Monday Monday Monday

Mondays. Who loves Mondays? Anyone, anyone?
Well, I quite liked this Monday for a change. I got to wake up to the exciting news that I won Lara’s British Bar giveaway! A Monday morning doesn’t start off much better than that. I can’t wait to try them! Thanks Lara!

Other than that this Monday was fairly typical but starting the day off with a little excitement carries it right on through to the end. Up until right now I’ve been embracing this day. Now, however, I’m trying to get down to work on a fairly large project due Friday that I’ve hardly started. It’s not working out so well. Thus my day’s conclusion isn’t quite matching with its commencement. If only I wasn’t so darn good at procrastinating…

 

Backing up a bit to…

Sunday

I had planned on spending the entire day starting my project. My plans… didn’t go as planned.

Instead I did Tae bo for an hour, then my 100 crunches for the day, then a… 3 minute plank! Oh yes I did. I had planned to just go for two minutes but I go by the song time count on my Ipod and when I switched to the next song on my shuffle just before beginning the plank, it happened to be one of my favourite workout songs (Kaskade & deadmaus – Move For Me) and it’s just about three minutes long. I could not pass up the opportunity to push my plank to the limit. So despite plenty of muscle shaking by the end of it I stuck it out and I loved every second of it. I can’t believe I’ve only just discovered the greatness of the plank.

Anyway, my procrastination only furthered itself when my friend invited me to hang out and get some coffee. I hadn’t seen her for a while and couldn’t pass it up so I pushed the project off some more and sipped some coffee while playing Sims 2. Yeah, she had her laptop with her. And yeah, we made me. It was exciting until her battery died. Anyone else ever play The Sims? Or get addicted to it? Once you start it’s near impossible to get away from! Which is why I now avoid it at all costs when school is in. Like I need something else to help me procrastinate. 

But FOOD.
Between Tae bo and coffee time I threw together a salad. I also munched on leftover baked tofu and a large apple.

023

I didn’t get home until dinner time. On the menu for Sunday night? Spaghetti and meatballs. My modified version? Steamed broccoli, whole wheat noodles and a bit of linguine noodles with pasta sauce and feta. Plus a couple pieces of fresh bread.

This was great. Broccoli goes well with everything. I had seconds. And probably thirds by the time I stopped picking at more pasta and broccoli from the pots.

042 036

I also ate plenty of pineapple. And grapes, but they never get their picture taken because they always get popped into my mouth straight out of the fridge.

047

THEN I was going to spend the night working my project but another friend who I hadn’t seen in a while wanted to go for tea. I’ve been so socially deprived this winter from too much school work and hiding in hibernation from the cold (I absolutely despise going out in the cold so I avoided it 90% of the time) that I just couldn’t turn it down.

I worked on it when I got home… but it was late so I only did a little before going to bed.

Then I was going to work on it all day today but somehow that didn’t happen either.

Today (Monday)

So back to this quite nice Monday.

After my exciting giveaway win news I wanted breakfast. I didn’t know what I wanted. Somehow I ended up with this:

016 023

A Pumpkin Protein Cake?
This thing had: 2 egg whites, 1/3 cup pumpkin, 1/4 cup quick oats, half scoop vanilla soy protein powder, cinnamon and agave, all microwaved in a bowl for about 2 minutes then dumped out onto a plate and topped with a mixture of plain yogurt and SF syrup.

Along with some coffee and a few grapes and pieces of pineapple, this breakfast kept me going for hours. Winner!

After my classes I came home and made a big, mainly spinach and broccoli-based salad with baked tofu, along with 1/4 tortilla with Sabra roasted red pepper hummus.

032 042

But I was still hungry so yogurt and cereal was my saviour. Cherry yogurt, Peanut Butter Puffins and Multigrain Flakes to be exact. 048

I try not to get the unnaturally sweetened, flavoured yogurts much anymore as I’m trying to stick mainly with plain now but I like them once in a while as a treat and this was on sale so there ya go.

Instead of project, I did treadmill. My body is craving some serious workout minutes to undo a bit of the cookie dough extravaganza on the weekend. Well, along with all of the sitting I’ve been doing while trying to get so many other school assignments etc completed. I’ll admit that I’ve been a little less than thrilled with my contours in the past few weeks. I’m not fretting too much thouge. Once school is over and done with (soon!) then I can concentrate more on getting moving rather than having no choice but to be seated and working (and stress snacking…) on readings, assignments, studying etc etc blah blah blah.

Dinner = sweet potato. But extra special this time around because it was a Snobby Sweet Potato!

051

068

I topped it with leftover Snobby Joes, steamed spinach and FF sour cream. Perfection.

Then I had a couple spoonfuls of strained Astro Plain Balkan-style yogurt. Now this yogurt makes one super thick and creamy treat when strained. 072

Plus some frozen mango (my nails need a new paint job…).

085

And later as a school work procrastination snack I had some pumpkin mixed with almond milk, cinnamon, SF maple syrup, dried cranberries and Fiber One.

087

And now is time to start freaking out about my project. Oh joy.

Happy New Week!

 

 

Big shout outs to Krista for mentioning The Low Carb Grocery, which ships lovely products I’ve never been able to get my hands on before all over Canada. I am ordering fun food products asap. What oh what shall they be? ;)

 

Giveaways Galore!

Food Snob is having a P.B. Loco Giveaway!!
A Chocolate-themed Giveaway is a’happenin over at Yogurt and Berries!
Vitamix Giveaway at Jumbo Empanadas!
Missy Maintains is giving away a Michael Season’s Natural Snacks Gift Bag!
Julie’s Favorite Things Giveaway at Julie Go Lean!

22 thoughts on “Monday Monday Monday

  1. yay for spring and no more social deprivation!! Congrats on your win- I am jonesing to win one of those that u posted!! I like your idea of NO fretting :D Life is too short to sweat that small stuff- you are beauteous and we LOVE you!! xo

  2. My monday was total crap, but what ya gonna do?

    And a 3 min plank? Damn. I was all happy when I got just over a minute the other day. Way to go!

    The pumpkin cake looks interesting. Perhaps if I find myself with some egg whites I’ll try it out.

  3. such a great way to being your day with a big surprise like winning a giveaway! :D
    food looks delicious and beautiful. I want to try that pumpkin protein pancake!
    Monday is hard… especially after a wonderful weekend!
    good luck with your project!

  4. yum! what a cool breakfast idea. im jealous of your pb puffins. i really want to buy another box but am worried they will disappear in 2 days again :) good luck getting everything done! sometimes procrastination really helps get in gear, at least, thats what i tell myself!

  5. Your food looks so good! I hope I can soon learn to put combos as good as those together :)

    Do you use any dressing on your salads or just eat them loaded with veggies?

    • I almost always use a dressing of some kind. I like my salads kind of creamy so a lot of the time I’ll mix fat free sour cream, dijonnaise and balsamic vinegar. May sound gross to some but I think it’s an awesome and pretty guilt free substitute for something like caesar or ranch. Or sometimes I’ll just toss the veggies with balsamic vinaigrette or even just dijonnaise. I have a lot of random dressings in my fridge so I’ll often just switch in between those as well.

  6. Haha the Sims are awesome! When I was a younger teenager I used to LOVE making all the people, using the cheat codes to buy a buncha cool furniture, and then I was done. Haha. Your eats looks great, especially the pumpkin protein cake! I attempted something like that this weekend and failed miserably…I’m glad now I have a recipe for one! :)

    Good luck on your project Kristie!!

  7. Awesome job on the 3 minute plank! I’m still struggling with 90 seconds – although I’ll admit I’m not doing it very regularly so I’m pretty sure that’s why!

    That spinach & broccoli salad looks good! I think I’m feeling a spinach salad with dinner tomorrow night after seeing that.

    I’m definitely trying to avoid school work right now too. At least you’re doing something productive like exercise instead – I usually end up surfing the internet!

  8. YAY YOU WON :) Congrats, girl!

    Woah!! Congrats on the 3-minute plank, too! I really need to work on that!! I am so impressed.

    The pumpkin protein cake you made looks so good – almost like a muffin top or something. But much much better ;) And I love your snobby sweet potato!

    Frozen mango!! That made my life last summer – it’s time to bring it back! Thanks for the reminder.

    Good luck with your project! And thank you so much for your sweet comments on my blog and Facebook. You are such a great bloggie friend – I hope we can meet someday!

Leave a Reply

