French Toast, Fast Food, and Full of Granola

Reasons why I should not be allowed to make my own granola:

A. I eat half the batch straight out of the oven. I’m only kind of exaggerating.

B. I burn it. Every. Time. Clearly I need to be sitting right beside the oven and checking it every two minutes. Clearly I didn’t do this. Clearly I am a very poor granola watcher. And clearly it’s Monday morning.

I am now ridiculously full of yogurt, blueberries, and many spoonfuls of Peanut Butter Granola. You bet I ate the burnt stuff.

012

My batch had 1/4 cup extra of puffed rice and macadamia nuts instead of peanuts because that is currently the only type of nut in my house. I foresee a Bulk Barn trip in the near future.

 

Now let’s take a swing on back to the beginning of the weekend.

Saturday

Saturdays scream Special Breakfast. Special Breakfast screams french toast.

I happened to be browsing through my saved recipes the other day. Caroline’s Tofu-Banana French Toast recipe happened to be saved on my computer. I read it. I realized I had some silken tofu in the fridge that needed to be used up. I also realized I had half a loaf of Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin bread in the freezer from … a year ago? and have been meaning to french toast it for a while since it’s got a bit of the frost bite thing going on. No way am I throwing out a $5+ loaf of bread though. The freezer works wonders for long term preservation…

So with that, Tofu-Banana Cinnamon Raisin French Toast was born.

Batter:1/4 cup soft tofu blended with 1/2 small banana, cinnamon, 1/2 pack stevia, splash SF french vanilla syrup

Coated both sides of the bread. Into the pan, cooked to perfection, and topped with a little SF maple syrup and fresh blueberries. AMAZE.

023  032042

And just as Caroline suggests, I definitely ate the last bits of remaining batter, guilt free!

I also had a few orange slices (and a second cup of coffee) just for kicks. 048

Then it was off to work. Remember how on Friday I had a fast food meal for the first time in ages? Well I guess I broke the seal because I had another one on Saturday for lunch!

Wendy’s Grilled Chicken Sandwich. No sauce. Just look at that lovely SINGLE piece of iceberg lettuce. They sure go all out.

002

My Harvey’s veggie burger from Friday’s was great. How was Saturday’s Wendy’s chicken burger? You be the judge.

008

Yep, I ripped that sucker apart. I topped the burger with a packet of hot chili sauce I found in the work fridge for some kind of flavour. Good idea. The chicken itself was decent enough. But the lettuce and tomato? Pathetic. The bun? Horrible. I’m not against all white bread, heck I love a slice (or three) of a fresh white french loaf straight from the oven, but this was just wrong. I kept about 1/3 of the bun intact to hold the sandwich together but in retrospect I should have just trashed the whole bun and eaten the chicken by itself. The bun stuck to my teeth. Like really? Wendy’s, you need to rethink your choice of burger bun. Talk to Harvey’s, they know what they’re doing.

After work I got home to a dinner of roasted vegetables. That’s more like it. Sweet and white potatoes, zucchini, red pepper, broccoli, carrots and cloves of garlic. Mmmm.

050 

Saturday night was a lazy night in. Workout, bit of homework, bit of TV watching. Nothing too exciting, but it’s still winter so that’s how my weekends go when it’s too cold to get out of my sweats.

 

Sunday

The Coconut Butter made an appearance.

– First thought when I opened the jar – “What the heck are those extra white fuzzy-looking things on top? Is that mold??”

– Second thought – “I just paid almost $15 for this jar. I don’t care if it’s mold, it’s getting eaten.”

– First move – Very cautiously scrape and taste the top.

– First reaction – “Hmm. I don’t know what this is supposed to taste like. Is this it?

– First actual taste test – Spread onto a small piece of banana bread.

– First reaction to this taste test – “Hmm. This isn’t very strong…how exactly did this gain so much hype? Maybe it’s more of an acquired thing… needs more experimenting. I think I could learn to like this…I’ll still give it a chance.”

 

That chance came Sunday morning when I melted a spoonful onto my bowl of scotch oats (cooked with water, almond milk, banana, flax and cinnamon. Blueberries and peanut butter on top).

014 021

Coconut Butter Verdict? Better. A bit. I still don’t think it has that strong of a flavour. And I was still expecting more out of it. But overall it’s pretty good and I think it’s one of those things that I’ll start to like a bit more each time I try it.

Should I always be melting it? Should I mix it with anything specific, pair it with anything specific? I want to maximize the goodness of this stuff.

 

Rest of Sunday was SALAD

034

SNACKING

Studying…

And Homemade Turkey Lasagna

Basically followed the recipe exactly except for a few changes which are included here:

  • 1 pound  ground turkey breast
  • 1 1/2  cups  water
  • 1 large can + 1/2 cup garlic and herb pasta sauce
  • 2  cups  shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2  cup 1% cottage cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups light ricotta cheese
  • 1/2  cup light Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2  cup liquid egg whites
  • sprinkling dried parsley
  • sprinkling black pepper
  • 9  uncooked lasagna noodles

 Oven at 350.

Cook the turkey in a large saucepan coated with cooking spray over medium heat until browned, stirring to crumble. Add water and pasta sauce; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Remove from heat.

Combine the mozzarella, cottage and ricotta cheese, and next 4 ingredients (parm through pepper) in a bowl.

Spread 1 cup turkey mixture in bottom of a 13 x 9-inch baking dish. Arrange 3 noodles over turkey mixture; top with 1 1/2 cups turkey mixture. Spread half of cheese mixture over turkey mixture. Repeat layers, ending with the remaining turkey mixture.

Cover and bake at 350° for 1 hour. 041

The original recipe calls for an extra cup of mozzarella on top but we didn’t add it and it didn’t need it, it was plenty delicious without.

044

And we have plenty of leftovers.

Now I should probably get a move on since I have class this afternoon. Hey Monday… does anyone else find it especially hard to go to class when the sun is shining like crazy (especially since it’s been practically completely MIA all winter?!), cause I sure do. Ah well.

 

What have you got going on this week that you’re looking forward to?
I like having something a little fun to look forward to to break up the routine each week, even if it’s something small like dinner with a friend or a post-class shopping trip. I have nothing yet this week though, I really need to change that!

16 thoughts on “French Toast, Fast Food, and Full of Granola

  1. French toast sounds delicious and have all those ingredients at home. Might have breakfast for dinner tonight. Hecks, if you don’t want the coconut butter send it my way and I’ll find use for it :)

  2. oh em gee. I have been craving lasagna for like 5 weeks. No joke! And than pan looks amazing!!!

    And tofu french toast?! I had no idea that was possible!! That looks so nummerS!!!!!!!!! I must try!! And yes, Ezek should never go to waste!!

    I hope you have a fabulous week Kristie babaaaaaay!

  3. Hmmm, I’m hesistating on the coconut butter now…let me tell you, the sucanat smells like ass. No joke. I thought my muffins were gonna end up in the trash, but once baked off everything was great!

    Awesome French toast AND lasagna!

  4. oh man great eats! hmm now i am not so sure about the coconut butter! HA. i think ill pass! not worth spending 15 dolla! i shall stick to PB and AB :)
    your french toast looks aweesome girl!

  5. In my experience, coconut butter has the strongest, most coconut-y taste ever. I always let mine melt by putting the whole jar in a pot of warm water to sit first. Try a spoonful on its own… I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

  6. i agree- having something, even small, to look forward to really helps!! I think i’m havin a night with my best friend to just chill :) i’m excited.
    i’m impressed you even attempt to make your own granola! haha it sounds delicious evne if it is burnt :) & that lasagna looks so so good! love the chicken sandwich competition..i’m disappointed in Wendy’s!

    xoxoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  7. I am obsessed with french toast – it never ever fails me! I used to eat that Wendy’s chicken sandwich all the time. I always slathered it in their honey mustard, though so I don’t even remember what it tastes like without it. I’ve heard so much hype about the coconut butter but haven’t tried it yet. I LOVE coconut milk and creamer, though! I agree – I always try to plan something for the end of the week to have something to look foward to and make the work week go by quicker. This weekend I’m heading into the city with my bestie to see a play and paint the town :-) Even just a shopping trip sounds great to me!

  8. Ooh, homemade granola and tofu banana french toast? I drool!

    I always eat such uninspiring breakfasts so this is motivation for me to expand my morning food horizons!

    Love how you massacred that Wendy’s burger. I imagine that sticky white bread WOULD be quite unpleasant.

  9. Pingback: Sun is Shining, the Weather is Sweet Yeah « Lighter Portions
  10. Now that you have shown me that recipe for peanut butter granola, I know I need to make some ASAP. Yum! I bet if you lowered the temp and cooked it longer in the oven you could avoid the burning.

    And I think the coconut butter has a very pure coconut flavour, and such a fun mouth feel. Very velvety. I like it melty on my oats personally, or used on toast with some cinnamon & sugar.

  11. Pingback: Lilacs and Weekend Bullets « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

