Come Oooon Reading Week!

Hello Hello!

Tis the week before reading week and thus a week full of plenty of assignments, presentations and midterms. Whoopee. Great for my reading week since I will therefore not have to do very many readings but not so great for the process of getting there.

I still have plenty of stuff to get done to keep me busy for the next 4 days until break time begins! Like a biopsych middy tomorrow… gulp. One of the only things keeping me sane? Why, tasty foods of course.

 

a Few Favs of the past week

A sad attempt at a breakfast parfait.

Contents: Lean and Mean Pumpkin Muffin, Greek Yogurt, cold banana, cinnamon
Taste: B+ (when all mixed together)
Presentation: D
I need some lessons.
004

The never-fail rainbow bowl of crunchy veg delights. This one included: mixed greens, steamed broccoli, mushrooms, roasted butternut squash, plain tofu, carrots, balsamic vinegar, Franks, roasted red pepper hummus, baba ganoush, mini rice cakes with salsa. Wow. That was exhausting.

022

Greeked up Oatmeal inspired by the pros. Quick oats, frozen blueberries and strawberries, greek yogurt, cinnamon. Heaven.

010

Butternut Oats – Rolled oats cooked in water and vanilla soy milk, stirred in leftover roasted butternut squash and egg whites, topped with peanut butter mixed with soy milk and SF maple syrup.

012010

NEED to remember to load up my oatmeal bowls with egg whites more often. Look at that fluff, that pump!  

Incredibly dangerous and dangerously incredible caponata dips. L = sundried tomato caponata. R = artichoke caponata. This paired with fresh bagel = control out the window.

016

One super incredible pizza.
– Whole wheat tortilla topped with jarred pasta sauce, Franks, spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes, humnut cheese (GENIUS), tahini and dried basil.
Broiling this is also genius. I usually bake tortilla pizzas. I’m inpatient. 10-15 minutes or 3? I’ll take the 3! Even if it includes the smoke detector going off…twice.

024

Iced Coffee, Iced Coffee, Iced Coffee. I think it’s a given.

027

Kath’s Whole Wheat Yogurt Pancakes on the floor. The sunlight was better down there!

Recipe halved and made with egg whites and applesauce instead of eggs and oil. Topped with greek yogurt, maple, cold banana. V.V.GOOD.

001 005

018

And one of THE BEST CHICKEN RECIPES I’ve ever tried. Ellie Krieger’s Chicken Parmesan. This makes a lot. I probably could have eaten half the recipe myself if my stomach allowed it, just because it was that good. My whole family loved it. It went into the repeat meal binder. It’s a winner winner chicken dinner!

034

And with that I’m back to biopsych.
Only four more days…

If you’re in school, do you have a reading week/spring break coming up soon? Any big plans for it? I wish I were going somewhere hot and tropical… but since I’m not, I’m excited to veg, shop, clean and do some baking. I’m easily thrilled.
Or if you’re not in school, any mid-winter pick-me-up vacays planned?

 

P.S. Huge Congrats to JANETHA!!!

19 thoughts on “Come Oooon Reading Week!

  1. Mm butternut squash oats! I need to try that! And that pizza looks incredible indeed- love all the colours.

    I’m missing out on Reading Week this year ’cause I’m on co-op this term…but my ideal vaca would be either skiing in Banff or going to NYC/other big, exciting city to explore!

  2. That food looks good. Your parfait was very pretty. I wish I had a mid-winter vacay planned. Heck! I would settle for a half-baked staycation at this point. That pizza is on my to make list.

  3. Butternut squash oats sounds heavenly! I’ve been slacking with the butternuts lately.. I need to get them back in my life!!

    And I think your parfait looks amazing! Everytime I try to take a picture of my muffins I’m in bad lighting and they turn out green looking. Not attractive!

  4. Butternut squash oats sound nice! I love squash – just made some soup on Sunday night actually!

    My plans for reading week are working, then taking off to visit my parents on the Friday. It’s weird to have reading week just be an ordinary week for once!

    Good luck with biopsych! The thought of that class always scared me, even though I started out as a bio & psych major! Haha! Luckily I didn’t end up having to take it.

  5. Your pizza is a work of art!! I love the broiler, I’m impatient too!!

    Oh my goodness this post is packed with so many awesome things! Your oats, and those caponata dips…do you have the recipe for them??

    & bananas are so much better cold. :-D

    • Actually the dips were bought at a gourmet italian food store and I think they make them in store. So no, no recipe sadly. I wish I had one though so I could make them myself!

  6. Haha – thanks for the parfait shout out!! I think your parfait looks perfait ;)

    Carbs and dip are impossible to show self restraint around! They just need to be put together and consumed before anyone else can do it. Good luck with your studying!!

  7. Pingback: Cacao(nut) Euphoria « Ohh May…
  8. Your parfait looks delish girl nd so do all the eats on this post!!!!!!!!! I am loving the pancakes too!!!!

    I hope you have a great night! xoxo

    Love the apear bowl, too cute!!!

  9. Can you post the recipe for sundried tomato caponata? I used to buy a dip like that when I lived at home and I definitely miss it. You’re totally right, dangerous but delicious.

  10. Pingback: Another Best Of, The Stuff That Just Can’t Be Missed. « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

