The Great Tastes of Last Week

Short on energy but big on pictures so no messing around – Let’s jump right in, shall we?

The Savoury:

Cold leftover Tuna Casserole eaten for breakfast, straight from the container.

004

And eaten for a snack with buffalo sauce.

012

 

Bowls of greens decked out in honey mustard…

017

…In everything I could find in the fridge…

023

…x2…

004

…and in big scoops of salsa, hummus, and baba ghanoush.

038

Sugar Snap Peas. One of the most addicting veggies out there.

016

 

La soupe du jour – Campbell’s V8 Garden Vegetable Blend!

014

I was sent this lovely package a while back but for some reason I have been consuming minimal amounts of soup this winter and hadn’t tried it yet… until now!

035

Soup Verdict? I’d buy it again! You can’t argue with a soup that can pack in 12 different vegetables. Plus the flavour is great, the soup itself is hearty and filling, and the generous vegetable chunks won me over. I really want to try the other flavours next: Golden Butternut, Sweet Red Pepper, Southwestern Corn? Count me in!

 

Sweet potato (or something like it?) decked out in steamed spinach, jalapeno hummus, salsa and sour cream mixed with buffalo sauce + mini fried potatoes and mashed cauliflower sprinkled with apple cider vinegar

008

 

Belated Holiday Work Dinners in January. Yep, that happened this Saturday night. Every year we go to a schmancy restaurant and get serenaded by live piano music while eating:

– Fresh bread with salmon mousse spread
– Appetizer artichoke, tomato and parmesan pasta dishes (this appetizer was the amount of pasta I’d eat in a whole meal)

019

– And my favourite dish I’ve had the past 3 years: Baked lemon chicken breast with Greek salad. Usually served as the actual breast with the salad on the side, this year they sliced the chicken right over the salad instead. I didn’t mind! They can plate it any way they want as long as my big chunk of creamy Greek feta is present.

020

– Plus I may have stole a bite (or a few) of my dad’s dessert – vanilla cake with blueberry sauce. Mmm.
Apologies for the crappy quality pictures but rest assured they are not indicative of the quality of the food. It was much better.

 

And I must highlight tonight’s dinner, the coolest dinner I’ve had in a while: Cauliflower Pizza! Right before I was about to start cooking myself something quick before class I came across this idea on April’s blog. With the knowledge that leftover mashed cauliflower was sitting in the fridge, I ran right into the kitchen and started up the oven. About 20 minutes later, dinner was born. I would have left it in a little longer to crisp up more if I didn’t have to rush off to class so it wasn’t super crusty, but no matter.

My “Crust” = 1 cup cauliflower, generous splash of egg whites, 1/4 cup cream of mushroom soup (it was leftover in the fridge so I figured why not), basil, oregano, garlic powder.

Toppings = Tomato basil pasta sauce, Frank’s Red Hot, Laughing Cow wedge

You. Must. Make. This.

013 

015

Delicious. Incredible. A breakthrough in the science of pizza eating.

 

The Sweet:

Yogurt mixed with oats, flax and cocoa powder, left overnight to magically transform into brownie batter deliciousness by morning. Thanks Liz! Seriously, breakfast brownies? I’m in.

008 016

April’s Lean and Mean Pumpkin Muffins. Especially cold from the fridge.  I love LAMP (muffins). Get it?! …Har har?020

And the best of both of these worlds: yogurt mixed with an insane amount of cocoa powder and a LAMP muffin!

017

Diiiiiiiiiiiiiiivine.

020

 

Cold Overnight Oats for a cold morning – mixed with unsweetened chocolate almond breeze, vanilla yogurt, banana, flax, pb

005

Warm non-overnight oats for a non-warm morning – mixed with … I don’t remember. Whoops!

008

More warm oats but this time I do remember – mixed with flax, unsweetened chocolate almond breeze, sugar free jello creme brulee pudding (oh yes I did!) and topped with banana slices and peanut butter mixed with vanilla yogurt! Decadent way to start the day.

003

Apples with foamy coffee

021

Especially special when the first big chomp is almost heart-shaped love.

032  

The best buttery rich banana bread ever. Made with mom magic. She’s been making this recipe since I was wee and I don’t think I’ve ever had a better banana bread. Not one drop of healthy in this dessert. Worth every crumb.

033

Banana bread is always better the next morning. Especially when paired with a Hot Chocolate Smoothie

007

And yesterday happened to involve a Costco visit. Always a pleasure Costco, always a pleasure. Especially when you send me off with parting gifts of 2kg/4.4lbs of decadent chocolate protein powder at 8 bucks off. It’s not all natural, it’s made with sucralose and other funny ingredients, and it’s cheap and tasty so whatevs. 019036

Smoothie time!

Can you please lend me a hand in putting a dent into this beast by telling me your favourite ways to use protein powder? Recipes, snacks, whatever floats your protein powder boat, send em my way! It’d be much appreciated. I’ll need to get creative to make my way through this doozy.

 

Oh and HAPPY FEBRUARY!

Already, do you believe it? Spring is right around the corner! That corner way off in the distance, but it’s still a corner I have in my line of sight so we’re making strides here! Groundhog day tomorrow. Don’t let me down Wiarton Willie!

20 thoughts on “The Great Tastes of Last Week

  1. I have pretty much the same thing every day with my protien powder:
    1 scoop protein
    1/2 cup yogurt
    1/2 cup oatmeal
    1/2 cup blueberries(or whatever fruit you got)
    1 tbsp peanut butter

    Throw all this in a blender with a cup of water and you got a filling meal and you don’t even have to wait for your oatmeal to cook in the morning.

  2. that pic of u and the whey NEEDS to be ur facebook or something. it is way too big of a TWSS not to take advantage of…its just sooo big! hahahhaa

    ps nothing beats nana bread. NOTHING.

    xoxo

    lolomon

  3. I don’t ever use protein powder…but i’m sure you can use the stuff in bars/yogurt/cereal/smoothies/coffee (protein chocolate coffee?!!?!) and more…

    and don’t banana breads mom’s make the best? my mom has been using the same recipe forever and i can never get it to come out just as good as hers. le sigh.

  4. Your oat conconctions look divine!! Especially the creme brulee banana one. Whoa!

    p.s. I just started reading your blog and decided to check out the “About Me” – I go to uni in Waterloo as well (UW though, not Laurier)! I love finding Canadian bloggies!

  5. love all your eats girl! honey mustard makes everything better!

    that is some serious protein powder – you should make some protein cakes with it – they are sooo good

  6. oh my gosh over night oats are becoming one of my favorite breakfast..even though its winter.

    hmm i love making heather’s protein ice cream or aprils brownie batter :) oh so good and tastes down right sinful.

  7. Pingback: Encounters With the Grunt Lady « Lighter Portions
  8. Hi Kristie! I love love LOVE your blog and your salads! ;-) These images make me so happy. Food can be very exciting. Thank you for sharing! Happy last month of winter! :-)

  9. Pingback: Keep on Caking On « Lighter Portions
  10. Pingback: A Whack of Food Flops « Lighter Portions
  11. Pingback: Breakfast Battles and Baking Biz « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

