Zucchini Bread or Books? …Zucchini Bread

The rest of what I ate on Tuesday was very boring, bland and unphotogenic. I like my foods to look at least somewhat pretty… discovering this array of photos is pretty disappointing! At least it was all tasty though

Tuesday

Lunch: Half a wrap with hummus and salsa

164

Salad with feta and honey mustard

167

Pumpkin mixed with vanilla protein powder

184 

Kombucha Squash with garlic and chili powder and half a wrap with egg whites, spinach and BBQ sauce

First encounter with kombucha. Not bad, not bad! Although it’s still got nothing on my buttercup, which I now cannot find in stores and am greatly saddened about.

192

More squash, this piece sweetened with light margarine and sugar free maple syrup. How gross is that dirty plate… clearly food appearance just wasn’t my main concern

197

And then some coconut yogurt with frozen fruit.

201

 

Wednesday

was a little more interesting.

Well okay, breakfast wasn’t that interesting. I wasn’t incredibly hungry but had an early morning class so I knew I had to eat something.

Coffee and a fruit plate did the trick…

007

…briefly. But then I got quite hungry just as I was about to head out, so I grabbed a S’mores Luna Bar, ate half, then ate the other half during my second morning class.

012

I never buy Luna bars but I really don’t mind them that much. This was decently tasty and kept my hunger at bay. Maybe not as good as Clif or Larabar, but I’ll probably pick these up a little more often. There are a few other flavours I’m kind of curious about.

My Wednesdays end at 11:30 which is lovely, but I had the rest of the day set out for studying. Not so fun.

Before sitting down, nose in the books, I wanted to do something with the zucchini abundance we have right now. So I went with the obvious…zucchini bread of course!

I followed this recipe for Chocolate Zucchini Bread from VegWeb but I halved it, made a few substitutions and unveganized it (Sorry! Egg whites were more convenient). I also wasn’t in the mood for a chocolate version so I just made a plain:

048

Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 3 egg whites (*note – I forgot to half this part so it should have been 1.5. I don’t think it hurt it much though)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened Original Almond Breeze
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup chopped almonds
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Combine all dry ingredients, mix. Then add oil and applesauce and stir with a fork. Then add egg whites and mix. Then add milk and mix. Then add vanilla, zucchini, chocolate chips and nuts and mix.

Put all into a loaf pan and bake at 350 for about 55 minutes.

015 020  063

It comes out a teeny bit dry so you may want to play around with oil/applesauce amounts but otherwise I personally thought it was quite delicious.

Even my brother approved!
Bro: “What is this, it’s not like healthy or low calorie or something, is it?”
Me: “No, it’s got chocolate chips, of course it’s not healthy.”
Bro: “It’s really good!”
Me: “It’s zucchini bread!”
Bro: “…Crap.”
Why do boys seem to have an aversion to anything moderately healthy?

I munched on a couple teeny slices right before my lunch of a salad with half a can of tuna mixed with fat free sour cream/fat free mayo/dijonnaise. I ate some of it on half an english muffin and the rest on top of the salad.

 038 043

My last couple days have been seriously uneventful as I try to play catch-up with all of my readings.

I munched on some Fiber One Honey Clusters (free sample box from a little while back) with some Almond Breeze pre-dinner because I thought I was going to try to squeeze in a pre-dinner treadmill sesh, but I realized there just wasn’t enough time so I continued on with some homework instead.

 076

For dinner we had tilapia topped with Mrs. Dash and lemon, frozen spicy fries and salad.

077 081

Fish twice in one day. That never happens for me. Strange.
PS my mom threw a lemon onto my plate in the second picture for a pop of colour. I told her to dress up her own plate but I guess it did enhance it a bit.  ;)

Then later last night I went to a friend’s house to help her pack for a weekend trip and we hit up a grocery store, where I bought cottage cheese (!) and rice pudding (!!). I obviously had to break out both as soon as I got home and I forgot just how much I love rice pudding. Omg. It’s delightful. I think I’ll be buying this as a regular treat much more often now.

Now I must go get ready for class!

I’m way behind on blog reading and commenting so I apologize! I’m going to try to catch up asap but unfortunately the school stuff is taking priority right now. This term is slightly killer.

23 thoughts on “Zucchini Bread or Books? …Zucchini Bread

  1. Ooo hummus and salsa in a wrap? That’s a really good idea!

    I’m totaly intrigued by baking with zucchini, I’ve yet to try it, but i’m intrigued nonetheless haha :)

  2. A wrap with hummus AND salsa – girl, you are just getting wild now!

    Cookies ‘n Creme and Toasted Nuts and Cranberry (I think?) Lunas are the only ones I’ll eat. They’re K approved ;)

    Boys will be boys BUT that bread looks delish – you know I’ve never had zucchini bread. I’m thinking that has to change!

    CC and rice pudding?! I have the pud in my refrigerator but haven’t tried it yet :( I know, I’m a failure!! One of these days!

  3. all of your food looks yummy as usual…

    I dont know why boys are like that!!! my boyfriend refuses to try anything…even if he thinks it may be good.. just for the pure fact that its “healthy”

    i have a zuchinni waiting to be used in my fridge… im trying this asap!!!

    ill let ya know how it goes :)

  4. Your zucchini bread looks delish! Grat job!

    I like Clif bars the best, Lara bars come second….I wasn’t too impressed with the Luna bars, but they work in a pinch!

  5. What a gorgeous zucchini bread!! I’m so grateful for bloggers and blogs like yours that put up healthy recipe alternatives. It looks wonderful and it is definitely inspiring me to make some of my own. :) Do you have tips on how to get a boyfriend to stop tempting me into eating more than I should? (like a 3rd helping of ice-cream?)

  6. No worries about the comments. I get so overwhelmed when my Google Reader gets backed up. Sometimes, we just can’t read them all, ya know?

    All your eats look great, but all I can think about right now is rice pudding. That sounds so good.

    Zucchini bread with chocolate chips – YUM! I love that you can see the little green shreds of zucchini…your brother is funny. Boys will be boys1

  7. The zucchini bread looks so good!

    You should try the cookies and cream luna bar, and also the chocolate raspberry. They are my favorites!

  8. Oh my gosh, great job with the zucchini bread! It looks amazing!
    And oh, I really need to get a go at studying. I’m already so behind with my textbook readings! At least you got lots done!

  9. wait, kambocha? do you mean Kabocha???
    I LOVE kabocha! how does buttercup tastes and looks like? i would really love to try other squash too!

  10. beautttiful bread :) it is so prettyyyy! that is my favorite, when i was little i didn’t like cake, so i would always ask my grandma to make me a zucchini bread cake for my birthday

  11. AnAppleADay – I honestly don’t know which one it was! I googled both names and they both came up, but maybe a lot of people are making the same mistake and it’s actually the same thing? Who knows haha. As for buttercup, it kind of looks like the kabocha I think? It’s fairly small, green and kind of flatly round. And it tastes different than any other squash I’ve ever tried, I don’t even know what to compare it to. Even the texture is different. But I LOVE it, it’s so unique. Try keeping your eye out!

  12. wow, never thought of hummus and salsa together!!

    I love luna’s. try pbcookie and nutz over chocolate too. Cookies ‘n cream is yummy as well. but s’mores is the best!!!

  13. haha!So true…blogging a/b food, making food, eating food:P all distracts me from homework! Looks awesome though! Good choice.

  14. Hehe…I feel ya on the boys/healthy eating thing. I recently made zucchini muffins similar to your zucchini bread, and I didn’t tell my husband what they were before he tried them. After admitting they were good I told him what they were and he was floored that zucchini would go in a muffin!
    Your bread looks delicious :)

  15. Zucchini bread looks great, I need to try that out!

    And I think you mean kabocha for your pumpkin (kombucha is a type of black tea!).

Leave a Reply

