A Holly Jolly Christmas

Christmas has been here and done already, I don’t believe it. Where does the time go?

This past week has been filled with plenty of last minute shopping and errands, baking, family, friends, food and sweets. It’s been some good holiday times so far.

Speaking first of baking, I did my fair share.

005

Around the edges are Oatmeal Cookies with raisins, pine nuts and a white chocolate drizzle (can’t find the recipe right now but I’ll keep searching) & Chocolate Covered Medjool Dates. In the centre are Maple Butterscotch Macadamia Blondies and Fruitcake Bars. 013 026

 

Christmas eve was pretty chillin. We made dinner out of quick appetizers:

Veggies with hummus
Shrimp
Mini meatballs
Mozzarella sticks
Rice crackers with cheese

036 040  039

And sat around being warm, cozy and relaxed for the rest of the evening.

Then Christmas morning arrived. A little too early for my liking, as my brother just couldn’t contain his excitement so thought it would be sane to set his alarm for 7:30am. Never sane, especially at the age of 18, but it was Christmas morning so I grinned and bared it. Haha… oy.

Coffee was made, stockings were unloaded, gifts were unwrapped. It was some good comforting family time.

Once everything was said and done, the floor littered with wrapping paper, bows and open boxes of chocolates (oh yes, they were consumed before 9am and before breakfast), the sun was up and shining and tummies were rumbling from a desire for real food after the mini sugar spree.

When you eat chocolate at 9, eggs sound especially good by 9:30.
Poached egg, toast and ketchup. Perfect.
Well almost. For some reason the toast just wasn’t thrilling me but I ate it anyway. Then ate clementines and more chocolate from lack of breakfast satisfaction. That did the trick.

049060

Through the rest of Christmas day I munched on chocolates, coffee and foods with slightly better nutritional profiles before heading off to a family dinner for the evening.

084 089 

No pictures from the dinner but it involved plenty of turkey, stuffing, creamy cauliflower and squash, followed by a plethora of cookies, fudges and other enticing holiday desserts. Chow down.

 

Christmas day was followed by Boxing Day. Obvi. Boxing Day was Christmas#2 at my dad’s house. Before heading on over there I tried to eat some clean meals along with my chocolates of the day. Oh Chocolate.

Oh yogurt, banana, cinnamon and toasted almond slivers.

006

Oh slaw, carrots, mushrooms, salsa dip and leftover creamy cauliflower dish

010

Christmas#2 was good times. Gifts, a brief Boxing Day shopping bout and another tasty dinner, this one involving plenty of leftovers of turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, baked mac and cheese and stuffed vine leaves, followed by another plethora of leftover desserts like ice cream log cake and apple crisp. Oh if only I had photographic evidence of the goods.

 

And here we are today, the 27th of December, two days post Christmas. It has involved plenty of tidying to clean out the old and move in the new. My room is quite scattered at the moment. It’s a work in progress.

I started the morning off with chocolates a very green green smoothie that included:
a ton of spinach on the last leg and needing to be used up asap
frozen banana
almond milk
vanilla protein powder
flax
ice

009 012

Paired with coffee because, aside from the fact that it’s a morning necessity, it’s also a great way to combat the smoothie chills.

001

Lunch was a delicious mix of cabbage slaw, carrots and zucchini with a dressing of mashed avocado, lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, sriracha, S&P. So good.

017 

And the orange got wacked. It was a special moment.

024 

With a lack of ideas for dinner, I had this brainwave that was telling me I needed some flatbread. Considering I’ve been dying to try the new flatbreads from Subway, dinner was born.

Subway Flatbread with turkey, lettuce, tomato, onion, pickle, honey mustard
The flatbread did not disappoint! I’ve always found Subway buns to be a little too thick and just too much bun so this was perfect. Probably gonna be getting these from now on. Hey Subway, whole wheat flatbreads next please?

031

 

Despite the fact that the holidays have involved such delicious foods and chocolate treats day in and day out, I’m feeling pretty good health and body-wise lately. I’ve done plenty of balancing out with veggies and other fairly healthy eats, and the holiday free time has given me plenty of time to get in great long, sweat-drenched workouts. Hey muscles!
… Or maybe my body just responds best to eating plenty of chocolate?? Dare I continue to test out that theory? Haha…

 

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and wonderful holidays! I’m off to do some post holiday retro night dancing. Until next time!

13 thoughts on “A Holly Jolly Christmas

  1. WOW girl you did some awesome baking..those desserts look sooo good!! and i agree w. the whole wheat flats! i LOVE those soft flat breads at subway!
    have fun retro dancing..hehe :)

  2. Maple Butterscotch Macadamia Blondies? YES PLEASE!!! Your baking looks fantastic!

    I was just thinking yesterday about how good slaw is and how I haven’t had it in a while – your slaw bowl looks like it hit the spot! I’m glad you had a great holiday!! Hope you had fun getting your groove on!

  3. Your little treat plate looks excellent.

    I can’t say I’m feeling that “balance” this holiday — way, way wayyyyy too much eating. If I had strings tied to my limbs, I could successfully be a double for the Goodyear Blimp! No joke.

    Keep enjoying the break!

  4. Your quite the baker! Those desserts look amazing! And those wack a chocolates are so funny.. I used to always try to wack them and they always broke!

    I’m glad you had a good christmas!! Have a great week!

  5. What a yummy cookie tray! Glad to hear your holiday’s have been going well…

    I wasn’t too fond of the flatbread at Subway. I found it pretty doughy. Maybe WW ones would be better! ;)

  6. MMM! I have always thought that Subway’s bread was sub-par and too thick too! I’d love to try these out…especially if they can get their act together with some WW goodness!

    I am lovin the looks of that festive baked goods tray!

  7. merry christmas! glad to hear youve been balancing the treats with greens and exercise. ive been combining the first thing with very little of the second and third…but at least it’s been amazingly delicious, right?!

  8. hot damn those baked goodies and apps look so yummy! glad you had the jolliest christmas!! the clear plate is rad because it makes it look like there is ketchup on the table :) great to hear you are feeling good body-wise! that is always such a nice feeling.

  9. awesome job girl!!! those chocolate covered dates sound great! What a super pretty cookie tray. The Maple Butterscotch Macademia blondies and oatmeal cookies sound awesome too. As well as the fruitcake bars! Id love to try one of those as Ive never had fruit cake before.

    Overall sounds like a wonderful holiday girl! Balancing out the delicious holiday food with super workouts and plenty of fruits and veggies is an awesome way to go. I hope you have a wonderful evening!!

  10. I am so impressed with your baked goods! They look super professional.

    What part of Canada are you from? I am from Toronto but I live in LA now…I miss home though!

Leave a Reply

