Sabra Rules

Yesterday I mentioned that I baked up some kabocha squash. This one had been sitting in my cupboard for a little while because I had experienced a bit of squash overkill (I know, shocking right? Is that even possible?) so I took a break from it. A break as in like a week but still.

While baking that I decided to roast some asparagus alongside it, as well as throw some of the squash seeds in rather than trashing them. I just threw a handful into the oven, nothing special. They’re tasty though, I don’t know I ever throw them out!

These goods were done a bit earlier than the squash so they got plated first.

038

Then the plate got madly enhanced by the lovely squash. It’s not quite as neat and tidy looking however… chunks of squash just aren’t the most attractive of foods.

043

All I did for the entire rest of the day was study. This term has made my life SO boring!

I was excited for my dinner because I cracked open and tried Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus for the first time ever yesterday. O.M.G. Roasted red pepper hummus has always been my preferred flavour in other brands but this one owns them all! I knew immediately that I wanted it in a wrap for dinner.

My Spelt Tortilla Wrap contained: Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus, spinach, chicken and roasted red pepper slices.

049

However this was slightly bland. I probably could have enhanced it greatly by doubling up on the hummus but it was a little late for that. A couple drops of honey mustard did the trick instead. Unfortunately the hummus flavour got a bit lost in this wrap. It was still really good but my anticipation of it was greater than the final result. Maybe I’ll just stick with spoon-feeding myself some hummus straight from the container instead. That may have happened once or twice…

During my studying of the night I needed a snack. Apples are usually my go-to study snack so I had not one, not two, but three small apples. They were too good to stop. Plus they were starting to rot so I figured I should get rid of them. Hey, no food waste in this house… Don’t worry, I cut off all the brown spots first.

That was all yesterday. This is

Today

Instant Oatmeal Pumpkin Pancake:

  • One packet Reduced Sugar Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 tbsp flax
  • splash almond milk
  • Topped with mix of SF syrup and vanilla yogurt

007

I’m always amazed at how perfectly these things turn out when I use a packet of instant oatmeal. No crumbling or falling apart, even without any egg whites to hold it together. This was delicious.

Lunch was the last of the leftover ground turkey and rice from my stuffed peppers the other night. I threw it into a pan with zucchini, mushrooms, spinach, BBQ sauce and salsa. I also finished up my kabocha squash. Mmmm.

009018013

After lunch I had a small bowl of plain yogurt with banana, puffins and kashi crunch

024

…and another bite of banana with almond butter

035

…aaaand I dug into my secret sweet that I’ll talk about later on. Hehe.

Dinner was quick and easy: Amy’s California Veggie Burger on rye with some Sabra Roasted Red Pepper hummus lovin, lettuce, spinach, dijonnaise.

065

+ some iceberg lettuce hunks with sundried tomato dressing and a tiny last piece of squash I found hiding in the fridge.

070

Sorry for the rush rush but I must get back to cramming studying diligently for my midterm tomorrow! Yikes!

Good Stuff Going On:

A contest to win PURE Bars over at An Apple A Day!
An Erin Baker’s Baked Goods Giveaway at Missy Maintains!

20 thoughts on “Sabra Rules

  1. I can’t seem to find sabra hummus in small containers, I’ve only seen them in big bulk containers at costco. LOL. I don’t know if I could handle that much hummus… almond butter on the other hand, yes, but hummus.. hummm.. LOL!

    Anyways, love the asparagus, and squash!!!

  2. great eats! you know, everything involving with pumpkin/kabucha would be a good eat for me :)
    that pancake looks amazing!
    good luck on your midterms!

  3. Oh, there can definitely be squash overkill, but that’s probably because I’m not obsessed with squash. I like it, but it’s not something I need every day. Besides, don’t you find you enjoy things more when you haven’t had them in a while? What’s the saying “absence makes the heart grow fonder”? :)

  4. That wrap looks awesome. I’ve really got to try the Sabra yummyness.
    By the way, I totally stole your blog title from the other day – Snack Attack! lol! I didn’t even know that until I was browing through my Google Reader!
    Anyways, hope you’re not spending too much time studying… bleh. At least you always have some cheery looking squash to brighten up the day!

  5. Oh, how I love Sabra hummus. Only I have to limit myself. The reason why it is so yummy is because it has twice as much tahini in it as just about every other hummus I have ever seen on the market, hence twice as much fat. Healthy fat, yes. But still, too much of a good thing is still…well, not good for my backside. :)

  6. Sabra rules my life. If I sit down with the container and say, a carrot, once the carrot is gone I WILL just put my finger into the darn container and eat it straight like that. Gross? No, delicious. Clearly, I don’t give a hoot about it’s higher fat content or anything. It’s yummus! Good luck with your exam!! It’s such a crazy time here too, with finals looming. Everyone looks pooped. But again, GOOD LUCK!

  7. A week is a pretty long time not to have squash!! I don’t know if I could go that long without my CC!

    Ahhh I have to get studying too – don’t want to do it!

  8. That oatmeal pancake looks yummy! So does the squash.. makes me crave some. Unfortunately I’ve never cooked it myself but maybe it’s time to figure out how!

    Good luck on the midterm! This is my first university term without them (after 4 years… about time lol) – can’t say I miss them a bit!

Leave a Reply

