Late Night Chow Down

Last night, for the first time ever, I actually had to get up and out of bed to eat something.

It was one of those nights where you lie there, and lie there, and lie there some more. Every hair tickles your face, every shirt wrinkle feels like a noose. I tossed, I turned. I tried countless times to shut my mind off and concentrate on my breathing. It did nothing. And throughout the entire attempted sleep ordeal my stomach was like this empty gurgling pit that was driving me completely nuts.

Eventually I had to get up and get something to eat before I went mental. I had a Kashi granola bar in my room so I figured that would be just enough to calm my stomach but not kill my breakfast in the morning. I nibbled slowly while reading a few magazine articles to calm my wandering mind and then turned the light back out.

Forty-five minutes later my stomach was still grumbling and I was still very much awake. You’ve got to be kidding. By this point I was twice as tired and actually decently comfortable. I did not want to get out of bed. But once again my stomach just wasn’t going to let me fall asleep. After much humming, hawing and trying very hard to ignore it, I dragged myself out of bed, down the stairs and threw together a decent-sized bowl of cereal with banana, yogurt and almond milk.

My stomach was finally just full enough to allow me to sleep.
Have you ever had to get out of bed to eat something because you could just not fall asleep? This is whole new and unexplainable thing for me! I’m not a fan.

Anyway, yesterday for breakfast I made some pretty ugly (oxymoron!) decked out overnight oats. I soaked em up in water and almond milk overnight, then stirred in plenty of plain yogurt, a couple spoonfuls of berry yogurt, chopped apple, banana, flax and Chocolate PB2. 003 013

Grade A Schlop!

I spent the day “studying”, which meant I found everything else I could possibly do other than study. This included (but was not limited to):

  • Treadmill Sprints
  • Blog Reading
  • Kitchen Experimentation

Which led to the creation of:

Coconut Pecan Date Balls!
A genius combo of… can you guess?
Coconut chunks, pecans and Parnoosh honey pitted dates, Bulleted into mush then rolled into delicious bite-sized balls that are comparable to, if not better than, Coconut Cream Pie Larabars. And these tiny bites of coconut paradise come in at only 40 calories a pop.

028

033

I also finally got around to trying a recipe for Caramelized Tofu that I’ve wanted to try forever. I didn’t follow amounts, just ingredients, but this turned out delicious.

055 060

I had a couple pieces along with a veggie hummus platter. My appetite wasn’t too raging after all of the date ball sampling.

024

Then the “studying” continued, which meant:

  • Grocery and health food store shopping

One of the local health food stores around here seems to have a new owner or something. New name, new sign, some new contents. Some of these new contents included a bigger bar selection (score!). Many of the bars were on sale. I picked up these:

063

I must voice my excitement in finding a Cool Mint Chocolate Clif Bar! This was my first time seeing this flavour anywhere around here. I snatched it up without a second thought the moment I saw it. I should have bought more. I tried a small piece of it right away and it really does taste like one of those chocolate mint Girl Guide cookies. Amaaaazing.

  • Dinner Making

My mom made this giant meatloaf the other night and there were tons of leftovers so since I hate wasting food I opted to make beef enchiladas for my family. It’s a fav meal in this household and a great way to use up any leftover meats that are hanging around in the fridge.

I made theirs with the mashed up meat loaf, sour cream, salsa and spinach, topped with enchilada sauce and shredded cheese.

I made mine with low fat refried beans, FF sour cream and salsa, extra spinach and enchilada sauce, hold the cheese.

066

Mm mmm enchilada.

I swear there actually was some studying accomplished at some point in there, even if I did find many ways to put it off…

I guess I should get back to it though as it is now Friday and my exam is tomorrow morning!

Tata!

28 thoughts on “Late Night Chow Down

  1. Although I’ve woken up starving before, it’s never been bad enough to actually get out of bed and eat. I would not be a fan either!

    I tried that Clif Basr flavour recently and it wasn’t my fave….I found the mint a little over powering, but then again, mint has never been a go to for me!

    Love the coconut pecan balls!!!!

  2. Do you have a recipe for the coconut pecan balls or did you just throw the ingredients together until you got the right consistency? They look great!

  3. To answer your question..yes, yes, yes!! It happens quite a lot actually and just doesn’t make it on the blog! There will be times where I can’t sleep because my stomach keeps grumbling or I’ll wake up at like 4AM to go to the weetle girl’s room and when I try to go back to sleep, I’m hungry. Again.

    I’m going to be doing a lot of “studying” this weekend and those date balls may have to be made!

  4. No, I have never had to get out of bed to eat, but I have had big snaks right before bed in order to be able to sleep.

    The tofu looks so yummy. I love how thin it is.

    Love your balls. That’s what she …

  5. Sorry about the late-night stomach grumbles! Glad you took care of it though! A bowl of cereal always does the trick!

    That overnights oats breakfast actually DOES look really tasty, all the ingredients make it sound really good!!

    And yum, that tofu and enchilada!! :)

  6. That has happened to me once whenI was in high school and not eating enough, and once recently when I was totally jetlagged and my body thought it was dinnertime! I think it’s good that you made sue you were truly hungry before eating, seems like you handled it well!
    That tofu recipe looks awesome! And I just love your photos!

  7. I go to Laurier as well, and I’m ALWAYS looking for health food stores with decent variety. Where is this amazing little one? Is it is Waterloo, and reachable by bus?

  8. great balls of fire! those look great! any recipe with specific amounts? i love that flavor of larabar and any way i can get it without shelling out the big bucks i DIG! too bad i don’t have a bullet/food processor. time to whip out the knife mashing skills

  9. Yep, I’ve gotten out of bed to eat before. There’s nothing worse than trying to sleep while your stomach is a-rumblin’.

    Those date balls look fantastic! They may only be 40 cals a pop, but I would be eating a lot more than one of those at a time. :)

    Oh and I just had one of those Optimum bars for the first time – banana/match/flax flavour – and it was AWESOME. Hopefully that blueberry one is good too.

  10. Mmm, Kristie your balls look yummy. :)

    Hope your exam went well. I was always the same way with studying – if I had a huge test or paper to write, my apartment would be totally clean, there would be something baking, and then I would clean out my closet or something. Studying always came last, and there were many early morning cramming sessions.

    Oh, and I have gotten out of bed several times for a snack as I cannot stand to go to bed hungry!

    Hope you have a good week. :)

  11. Good luck on your exam!!!! I’m so sorry about that late night insomnia needing food to tame the nerves. THAT really is no fun at all!! rwarrrr!!

    I really do love all your eats throughout the day though. They say lack of good sleep messes up your eating patterns, but you obviously did amazing! :) Hope you get a great night’s sleep tonight sweetie!

  12. In terms of the date balls, I ended up using 10g of dates, 5g of pecans and 5g of coconut per two balls. I might use a liiiittle less coconut. But really, I think you could just throw in somewhat equal ratios of each with an emphasis on dates and they would turn out just fine :)

  13. caramelized tofu sounds amazing – i think the best food comes from not measuring things out perfectly! =)

  14. Oh I love the balls!
    Honey, I’ve done that like 10 times THIS YEAR! Yeah, it’s not fun, but it’s good that you didn’t ignore hunger. You must have just not had enough during the day, ya know. I can’t fall asleep hungry unless I’m wasted!
    And I don’t get wasted, so I’ve got no option but to eat! :)

Leave a Reply

