My Brain Hurts

One exam down.

First day of exams today. Of course one of mine was scheduled for it, bright and early at 9am…And I did not do nearly as well on it as I was hoping or anticipating. This is making me really not feel quite so good about the rest of them that are up and coming… sigh.

Should I blame it on the juice? Maybe my coffee wasn’t strong enough, didn’t stimulate the brain cells adequately for good test writing. Or maybe I should have opted for the plain peanut butter rather than the dark chocolate dreams on my overnight oats. I never use the DCD on my oats… maybe the routine switch totally threw me off!

003

Well, whatever it was, I consoled myself when I got home with a little bit of food play.

First up: Katharina’s Pumpkin Pie Hummus. Been meaning to make this one forever and since I’ve been wanting to crack open a can of pumpkin puree for days now, this was the perfect opportunity. Mine’s a heck of a lot darker… maybe I used too much pumpkin? Either way, what a delight. I’ll be incorporating this into breakfast tomorrow!

008

006

All that food processing helped work up my lunch appetite.

Mixed greens, tomatoes and carrots topped with goddess dressing, tuna mixed with hummus and dijonnaise, and a few pieces of leftover cold pasta.

014

And the mandatory yogurt mix. Mango yogurt container with cocoa powder, flax, dried apricots and a sprinkling of Yogi granola crisps. Last of my fake sugar mini yogurt container stash, which has been kicking around forever. I don’t like buying them all the time (I try to stick with plain yogurt for the most part) but sometimes when it’s on sale I just can’t resist these sweet treats. Plus we don’t get all of those awesome Fage/Oikos/ANY grab and go greek yogurts over here, you gotta make do with what you have!

017

After eats I did a nice sweaty treadmill run followed by some Level 3 30 Day Shred, much needed after days straight of sitting for hours doing nearly nothing but studying. Which clearly didn’t pay off anyway.

Then I should have started studying for my next exam but instead I got my taxes done (that’s important too!) and did errands with my mom. Aka bought clothing and food. Clearly also important tasks! Moreso for my sanity than anything else.

By the time we got home it was way past my standard dinner time and I was pretty hungry. A quick eat dinner was in order. The result?

Tortilla Pizza – whole wheat tortilla loaded with garlic pasta sauce, spinach, tomato, cut of Laughing Cow wedge and feta.

023

I always forget about tortilla pizzas! They’re so quick and easy. And delicious. And versatile. And all-around awesome. I need to remember to make these more often.

028 040

For a sweet end I had some strawberries and bananas topped with plain yogurt, cinnamon, peanut butter and a date.

This wasn’t just any peanut butter though. It was peanut butter blended up with some cinnamon butter that has been kicking around in our fridge for ages (like literally a couple years. good thing that stuff lasts…I hope?). The result was bliss, like a peanut butter icing. Kinda wish I didn’t have a whole little container full of it, I might be eating it with every meal.

042

I may have also had an orange… and tea… and Easter chocolate (Yes, I still have some. Yes, I think I’ve grown a chocolate baby. Yes, it’s almost gone). When it’s study time (and I’m stressed) all I want to do is EAT.

And eat I have.

Yesterday

I had soup for breakfast?

002

In other words: 1/3 cup oats cooked in 2/3 cup water + 1/3 cup almond milk, 1/2 banana and ~1/4 silken tofu stirred in towards the end. Then blended smooth with a hand blender and topped with peanut butter mixed with coconut milk and strawberries.

009

I also had another tuna-topped salad.

032

A gigantic iced coffee that I didn’t even finish or really even enjoy. I don’t know what it is but iced coffees just haven’t been doing it for me lately. This makes me so sad! Maybe I need to alter my method. Or ingredients. Or something.

039

Then I studied and ate chocolate all day until dinner time.

CUC + Tomato salad. Grilled wrap with melty jalapeno hummus, mozzarella cheese string and red pepper slices, salsa on the side.

044 049 053

What could be better than melty cheese mixed with HUMMUS. Yummus.

This wasn’t better but it was pretty darn good. My bowl of silken tofu blended with frozen mango, light coconut milk and the gums filled up the last belly space and fuelled more studying… until the many late night study snacks ensued. I think I cleaned out my fridge.

068

Backtracking one more to

Tuesday

My first day of classes being done therefore my first day of sitting and doing almost nothing but studying.

My mom picked me up some baby cocktail forks though. Highlight of the day? How cute are they?!

039 

On Tuesday I ate turkey leftovers in a wrap…021

Blended my cottage cheese April-style  – 1/4 cup cottage cheese, 1/4 cup plain yogurt, 1.5 tsp cocoa powder, 1/2 pack stevia, pinch of xanthan, 1 tsp light coconut milk. Topped with 1 tsp peanut butter.

030

Ate grocery store sushi stuffed with wasabi and pickled ginger. Mmm how I love that nose burn.

044

And ate a whole lotta other things that weren’t structured, thought out or put on a plate. I’m such a caveman!

 

Do you drink iced coffee? How do you make it? I usually make it more or less like this method but I think I need to try something new!

How do you stay sane during study time? I… don’t. Help!

19 thoughts on “My Brain Hurts

  1. Pumpkin Pie Hummus?
    Holy MOLY!
    Delicious eats btw, girl!
    I´m sorry about your exam, though.
    I´m sure you´ll do better on the next one :D
    YAY for PB-filled dishes!
    Have a great Friday, lovie!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  2. Your salads always look so delicious. :) Everything does, actually.
    Sorry the exam didn’t go very well.

    I was a really bad student. I mean, I always had good grades, for the most part, but I actually never REALLY studied you know? I just picked stuff up during classes and that was pretty much it.

  3. Hah I definitely partook in some caveman-style eating yesterday, involving tortilla chips and Easter chocolate! OOPS.

    Good luck on the rest of your exams!! I’m writing a french exam tomorrow morning (for distance ed.) and I REALLY don’t feel ready. Hopefully it’ll be of the wing-it variety.

    Your blended tofu and wrap creations are making me drool, no joke.

    p.s. Mini cutlery is the best.

  4. Hey girl!! So glad you enjoyed the pumpkin pie hummus recipe :D You could never use too much pumpkin, I say hahaha. Anyway, I laughed out loud at the eating like a caveman!! Sometimes we don’t have time to prepare these pretty meals.. but as long as they taste good and we’re keeping our brainpower up it’s all good hehe. I hope you did well!!!

    I normally don’t drink coffee. And if I do.. I’ll just drink it black and let it get cold hehe. I guess that’s not much advice lol. To stay sane I take deep breaths and I also like to put things in perspective. Time management helps as well.

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  5. Your eats are always so delish looking. Pumpkin pie hummus sounds interesting. I’ll be checking out that link. I have the cocktail spoons to match those forks! Gotta love PC….

  6. That wrap looks AMAZing! yummy! I’m defs with you on the procrastinating studying for exams… I have two papers due in the coming week and yeah I’m putting off editing and writing those by blog reading :)

  7. whenever i read your blog i just get hungry- idk if its the pictures or the food but i lovee it all! & that cinnamon pb sounds amazing. the tortilla pizza looks good too- i am def going to make those over the summer!! I LOVE iced coffee- i dont usually make it myself though…soo refreshing

    xoox
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. Oh wow, you blend your iced coffee and everything!! I just make a french press and stick it in the fridge overnight. Then in the morning I put it in one of those freezer beer mugs with almond milk and stevia. Iced coffee is where it’s at though – the usual stuff makes me break out into a sweat! :P

    I have no study tips for you. I’m nursing my own chocolate baby studying for this damn personal training test…

  9. Hey! First time at your blog! I can tell you one thing–your food looks heck of a lot prettier than mine does when I start to have to study a lot–I usually end up eating scrambled eggs for every meal…or sandwiches…when my studying gets crazy! So, you’re doin that good that’s for sure!

  10. mmm your eats look SO delicious! Pumpkin pie humuss? how cool!

    I don’t really stay sane while studying…so I can’t help. I can really anxious and antsy and usually what I study leaves my brain immediately lol. Bummer!

  11. That’s too bad about your exam! Hopefully the other ones go much better. I’m always super stressed during exam time but I find that just taking a bit of time for myself really helps, even if it’s just 10 minutes to sit outside and do nothing.

    I love making tortilla pizzas! I’m a big fan of thin crust pizza, so they’re perfect for that.

    cute forks too! I really like a lot of the PC housewares stuff. Everything I’ve bought has been pretty decent for quality & not too pricey!

  12. Pingback: A Whack of Food Flops « Lighter Portions
  13. Pingback: Fire Burning on the Dance Floor « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

