Resume “Research”, Peep Bars and a Bunch of Food

I’m so cool that I just spent a good chunk of the day reading articles on how to write an impressive resume. I did this instead of actually updating my resume. I’m great at gathering my resources but not quite so great at actually implementing them.
(Here’s a resource I found pretty helpful if you’re in the market to update your resume as well: Series: How to Write a Resume)

To fuel all of this “research”? Plain and lemon meringue pie yogurt mixed with banana, strawberries, flax and cinnamon all hidden under a pile of fauxnola.

004

At some point midmorning I chugged a tea smoothie before running off to hang out with some kindergarten kidlets for the early afternoon :)

By the time I got home I was pretty starved. Those little guys can really drain your fuel! So after shoving forkfuls of cold leftover pasta into my mouth I finally whipped up some tuna mixed with hummus and sat down for some sense of a real meal.

008

Then it was down to the dark and desolate basement for a treadmill run and some lunge action. I am determined to force myself to run outside one of these days (something I’m still a little bit chicken to tackle? I’m such a suck) but lately it’s been COLD. What the heck, Weather? Hot, cold, all over the place.

Shower power and many more forkfuls of pasta later and dinner was a lost desire, at least in terms of my appetite. I have a serious love/hate relationship with leftover pasta. But anyway, talk about a day play by play? My appetite 2/3rds satisfied, I went with a rando snack plate to finish the job.

  • Red peppers, snap peas, cheddar slices, cottage cheese, broccoli with pasta sauce/light sour cream mixed, tomato, rice crackers, tofu slices drizzled with goddess dressing.

Yeah. Kinda just dug through the fridge and pulled out a little bit of everything with this plate…

017

The void was filled but the sweet tooth was not.

Welcome pumpkin yogurt bowl. With banana, pumpkin “bread” and cashew coconut ball crumbled on top.

023

And my evening food concoction mission:

A mini batch of Purple Peep Cereal Bars.
I only had 5 peeps to my name so….

– 1 Tbsp light margarine and 5 purple Peeps melted in a pan.
– Removed from heat and in I stirred 1/2 cup puffed rice, 1/2 cup spelt flakes cereal, 25g raisins, 2 chopped dried apricots. Pressed into a pan and chilled in the fridge.
I <3 cereal bars. Especially when they’re purple.

026

Monday

Yesterday was almost as cool as today. It didn’t involve any extensive “research” but it did involve a killer breakfast.

2 T oat bran, 2 T wheat bran, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 3/4 cup water, 1/4 cup almond milk, 1/2 a mashed banana, bunch of flax and cinnamon; topped with SF maple syrup and a puddle of peanut butter.

006

I also cooked up some wheat berries for the first time in ages. I forgot about these little gems. A little too excited about re-finding them in the cupboard.

020

Yesterday also involved a killer workout – 15 minute treadmill warmup, P90X Chest and Back (The one with way too many push ups and pull ups as I’m sure, if you’ve tried P90x before, you’re all too familiar with), P90X Ab Ripper X. I thought I liked push ups. I do NOT like the push ups in that DVD. And I can’t do a pull up to save my life.
My arms hurt today.

I fuelled my newly bulging muscles (ha) with an outdoor salad. I stayed outdoors only long enough to photograph it, then booked it inside. The wind was rude!

Spinach, steamed broccoli, red peppers, cucumbers, falafel balls, a tiny bit of pad thai noodles stolen from my brother’s leftovers (upper left corner), dijonnaise and cucumber dressing. Solid plate right there.

010

Then I finally escaped the confines of my house walls as my friend and I indulged in the day by heading out for some bubble tea, a treat I’ve been deprived from for months now. I don’t think I’ve had any since last summer? For shame. I got strawberry-peach with mixed fruit jellies. No tapioca balls for me so I guess it wasn’t legit bubble tea, but the jellies half fill the bubble criteria.

bubbletea

Mine looked nothing like this.

After sucking down every last jelly while reading the latest celeb gossip (How does Heidi not topple right over?) we took a super lengthy 30 second jaunt over to the grill restaurant in the same plaza to score some more substantial eats since jelly-filled drinks aren’t filling and despite the fact that it was nearly 5 o’clock, she hadn’t eaten anything other than Shreddies all day. My foodie obsessed mind does not remotely understand how people can do this!

$5 for greens. I could have made a salad 3x the size with 3x the toppings for the same price. At least the greens were fresh…

salad

I wasn’t yet dinner hungry so a greens salad to get in some predinner veggie servings was enough to tide me over… just until we headed over to TCBY for a wee treat of froyo topped with raspberries and Skor bar crumbles. Serious apologies for not getting actual pictures of this, it was special.

tcby

I came home and chowed down on pasta (what’s new) primarily because it was readily available but secondly and probably more importantly because it was darn good.
I’m on pasta hiatus starting tomorrow.

I also ate yogurt mixed with cocoa powder and a mini meringue. My sweet tooth never fails to show up. What a reliable little bugger.

026

Now as I’m sure you’ve heard quite enough about every moment of my last two days (or at least enjoyed skimming over the picture), I’ve had quite enough with writing it. Mainly because the FINAL season of The Hills just started and I kind of need to watch it.

Don’t forget to enter my Magic Bullet To-Go Giveaway!
You still have until this Friday, April 30 and all you need to do is come up with a killer smoothie recipe. I’m loving all of the entries so far! Looks like I’ll have a great list of new smoothie combos to try once all is said and done.  :)

Bonne nuit!

8 thoughts on “Resume “Research”, Peep Bars and a Bunch of Food

  1. Those peep bars are so cute! I love peeps for some reason, despite the fact that they also gross me out. You can´t help but think they are adorable. I asked someone to send me some on sale post-Easter, so if they make it to Africa I am coming back to this and giving my own Peep bars a try. Thanks for the idea :)

  2. Wow! I just found your blog from another blog I was reading! Your food looks so yummy :) I love granola, and I love pulling things out of the fridge and putting a nice little meal together ;)

    I can’t wait for the next post!

    XXOO

Leave a Reply

