Only One More Sleep

Well here it is, Christmas Eve. First and foremost…

Merry (almost) Christmas!

(and Happy Holidays to those who might not celebrate)

This morning I was awakened bright and early by my mother, demanding aid in shovelling the piles and piles of heavy snow that covered our driveway. Actually, she didn’t demand at all but rather enquired about it since I enjoy shovelling. I was quite enjoying sleeping, but no better way to start off the morning than with a good, sweat-inducing shovelling workout. And boy was it a workout. It took us an hour on TOP of the hour my mom spent before she even bothered to wake me, and we don’t have have that big of a driveway. There was a lot of snow. SO I substituted the shovelling for my workout of the day. I figured it was pretty well equivalent with all the crazy lifting I did.

The rest of the day was spent shopping for last minute groceries, cleaning out our entire spare bedroom, cooking and eating.

Actually the past several days straight seem to have been full of lots of eating. Especially yesterday when I did more baking. I made three more things but because they are part of a gift, I’m going to save them for a post-Christmas post ;)
Needless to say, because of all the baking munching I did (which is why I try not to bake all that often), I didn’t eat much in terms of meals throughout the day yesterday. I tried to snack on fruits and veggies, and also had some…

Leftover sushi
009 

Tuna on rye
016 

Stir Fry with Rice, Chicken and Veggies
051 

Today after finishing up shovelling I was ready for a cold breakfast (yeah, I was sweeeeaty) so I made my favourite Weetabix with pumpkin, vanilla yogurt, cinnamon, unsweetened almond milk and frozen banana slices. 003

Shortly after I was cooled down and ready for some coffee. With a couple bites of baked goods of course.
005

Throughout the day I munched on veggies, rye bread and some acorn squash (with salsa) that I had been meaning to bake up for days now.
011

For our Christmas eve dinner for the past couple years my mom, brother and I have started up a tradition of putting together a bunch of appetizers and eating them up while watching a movie.

042

The spread included amazing Spinach and Artichoke dip. Seriously so SO good. If you like spinach dip (and who doesn’t?) MAKE this.
046 
Between the three of us we put a good solid dent in this.

Baked pita chips with brie cheese
048

Shrimp with cocktail sauce
049 

Raw veggies
050

Plus BBQ chips and Rice Crackers for dipping, as well as Breaded Shrimp and Bacon-wrapped Scallops.

I started off with one plate of stuff…
054 

…But just ended up munching on ridiculous amounts of everything. I only had one breaded shrimp and two scallops with the bacon removed, but plenty of everything else. I ended up having more than I wanted to and definitely more than I needed to satisfy my hunger, but it’s hard when it’s sitting right in front of you and when it all tastes so good…

Then I ate some bites of the baked goods lying around here.. yeah okay so NEXT WEEK can be healthy ;)

Anyway, hope you’re all having fun and fam-filled Christmas eves and holidays in general and “see” you all after Christmas!

12 thoughts on “Only One More Sleep

  1. Shoveling is such a GREAT workout. It’s definitely one of the things I miss most about winters in Minnesota (where I used to live).

    We have an appetizer tradition on Christmas Eve, too! The real “feast” comes tomorrow night ;) But don’t worry, I’ve been keeping busy with plenty of sugary treats in the meantime, haha.

    Have a very MERRY CHRISTMAS, Kristie!!

Leave a Reply

