Green Smoothies Make Me Green

I middy down, one to go on Thursday. Too bad this next one is a toughie…

 

I opted for a Green Smoothie this morning. I’ve done the spinach thing before  so my greatest fear in this breakfast lay not in the greenery but rather in the body temperature drop that smoothies inevitably cause when it’s still cold outside. I really wanted one though so I figured following it with a steamy hot mug of joe would counteract the chill effects.

017

My smoothie contained:

  • 1/2 a large frozen banana
  • 2/3 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • 1/2 Tbsp ground flax
  • 2 fresh strawberries
  • 1/2 cup baby spinach
  • ice

Magic Bulleted to thick smoothie perfection and “eaten” with a spoon.

020

However… I know smoothies are supposed to make you feel all light and energetic but this just didn’t treat me well. I don’t know if it was the smoothie or the big cup of coffee not paired with something more substantial, but soon after I just felt weak and lightheaded. This has happened to me before when I’ve had breakfasts that lack substance. I’m pretty sure my body functions much better with a more substantial breakfast. So, I did the only logical thing I could think of: I dug into the box of Peanut Butter Puffins. Problem solved. I felt slightly better not long after.
From now on I guess I’ll be pairing smoothies with something else alongside. That or NOT pairing them with coffee.

And unsurprisingly I was near starving less than two hours later. I had a random bowl of stuffed pepper innards with spinach, salsa, sour cream, guac and cottage cheese. Baby carrots for the crunch.

033

Then I wrote a midterm that I don’t feel confident about at all.
My elation with getting it out of the way though outweighed my disappointment in how much I knew while doing the midterm.

I came right home and immediately threw some kabocha squash into the oven, which is now done and I am in the midst of eating as I type. You can see that beauty later on.

I didn’t get around to posting yesterday because I was studying (and should be right now as well but I need a brain rest!) so quick recap:

Monday

I woke up to…

001

Snow? NO. However it didn’t last. Today is all rainy instead. I much prefer the rain, I am so DONE with snow.

Oatmeal!
This bowl was actually pretty lame initially. I was trying to keep it simple and not add anything junky to it. It was just oats, pumpkin, cinnamon, banana and unsweetened almond milk topped with all natural crunch peanut butter. But it was so blaaah. The banana I used wasn’t nearly ripe enough and I didn’t use nearly enough so it didn’t sweeten this up in the least. I ended up throwing in a wee bit of sugar free gingerbread syrup because this was just too dull to eat if I hadn’t. Usually I don’t need to add any extra sweeteners because the banana does a swell job. Not today I guess. It tasted fine once I stirred in the syrup though.

011

013

I used a 1/2 cup of oats and I thought this would do wonders to keep my hunger at bay but I ended up being more hungry than usual earlier than usual on a Monday. I noted this especially because usually I don’t have to have a snack during my break between classes but I ended up having to eat the giant apple I brought. And even with that I was still stomach-gurglingly hungry during my next class. Boo!

For lunch I quickly threw together a salad with leftover stuffed pepper stuffing. I ate more of it than what is on this salad.019

I also had a gigantor strawberry with super cream-like yogurt on top.

031

My lunch was late so my dinner was small. Some chicken noodle soup, sliced zucchini and half a spelt tortilla with chicken, Sabra Roasted Garlic Hummus, spinach and half a slice of havarti cheese.

033

The wrap was ooey gooey melty cheesy perfection. The havarti and hummus combo was amazing. Just look at that oozy goodness.

043 037

During studying I PB Puffined it up along with some pineapple and plain yogurt.

049 

An apple and decaf coffee followed. I sure wanted some caffeine though. However I also wanted to sleep within the next hour or two so I figured I might as well play it safe. I’ve more than made up for it in full caff coffee today though. Yikes.

That wasn’t that quick of a recap… and I need to study! Yikes.

23 thoughts on “Green Smoothies Make Me Green

  1. agree with Krista, I’m so jealous of your gigantic strawberries.
    And trick to make your smoothie hold your hunger for longer: add grains!
    cheesy wrap looks delicious there! :D

  2. Smoothies don’t quite do it for me either. I always need more substance in the morning. I like to chew!

    Lovin that oozy harvati and I laughed when I read Puffined it up. I’d never seen “Puffins” in verb form. :)

    Best of luck with the rest of your mid-terms!!!!

  3. Just the though of following a smoothie like that with a big ol’ cup of coffee makes my stomach churn! No wonder you weren’t feeling so hot. I mean, I don’t like coffee, so that also doesn’t help, but the combo just doesn’t sound like the best.

    • Yeah you’re right, I’m sure the calories played a pretty big factor in there as well. Next time I do a smoothie I’ll make sure to pump it up much more!

  4. Your blog looks so pretty and colorful!

    UMMM HAVARTI cheese?! I thought I was the only one who ate that! It is soo DELICIOUS and I love how it kinda meltsss….my mom bought it in the fall and lovesss it – good stuff!

  5. I can’t do the smoothie thing either. I’m amazed that some people can have that for breakfast and it fills them up! I’m with you on needing more substance for brekkie!

    Our snow turned to rain today in Ottawa… I’ll take it though. Hopefully the snow is melting in SW Ontario too!

  6. Good luck with all your midterms and studying! It IS a killer week for a lot of students right now- caffeine ’round the clock is best. I have the same issue with smoothies! I also don’t find them as satisfying as chewing something, so if I make one I pair it with an english muffi or frozen waffle; or I just don’t make a smoothie at all, haha.

  7. You might have just needed something a lil more sustainable-I almost always need to physically chew something to feel like I’m really fueling myself. Good luck on studying girlfriend-hang in there!

Leave a Reply

