Oven Lovin’

Before anything else, Thank You to all of you for all of the kind, encouraging and positive comments. Every single one made me smile and made me feel better. I seriously can’t even begin to appreciate enough the fact that you all read through my ranting and gloominess and offer advice, relatedness, positivity and brightness. I haven’t felt nearly as down during this new week.

The sun has been shining for two days straight.
The temperatures have (ever so slightly) risen.
The school stuff, although still stressful, is moving along and feeling a little less overwhelming, at least for the past couple days.

I don’t mind this week. Not at all. Next week I wouldn’t mind skipping out on (two midterms and part one of a research project all next Thursday… eep) but I’ll worry about that when I get to it.

 

Tuesdays are an 11:30 starter so I got to enjoy a nice, leisurely morning. Mornings are one of my favourite times of day so although I probably could sleep in an hour or even two later, I prefer to get up early, relax, read and enjoy my breakfast.

This morning I went with oat bran. Never a disappointer.

  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • water and a splash of unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 overripe banana
  • Liberte Coconut Yogurt
  • blueberries + blackberries

002 037

I still had a bit of a pit in my stomach though, even after a big mug of hot black coffee, so I chowed down on a few bites of cottage cheese straight from the container and that did the trick.

Then after some blog reading I did a treadmill run, alternating between 6 and 7.5 mph for 30 minutes on a 5% incline. After that I did a quick Fitness magazine abs workout, showered and was off to class.

I had to have a snacker before class though so I inhaled half a banana with a tsp of soy nut butter and an apple.

The snacks got my through the first class but by the second I was quite hungry so I happily indulged in my Homemade Peanut Butter Larabar that I brought along with me. Yes, this bar was the original one I made from the original post back in November… I kind of forgot about it in the back of my fridge. Hey, it’s just dates and nuts, it’s not like it goes bad, right? It sure didn’t taste bad. This was the most delicious thing EVER. I think it was so darn good because of the use of Medjool dates in this bar. I’m making more asap. I just need to stock up on some more nuts! 

When I got home I was more than ready for an oven-baking adventure. Butternut Squash Time! Chocolate Covered Vegan Style.

056

I’d never tried cinnamon on butternut squash before. WOW. These were incredible. I definitely possibly might have eaten the entire squash over the course of the last several hours…

And Baked Tofu Time! Gliding Calm Style.

058 064

I’ve made baked tofu before but never officially tried the famous Gliding Calm rub. I knew it had to be done and today was the day. I used:

The rub itself was amaaaazing. The only downfall is that I did not make enough. Next time I’m doubling up and dousing those tofu babies in it. It was delicious.

So much so that I ate half the block of tofu. Wait, how the heck did THAT happen?

I ALSO had to make some more Homemade Larabars since I loved the one I ate today so much. I made three.

  • Figs, almonds, peanut butter:

040

  • Dates (not medjool – using up the last of some old dried up bums), almonds, raisins:

043

  • Dates, cashews and almonds, soy nut butter:

048

They are all fairly small versions, not quite the size of an actual Larabar. I used nut butters in them because the dates were quite dry so I figured I would need something with a bit more ‘glue’ to it. We’ll see how these end up tasting at a later date!

My squash and tofu baking was pretty much a late lunch, so I kept dinner light.

– A salad and the rest of the squash fries.

070 

071

I also had about 1/4 slice of rye bread with the last bits of some sundried tomato hummus and salsa spread onto it, as well as another 1/4 cup of cottage cheese.

Despite being full, there was (and still is… phew) some rice pudding hiding in my fridge that needed some consumption. My friend recommended it heated with cinnamon.

099

So that’s just what I did.

WHOA. I don’t think I can ever eat cold rice pudding again. Heating this stuff makes a world of difference. And it was already delicious cold!

 

And because I never posted yesterday’s eats, here’s a quick recap:

Optimum Power cereal, heated

004

Leftover butternut squash and spinach soup + balsamic-cooked veggies with cottage cheese

011

022

Small brownie bits from my Sunday night depressed eating crap.

037

Leftover pasta with freshly grated parm and frozen veggies.

This dinner made me feel ill because once again, I overindulged on the pasta (plenty straight from the pot…). I always do that and it always makes me feel sick. Pasta just does not sit well with me in large quantities. I need to remember that because I always end up miserable after eating it. Yick.

046

And now I am very behind on textbook note-taking.

AND my stupid router is not working right so I need to go get a new one asap. I’m a little worried about this because I don’t know how to set up a new one/new wireless network? Ugh. I think it’s fairly straightforward but I’m afraid of screwing it up and being completely Internet-less rather than dealing with temperamental Internet like I’m doing right now. I can’t really afford that to happen since all of my courses run quizzes etc through the Internet… siiiiigh.

Time to get cracking!

23 thoughts on “Oven Lovin’

  1. OMG must put cinnamon on squash fries. It sounds phenomenal!

    And setting up the wireless is easy. I’m pretty horrible with technology but I did it all by myself. Also, if you’re having major issues, there’s always customer service to pull you through =]

  2. Glad you’re feeling better!

    Our mornings were so similar, breakfast, treadmill, class…feels so relaxing yet productive right?

    Those homemade Larabars look good, I bet all of the flavors will meld beautifully after a few days :)

  3. You “larabars” look awesome! I take it you just keep them in the fridge in plastic wrap?

    And that tofu & butternut squash looks most excellent! Must get off my butt one of these days and make me some fries!

  4. You’ve been a busy cook!! Bnut squash/GC tofu/Laras = YUM!

    Actually, roasted veggies and CC = YUM even more!!

    Glad to hear you are having a better week, my dear! Hang in there with the crazy school schedule and the nonworking router (my router could drive me insane sometimes!)!!

  5. So glad you’re in better sprits today! Sounds like you had a lovely morning. It’s so nice when you don’t have to get up at the crack of dawn and rush to be somewhere. I’m such a morning person, and I love when I have a little AM free time to myself!

    Your homemade Larabars look so good. I love anything with dates and nut butters, and butternut squash fries are one of my favorites! You’re right – the salty/sweet/cinnamon combo is incredible.

    Good luck with all your school work and sleep well…I’m sure you will with a belly full of warm rice pudding. :)

  6. yay! so glad you liked it Kristie!! I’ll add this to my tofu page!!!

    Anddddddddd you had butternut squash fries!! you are on a roll with my fav. foods!!!

    HANG IN THERE WITH SCHOOL! You got dis!

  7. that is SO nice u can come home for meals during school! I pack a lil’ brown bag :D I hope your internet gets it togetha soon! I seriously throw a fit and a half if mine acts up…

  8. Oh my!! I’m glad to hear your feeling better and I am so in love with this post because it has some of the most amazing eats ever! First of all, I made Gliding Calm tofu today, too! Then we have your homemade Larabars which look gorgeous in their photos (very photogenic, I must say) and are making me drool right now. Then we have rice pudding, which is one of my favorite desserts and yet I’ve never tried it warm! I will definitely do that next time!

    Last but not least, that brownie picture from yesterday has the most vibrant colors! Beautiful, girly!

  9. What a Fabulous idea to make homemade lara bars. I really admire how much you put into eating healthfully (and economically)! What a great example. :) Thanks for being a great role model.

  10. I’m so glad you felt better! I love how blogger comments really do cheer you up. Baked tofu is something I want to make for my friends and NOT tell them it’s tofu b/c I know they’d love it! haha

  11. Nicole + Sharon – I got the spoons at some little kitchen goodies start in a small town around here. They are actually mustard/condiment spoons!

    Marianne – Yep, the bars sit in the fridge in plastic wrap. I found though, that they get pretty hard in the fridge so I take them out a while before eating them to let them “warm up”. They’re more edible that way :)

    Kate – WHY oh why are people so afraid of tofu before they’ve tried it eh? I used to think the idea of it was disgusting! SO glad I sucked it up and gave it a go. It’s truly awesome stuff!

  12. Pingback: Eat and Study, Study and Eat «

Leave a Reply

