indecisive-ness. i have a recipe folder, as well. what kind of veggie burger did you use? if it was a boca or something of the like, your pains might be because of the high soy protein isolate. soy is usually a lot easier to digest in it’s more natural form.

    have a lovely day!
    xox

  4. you are genius with the candy cane lane tea! i totally should have thought of that!!!

    and that swirl bread for your sandwich?! awesome!

    i want to make that sunbutter granola! i have lots of sunbutter to use!

  5. i just made my first pizzert this weekend! smeared coconut butter on two pieces and almond butter on the other two. delish!! and i added 1 T of flax meal to the pizzert recipe for added nutrition. turned out perfectly!!

  6. Hey. I just found your blog and love it! I am super obsessed with making iced teas/iced coffees right now. I have so many different types of teas that I just brew up and put in the fridge for a nice cool drink later in the day.
    I saw that you mentioned P90X. I am doing the program right now as well :) I LOVE LOVE it, but kenpo is probably my least favorite (I get confused with all the crazy fast punching haha). My favorite is plyo!! Great blog!

  7. I adore your blog – everything looks so amazing!! And I don’t have a food inspirations idea but I ought to – I totally get inspired from photos more than recipes.
    Your breakfast quinoa looks really good – I’ve been dying to try quinoa flakes of some sort, but still have a lot of oat-type breakfast foods to use before buying more!!
    And I hear ya on the craving things of the doughy-bread like food group lately. I used to be the complete opposite (hello, daily wrap!) but lately I am ALL ABOUT fresh delicious bakery bread and naan, and that pita you had looks amazinggg.
    Have a great day!

  8. Ooh, the addition of POM juice to granola sounds fab! Every time I see marble rye I think of Seinfeld. It does look rather pretty though ;)

Leave a Reply

