Homemade Hummus and My Younger Mind

On Friday I literally spent the majority of the day seated at the kitchen table with my laptop, unmoving. All I did was blog read and catch up on the million and a half subscriptions in my email inbox that I’ve been meaning to go through forever. I should really stop subscribing to so many, I always take forever to get around to reading them. Most of them are recipes and health stuff though and I just can’t seem to get enough of em.

I also managed to accomplish something that I’ve been meaning to do for several days now: whip up some homemade hummus. It’s been a while since I’ve made any from scratch and I had a couple good recipes jotted down that I’ve been wanting to try. I found this one recently featured on someone’s blog. It sounded good so I jotted it down on a scrap piece of paper but neglected to note where it came from. Duurrr. So if this sounds familiar to you and you think it came from YOUR blog or you know where it did come from, please let me know! I always forget where exactly I find all the good ideas that I jot down.

Homemade Hummus

  • 2 cups chickpeas (liquid reserved)
  • 1.5 tsp kosher salt
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • 6 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp chickpea liquid
  • 8 dashes Tabasco sauce

Throw it all into a food processor and away you go.

I used “fake” lemon juice because I didn’t have any lemons and used less lemon juice overall because I don’t like too strong of a lemon flavour, and used probably 4 tbsp of the chickpea liquid for a creamier consistency.

After it was done I took out half of the hummus and put it into the container, and then with the remaining half I threw in some oil-packed sun dried tomatoes.

047043

Overall they’re both very tasty. The original is slightly saltier than I would like so next time I would add less of the kosher salt, if any at all. I would probably up the lemon juice a bit as well, or try adding the real stuff. The sun dried version tastes less salty and is a bit more flavourful, which I like. I think it’s a recipe worth keeping though.

What else did I do instead of doing anything actually productive?

  • Made Squash
    012

Pepper and spaghetti squash. First encounter with pepper squash. Tasty but it’s still got nothing on my beloved buttercup squash.

I ate half of the pepper squash stuffed with leftover Amy’s chili, wilted spinach and sour cream.
021

  • Ate bananas with strained yogurt.
    030

I just love strained yogurt. It’s my greek alternative since we don’t seem to carry that anywhere around here and it’s amazing. I’m so glad I braved an attempt at this!

  • Read old “personal journals” from 7th grade that our teacher made us write in to force us to write more.
    028

I wrote about some really lame things when trying to meet the page requirements. Some of the highlights included rambling about green apples and the Austin Powers movies. The mind of a 12(?) year old.

  • Boredom eating – nuts, a date and coffee
    036

 

  • Dinner – English muffin with homemade hummus, spinach and tomato
    056

 

  • Then a sweet overload – vanilla yogurt with frozen mango chunks, dried pineapple and about 1/3 of an old homemade Larabar
    058 

+ the rest of the yogurt-covered rice crisps
060

+ half of this cookie…
066

+ whatever chocolate I could find left from holidays because that’s all I really wanted. Blech.

Then I finally had enough energy to get a workout in, which I had been putting off all day, so I did about 45 minutes of running/incline intervals on the treadmill.

Because this post is already crazy long, I’ll just give a quick rundown of

yesterday’s eats:

Breakfast: leftover baked oatmeal topped with vanilla yogurt mixed with soy nut butter + half an orange.
003 013 016

I was pretty excited to eat this and although delicious, it was a tad dry which I guess is one of the disadvantages of leftover baked oatmeal. I still enjoyed every bite though.  :)

Lunch was at work, nothing exciting.

Dinner: squash topped with homemade chili, a piece of rye with chicken and pasta sauce, and some raw veggies. Random, I know. As are most of my meals.
024 

It is now Sunday. I was up far too late last night and woke up far too early this morning so I’m feeling a little out of it. It was “Frost Week” this week, first week back to school of the winter term, so was a big weekend to go out apparently. I was out dancing last night and the club was packed for once so it was a lot of fun. And even better was the fact that I had no expectations for the night at all and was actually not even really feeling like going out, but I promised my friend I would go and I hate when people flake out and bail (as people do all the time) so I stick to my word as much as I possibly can. Anyway, I love when I’m anticipating a lame night and it ends up being one of the most fun nights. It’s always fun when it’s packed because it’s easy to get plenty of dancing in.

Unfortunately I still woke up before 9 this morning. Ugh. The sun is too darn bright. Although it’s beautiful out and the sun hasn’t shone much this winter so I can’t complain. I’ll just have to try to get to bed early tonight I guess!

Happy Sunday!

18 thoughts on “Homemade Hummus and My Younger Mind

  1. Homemade hummus can be so fun! I love your sundried tomatoes addition!

    haha I LOVE reading my old journals and things, like seriously, being a pre-teen was so awkward!

    And that’s so true about the most unanticipated nights being the most fun…guess it goes to show you can never “plan” a good time, it’s just gotta happen!

    Have a great Sunday :)

  2. I love your old journals. Hey, green apples rock, and will forever rock. So, let’s just keep it at that! -lol- Love it!
    And delicious, delicious, delicious eats! The baked oatmeal looks oh-so scrumptious!

  3. your pics are so colorful! haha I think all foodies have random meals! How else will you get all the food groups AND have what you really want:P

  4. Tabasco sauce in the hummus – NICE addition girl! I love all of your homemade stuff (the larabar, greek yogurt). I should try doing that I’m sure it’s cheaper than buying all of it over and over.

    I, for one, LOVE your random meals ;) Nice bites of everything good! Glad to hear you had a blasty last night!!

    I thought of you today when I got home from the store because I opened up just about everything and had a bite of all my new purchases haha!

  5. Did you get a new header? It’s very nice! Good job!

    Hummus is so easy to make – I really should do it more often, but I just never end up eating the whole batch in time.

    And I’ve never heard of this pepper squash before. Must look into that.

  6. omg i love squash esp kabocha! i eat them daily~ and well i buy them at kmart and since i go there only like once every other week or three weeks, i buy like A LOT of them. and well the cashiers always look at me very strange. LOL
    but they are so YUMMY! addicting~;]

    btw i’m a NEW blogger and i hope we could become great friends!!!

  7. Wow, your homemade hummus looks incredible! Good work! I really need to make some of that ASAP.

    I love your journals and how they say “Private!” “Keep out!” I had a few of those in my time. It’s absolutely hilarious to read through them now.

    I love dried pineapple! And your orange looks really really juicy in that picture. Yum.

    I’m glad that you had such a fun night! It’s definitely too easy for people to bail sometimes, but it’s nice that there are people like you to count on! After reading about all your fun nights, I totally wish I lived by you!

  8. I just discovered this weekend that I like hummus so I’m also gonna jot down this recipe and make some at home!

    I actually bought a Buttercup Squash for the first time last week but it started going bad befor I had a chance to cook it :( Next time I encounter one I will cook it right away so I can finally taste it!

  9. RE: Pepper squash? – I honestly don’t know how to describe the taste or what to compare it to. It has a pretty typical “squash” taste though, I’d say probably most similar to an acorn squash. They kinda look like an acorn squash too, only smaller.
    I think I’m now going to be on a mission to try every kind of squash I ever see in the grocery stores. Because seriously, has anyone ever come across a squash that’s NOT at least somewhat delicious?

  10. Homemade hummus is so easy and delicious, right? I am the same way with my emails! I get all these healthy emails and I never read them. So sad.

    I love the topping for your baked oatmeal! You took it to another level of yumminess. It’s like a dessert. :D

Leave a Reply

