Gift Fears and Ginger Overload

Yesterday I did a quick workout and then scarfed down a quick bowl of veggies (carrots, mushrooms, red pepper, cabbage slaw) before going shopping.
020

Sadly this resulted in me spending my afternoon well.. spending rather than studying. I DID manage to buy some sweet things on sale though. Actually I think everything I bought was on sale except one pair of earrings. I don’t have pics but I got four shirts, a little clutch, a necklace and earrings, and everything was super cheap.

I should be spending my money (and time) on Christmas shopping instead… but that is such a hard and daunting task for me. I’m terrible at picking out gifts for people. Absolutely terrible. I’m literally almost afraid of getting gifts. I guess it’s the fear of not picking out the right thing or picking something that someone won’t like/want etc? I don’t really know but I feel anxious giving people gifts most of the time. Am I completely crazy? Anyone else have this odd gift-giving/picking fear of sorts? Or do you guys love picking out stuff for others? How th e heck do you do it?! Haha.

For dinner I made a Gliding Calm inspired Mexi-meal.

031

  • I stir-fried some zucchini, mushroom and tomato in balsamic vinegar.
  • Then I threw in 1/2 cup black beans with chili sauce, garlic powder, and chili powder
  • Microwaved some spinach and threw the heated bean mixture on top
  • Topped all of that with peach mango salsa, regular salsa, spicy guacamole, sweet potato slices, light mozzarella and feta.

What a meal. I love all the variety and spiciness. I wish I had some sour cream but other than that it was easy and deelish.

As filling as this mould have been though, I still had some hunger not too long after. This neverending appetite thing is really getting annoying… I had a couple bites of an old muffin in the freezer and made an iced coffee.
038

Then I went shopping again, this time with my mom to return a couple things from a while ago, including a necklace I bought that broke as soon as I put it on. Cheap piece of crap. It wasn’t even that cheap either. Oh well, I got my money back!

Towards the end I started to feel pretty hungry… ugh.
I got home and snacked on some cottage cheese and toast with cheddar. During this snacking I realized I actually wasn’t that hungry after all but I was apparently craving cheese so I kept eating. I don’t eat real cheddar often so this was darn good. I always forget how much I love toast with cheese. Best snack.

Then I did some school reading and went to bed.

Then I woke up and just finished consuming the biggest bowl of cereal/fruit/yogurt ever. Now I’m not feeling so great. I guess I got a little carried away….
004
And mixed.
007
The bowl included: 2 clementines, a handful of frozen strawberries, half a frozen banana, a handful of puffed rice, half a Weetabix biscuit, half a serving of Fiber One, half a serving of Oatmeal Crisp, strawberry and vanilla yogurt, and a splash of almond milk. Phew. No wonder I feel like my stomach is going to explode. I really wanted a good serious bowl of cereal though. Pretty sure this did the trick.

Last night while shopping I also picked up this sugar free syrup.021
They had 4 different seasonal flavours,also including candy cane, eggnog and cinnamon, all sugar free. I was pretty excited about these as fun add-ins for coffee and such. I was weary about buying the gingerbread because I’m not the biggest fan of ginger and I almost left it but decided to go for it anyway.

I tried it in my coffee this morning and the verdict?
Eh. I guess I should have gone with my instinct. Too gingery for me. Blech. Oh well, maybe if I just add a touch it will work out without overpowering my taste buds. I’ll probably try mixing it into things like yogurt or oatmeal pancakes or something too to give them a fun gingery touch. I think I’d be able to tolerate it more that way. I wish I liked it more though!

Alright, off to do some studying and try to settle this very cereal-filled stomach before I even attempt to do any exercising today…

25 thoughts on “Gift Fears and Ginger Overload

  1. I’ve got the same fear of gift giving! As soon as I buy someone a gift, I have this extreme urge to tell the person what I got them, just to check if they’d like it. I can’t keep secrets :D

  2. Your Mexican inspired dinner looks FANTASTIC! Yummm, need to try that.

    I love buying gifts but my problem is that I spend wayyy too much time picking them out, because I want to get something the person will love, and usually end up spending more than I planned…But the look on their face when they open is worth it!

    What you can do is ask around about what that person has mentioned to others they wanted, or you can also keep receipts and when they receive the gift, tell them that if they really don’t like it, they can exchange it for something else!

  3. I think initially I have fun with the whole gift giving thing, but when things don’t turn out the way I’d like them to (i.e. I can’t find EXACTLY what I’d planned for someone), it gets overwhelming. Oh well, it’s the thought right?

  4. shopping is so fun and productive (you’ve go so many things for you!)
    I don’t like picking up gifts for others, specially when I have to buy just because I have to give a gift. (you know what I mean, right?) But I do like choosing gifts for my loved ones.. because I know them better and because I can imagining them smiling when the got it.

    Amazing bowl of cereals!!! (i love that bowl, where did you get it?)

  5. Where did you end up finding that adorable syrup? I am a sucker for things in pretty packages! Haha!

    And I know what you mean about shopping for others. I find that hard sometimes too. It isn’t too hard when I know the person super well – like my family. I know exactly what to get them. But as for my relatives that I am not too close to, it is hard to think of something. Hope everything turns out for you in terms of shopping!

  6. Gingerbread syrup?? Oh man, there’s no such thing as “too gingery” for me. I seriously eat the stuff all the time… candied, in chew form, raw (yes, raw). I love it!!

    I am totally the same way abotu gift buying… I’m always terrified I’m going to get the wrong thing, people won’t like it, etc, etc.

  7. I can’t handle too much ginger either…question: Do u use a magic bullet for your iced coffee? Or do u own one? I’ve seen them at a few places around here on sale, and I want one for x-mas!

  8. People interested in the syrup: I got it at Winners, I’m not sure if that exists in the States? It’s basically a department store of sorts but with reduced price stuff… don’t really know how to describe it but I love the place.
    If you’re looking for holiday syrups though, maybe try a place like Starbucks or another coffee place. A lot of them sell syrups and I’m sure some have more holiday inspired flavours!

    carolinebee – Yep I have a Magic Bullet. I use it practically on a daily basis and yep I use it for my iced coffee. It’s awesome, I love it. I actualy got mine at Christmas time last year. Totally worth it. You should definitely get one! Or put it on your Christmas list ;)

  9. HI Kristie!!

    Hah…nice to see you eating my BELOVED MUSHROOMS!!! =DDDD If you are a MUSHROOM LOVER like me TRY MAKING the YUMMY SPREAD that I suggested/made in todays post on my blog hah =))) I bet you’ll like it..=DD

    Well,well…..buying gifts…actually I kinda like doing this but ..it CAN BE REALLY HARD haha =D Difficult to fit all those people with the right gifts!! =)) Well,maybe try to buy sth neutral…or…just ask a bit before buying anything =)) It always makes it easier if you know what they need =DD

    I hope you’re ok with your exams =)) Hang in there!!

    Hope to see you sometime on my blog…Kristie, missin’ you hah =D

    HUGS!!

  10. I always get stressed out shopping for others – I want to make sure they’re going to like something, but it’s so hard these days because it seems as we get older, there are less specific things to get. It’s become a gift card world out there!

    Love that Mexi-meal! I need to try it!

    That syrup looks so cute and Christmasy – too bad it didn’t taste quite right. I’m not a big fan of ginger, either. Only in cookies :)

  11. Pingback: Sales Addictions and Long Slumbers «
  12. Pingback: Singing the Winter Blues «

Leave a Reply

