More Fun Foods Than I Can Handle

I’m seriously excited about pretty much everything I’ve eaten in the last day. Now nothing is really that thrilling or over the top, but nearly everything I’ve eaten since last night has been a little different than usual. I must have been in a creative mood today and last night.

What am I talking about? Well, let’s start with last night’s dinner.

I had every intention of cooking up some egg whites while the rest of the fam had pork chops (ick…), but while digging through the fridge I stumbled upon some leftover spaghetti squash. Hm. Egg whites… spaghetti squash… leftover pasta sauce… Spaghetti squash cakes!

003011

The top two patties there are the “cakes”, made with spaghetti squash, egg whites, and some random spices I threw in (oregano, garlic powder and chili powder among others I believe). One is topped with Laughing Cow cheese and the other with LC and pasta sauce. Love em.

There are also some “refried mashed potatoes there on my plate. My mom took the leftover mashed potatoes from our dinner the other night, threw in some garlic, onion and butter and fried them in a pan. So incredibly flavourful and delicious. And then there’s the big green pile o’ bagged frozen veggies – peas, green beans and edamame! Mmmm.

I was plenty stuffed after this but dessert was a callin’. Strawberry yogurt with grapes, banana, frozen strawberries, Longan (popped open a can last night – yum!) and some Peanut Butter Granola.
021

Too bad this dessert just wasn’t sugary enough because I was soon after forced to dip into my Christmas chocolate stash for a lovely Toffifee.

Then I did some notes for school (yay) and was in bed by 11:30. I was hoping to get to bed even earlier than that but textbook reading always ends up taking up way more time than I ever anticipate.

Today

For Breakfast I had some Strawberry Mango Vanilla Blended Oats a la CCV of course!
003 005

1/4 cup oats, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, and half cup of frozen mango and frozen strawberries heated in the microwave. All blended up right in the pot with my new hand blender that I received for Christmas! Simplicity as its finest.

Then I finished up a bit more textbook reading before hopping on the treadmill for a good 40 minute run plus about 10 minutes of abs and pushups.

Then it was time for showering and getting ready before class. I thought I might wait until after my two early afternoon classes to eat lunch at home but I was starving about 20 minutes before heading to class so I reheated some green veg from last night topped with chili powder, along with some raw mushrooms with honey mustard. I adore mushrooms with honey or dijon mustard, I eat them literally every day (Unless we run out, then it’s a bit of a crisis)!

019

I also had half a slice of rye with hummus and salsa because I was still starving. This worked.

But not for that long. I was smart though and packed a Key Lime Pie Larabar in my bag for class. My first experience with this flavour. Verdict? …. amazing. I had no idea what to expect with this but seriously, the coconut-y lime-y combo was perfection. If you haven’t tried this flavour yet, do it NOW.

There was no way I was taking a picture in class though so I saved the wrapper and photographed it with my cup of tea once I got home just because I’m that cool.

035

Then my mom came home from work and brought along with her some spectacular banana bread that a woman at work made. Probably the best I have ever tasted. Moist and banana-y and complete with white chocolate chips baked into it. Yeah, RIGHT. Genius. I had a nice two-bite piece.

049

And then another later on of course.

Now while thinking about dinner, I was all prepared to make a BBQ chicken wrap since we had leftover chicken in the fridge. But I didn’t know if that would be a grand idea since my wraps are a little stale. But then I came up with the genius idea of making it in pizza form! And thus…

…the Barbecue Buffalo Chicken Tortilla Pizza dinner was born.

061

I mixed together some BBQ sauce and buffalo sauce and spread it on the tortilla, then added spinach, chopped chicken, diced tomatoes and a bit of shredded parmesan and cooked it at 450 for about 12 minutes.

I was afraid I would miss the standard tomato sauce pizza taste in anticipating a pizza-like dinner but nope. This was grand.

I also paired it with a plate of cucs with vinegar for some extra fresh crunch.
081

Then I finished up some delicious grapes, a small half of an overripe banana and a delicious iced coffee with hot chocolate powder.
094

 

Time to get on with the studying I guess. I’ve managed to put it off for … five hours now?! Oooooops… Don’t you hate when that happens?

23 thoughts on “More Fun Foods Than I Can Handle

  1. Refried mashed potatoes? I have never heard of this, but how can it be bad?!

    I’m all about using the BBQ sauce on pizza instead of tomato, mostly because I don’t like tomato sauce. The banana bread with the white chocolate chips sounds amazing. And I need to get on trying some blended breakfast cereal one of these days.

  2. Your spaghetti squash sounds absolutely amazing. I am going to have to try making those cakes because it is my favorite type of squash, especially when paired with tomato sauce :)
    The banana bread also sounds wonderful. I have never heard of putting white chocolate chips in it before, only chocolate chips, but I bet it was fabulous!
    Good luck with your studying tonight! I am in the same boat – trying to get myself back into “school” mode :)

  3. Wow! Everything looks so, so good. How did you cook the squash cakes? Just curious.

    I am so behind on a website project, and I’m just sitting here watching House. I have NO motivation.. blah…

  4. Love the dinner, sooooooo creative! Glad to see you used the cow! Textbook reading always takes longer than I anticipate, boo to that!

    Veggies + chili powder = holy cow you’re brilliant! Actually I take that back…BBQ + buffalo sauce = NOT you’re brilliant :) Sounds PERFECT!

  5. there is seriosuly nothing i love more than making my own wrap/tortilla pizza. so easy and fast and so yummy!!!

    all of your food looks delish and really different. Ive never thought of making spaghetti squash into a cake.. oh the possibilities :)

  6. I’m pretty excited about your eats, too ;) I love the spaghetti squash cakes! I have to admit I’m not a huge fan of plain spaghetti squash, but I think I could handle them in cake form!

    I’ve never tried longans before! I don’t think I’ve ever seen them, either! I’ll be on the lookout.

    I love the picture of the veggies with the chili powder. It is so vibrant and pretty!

    Oh wow, that banana bread and your pizza totally did it. I thought I was excited…now I’m just overwhelmed and HUNGRY! Haha, it all looks amazing!

    I’ve got to get to bed…and tomorrow I must STUDY for once! Oh man.

  7. I pretty much love this whole post! Especially the pizza! And white chocolate chips in banana bread? What? I love that idea!

    A coworker brought me some Longan from the store the other day and that fruit freaked me out a little! I had never seen or heard of it until then and though I’m usually good about trying new things I could not bring myself to taste it :(

    It’s funny, the Key Lime Larabar was the first ever that I tried and I didn’t like it at all. And I bought a case of Larabars at Costco so I’m stuck with like 3 more of them! haha!

  8. All your eats look so good. You are very creative in the kitchen, and your food turns out so pretty. Love the sp. squash cakes…and that pizza. Yum!

    I almost bought a Key Lime Pie Larabar yesterday but then decided on another flavor. I’ll have get it next time. Honey mustard and raw mushrooms, huh? I’ll have to try that as well.

    Happy Wednesday!

  9. Your pictures look really great!
    I love the tortilla pizza, I’m a pizza-holic. I’m trying to cut down on my pizza consumption and maybe something like this won’t make me feel quilty about eating it.
    Also that pear bowl is so cute!

  10. Rose – I just threw them into a pan on the stove :)

    Sharon – I don’t remember the brand but it was a small sized whole wheat tortilla, just one of the typical kinds you find with the grocery store wraps, nothing schmancy.

    limberkimbers – I know longans LOOK a little freaky but they are good! Although the only kinds I’ve ever tried have been canned in heavy (sugary) syrup so that might have a bit of an effect on their deliciousness. I drain the syrup but they still retain some of the sweetness. I’ll have to give em a try in their natural form someday if I ever stumble upon them as such.

    Rachel – Haha, I’ve just never really been a pork chop fan. Ever. I remember resisting them even when I was young. I’m just not a huge meat fan in general I guess. I still eat it once in a while, but pork is one of the kinds I typically don’t touch.

Leave a Reply

