21! I’m Practically Greying

Happy-Birthday-Chimp-Note-Card-C11765288happy21st.jpg

Happy Birthday to Me! 21 years. I feel ancient. Okay not really, I still feel like it was yesterday that I was running around playing hopscotch and hide and seek. Or maybe that was yesterday…

So now I’m off to Vegas! Well one of these days…
I can’t believe all of you US kids are only legal as of this age. I don’t know what I would have done with myself during my free time for the past two years (our legal age over here is 19)!

I was waiting for the big transition upon waking up this morning. 20 to 21… Nope, no differences. Honestly I’ve felt like I was 21 for ages already so today is just making that official. What’s the difference between feeling 20 versus feeling 21? I’m not really sure to be honest, but for some reason 21 has just felt like it fit more for me than 20. I don’t bother trying to make sense of the way my mind works.

Tis still morning and I knew my breakfast had to be darn good today so the best option was the most obvious: A bowl of oatmeal of course!

I did not hold back on the sweetness level today. This bowl was fluffed up with:

  • 1/3 cup of oats
  • Plenty of Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • 1/2 of a super ripe banana
  • Sweetener
  • Then topped with: Flax, White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter (my first time ever adding the WCW to oatmeal…WHY did I wait so long to do this?!), and half of a Chocolate Date “Acorn”

005

009

I was disappointed only in the fact that my hunger was not raging this morning so I was only partially hungry when I ate this. Every bite was still perfect though, it just would have been MORE perfect if my hunger levels were about double.

And…

033

Polar F6! Thanks Mom :) I’ll be giving this baby a first run sometime within the next couple of hours. As long as I can figure it out of course… Seems easy enough though.

I’m not a huge fan of celebrating my own birthday so I don’t have any big exciting plans. I’m making my own birthday cake (I like to bake so I chose to do this haha) and I’m just going to have dinner out with my family. That’s quite enough for me :) I’m sure there will be plenty enough going out dancing and fun stuff in the soon-to-arrive summer to make up for my lack of celebrating this week anyway. I’ll recap dinner etc later on since it hasn’t happened yet.

Here are yesterday’s eats though since yesterday has happened already. Obviously.

Oatmeal Sundae
(which is really just oatmeal in a sundae dish. I thought it was kind of exciting)
This is just standard banana oatmeal topped with flax and peanut butter “whipped cream” which is just crunchy peanut butter mixed with almond milk and agave. So good. Most especially when eaten out of an ice cream dish.

001013

021

I did a 5 mile treadmill run shortly after breakfast and then I had to quickly head to class but I ended up being starving after the workout (I guess I should have pumped up that “sundae” with some more oats) so I threw together a quick plate of leftover sweet potato, leftover baked tofu and a carrot with dijonnaise.

044

I had a few small snacks between lunch and dinner but the only one that was memorable was the small homemade Larabar. I made it a while ago so I don’t remember its exact contents but there was definitely some medjool date and nut butter action going on there and it was gooood.

For dinner I cooked up a large kabocha squash and obviously ate half of the entire thing. I was only going to have 1/4 of it but I have no squash resistance whatsoever. I also had a bowl of cabbage slaw mixed with FF sour cream and dijon mustard.

054

063

Alright, now it’s time to get down to some cake-baking business. Chow for now :)

43 thoughts on “21! I’m Practically Greying

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! Now you can come to the US and meet all of our bar creepers ;)

    Sweet HRM! Love the color!! CABBAGE SLAW!!! So good!

    Hope your cake turns out well!

  2. oh my goodness happy birthday!!!! i remember my 21st, was studying abroad in france at the time and of course there is no 21 = legal there so everyone thought it was so funny that i was excited to show my ID and legally drink. esp since we’d all been drinking french wine like water for the two months before that LOL.

    hope the bday is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! vegas one of these days is a great idea :)

  3. Happy Birthday! Ya, I hate how the legal age is 21 over here. You’re lucky you’ve been legal for 2 years lol. Oh well..

    All that oatmeal looks good. Especially the one in the sundae dish! :D

  4. happy birthday peterpiper.

    perhaps if you had given me your
    gosh darn address you would have
    received a creepy baby in the mail.

    eat lots cereal and rolos ice cream!
    [and squash. you gotta a whole other
    half to do some serious work on.]

  5. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    21 was my favourite year! Make it a good one! :)

    And I think oatmeal should always be eaten out of bowls that raise the lovely food to a higher level than the table. :) Nicely done.

    Enjoy your dinner out!

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY KRISTIE!!! Yay 21, welcome to that age LOL

    19 is the legal age in Canada!? Aw, so you’ve been doing your thang for two years already…it’s old hat! Well 21 is still fabulous, so ENJOY yourself!!!

    :)

  7. Kristie,
    Happy Birthday!!!! 21 was a great year for me – enjoy every minute of it my friend. Can’t wait to see your cake concoction as I know you love to bake.

    BOTH bowls of oats look great, and I love your PB whipped cream. Truly brilliant my friend, and I agree – fun bowls always make my oats taste better.

    Enjoy dinner with you family…and your cake!

  8. HAPPY BIRTHDAY BABE!!!!

    yeah, isn’t it lame we’re not legal till 21? when i was in australia it’s 18, and i took TOTAL advantage of that. hahah!

    I hope you had the most wonderful day ever!!!

  9. Pingback: Cravings for Carrot Cake « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

