Studying Reprieve and Bar Blending

As I sit here, having just arrived home from my social psych midterm, drinking a steaming mug of peppermint green tea while munching on mushrooms and cottage cheese…
014
…I am reflecting on how grateful I am that we received a one week extension on the essay that was supposed to be due tomorrow that I’ve hardly yet started. So although I already have another essay as well as two assignments due next week, I am very glad to have extra time to work on this first essay as well. Especially since I have another midterm on Thursday so to write an entire essay and study for a midterm in these next two days wasn’t sounding all that appealing. What does sound appealing is next week being over. That’s what I’m really looking forward to. Except for the fact that exams start up a week after that. Joy joy.

Pre-midterm breakfast was oats mixed with a container of peach yogurt and frozen banana slices. There was way too much peachy-ness going on there though and I wasn’t digging it so I stirred in some pumpkin and cinnamon, which helped tame it down a bit. I was pretty un-enthused with this bowl though, and my hunger disappeared, so I only ended up eating half of it. I also munched on a handful of Barbara’s Shredded Oats. They make everything better. And of course the coffee, can never forget the coffee.
007

Now to backtrack a couple days.
On SUNDAY I mostly studied and hung around. It wasn’t exciting.

I posted my breakfast on the last post. Lunch wasn’t really existent, as it consisted more of constant snacking between the hours of lunch and dinner.
One part of the snacking though was half a Pecan Pie Larabar, my first time trying this flavour. It was decently good. Not my top choice though.
014

An even more exciting snacking adventure though was my attempt at
Homemade Larabars
I was inspired here and here, as well as through more random Google search results. The actual initial technique I followed involved 2 Tbsp dates and 2 Tbsp nuts, but I don’t remember specifically where I found that portioning idea. I mixed them up in my Magic Bullet.
I made three, with these combos:
Peanut Butter: 2 Medjool dates + 2 Tbsp peanuts
Papaya: 2 regular dates (the smaller ones), 1 Tbsp dried papaya, 1 Tbsp peanuts, 1 Tbsp almonds
Strawberry: 2 regular dates, 1 Tbsp dried strawberries, 1 Tbsp peanuts, 1 Tbsp almonds.

These are basically all approximations, I only measured out the first one. I know, weird combos right? I have some weird but awesome dried fruit kicking around. And coming up with all kind of different homemade bar combos is way too much fun. Try it. Seriously.
To be honest though, I haven’t eaten any of the bars yet. They are sitting wrapped in my fridge. I have no idea how they will taste. Hopefully something didn’t go horribly wrong in the creation process to make them taste awful. I highly doubt it. I’ll take pictures when I actually eat them I guess.

Dinner was just leftover chicken cacciatore and some roasted vegetables (sweet potato, red pepper, carrots). Except it was amazing because a), I love roasted vegetables (who doesn’t?!) and b) I put Buffalo Sauce on the leftover pasta. Most amazing thing EVER. I ate til stuffed because I just couldn’t get enough. I’ll probably mix buffalo sauce with all tomato-based pasta dishes from now on.
032

Then Yesterday which was MONDAY, it was snowy.
001

I ate some leftover oatmeal that I didn’t finish the other day for breakfast, to which I added some Peanut Butter Granola, vanilla yogurt, almond milk and banana slices.
008

For a post-class snack I finished off the rest of the roasted veggies. No burnt sweet potatoes today!
015

Lunch was leftover cream of mushroom soup to which I had to add some potato leek soup too since there just wasn’t much mushroom there. I threw in some cabbage slaw, and butternut squash, some quick-made guacamole and FF sour cream. In making this soup I managed to finish up a whole lot of last bits of food in the fridge, which explains the randomness that went into it…027

And I followed it with some microwaved Egg Beaters with goat cheese and salsa.
032

For Dinner I had a stir-fry made with:
– Broccoli, Mushrooms, Carnival Squash, Spinach, Seasoned Rice Vinegar, Hoisin Sauce and Silken Tofu.
044

Dessert was pumpkin mixed with vanilla yogurt, Corn Bran and Shredded Oats, and a few PB chips.
055.jpg
All this did though was induce a greater sweet craving, so I ended up eating a bunch of Misty Mints and a couple chocolate covered almonds.

Then I did a whole bunch of midterm cramming.
Now I am taking a break from work to write this.
Then I think I will do the treadmill since I’ve hardly exercised for a few days now. And I’m pretty sure that it’s because of the exercise lack that I’ve been more tired than ever. No good! But I just haven’t felt up to it at all. I think I’m ready to tackle it again though now that the stress of one midterm is lifted.

Happy SUNNY Tuesday!

22 thoughts on “Studying Reprieve and Bar Blending

  1. Good luck on your midterm, I have one tonight too and I am not looking forward to it!

    Your soup mixture looks really good! I wouldn’t have realized that it was cream of mushroom just by looking at it.

  2. HEY HEYooo Christie!!!

    I’m back !! Finally =))

    OHHH MUSHROOOOMS!!!!!!!!! Gimme’ some =P !!

    You food looks really nice and yummy!!

    Don’t stress too much bout your midterm!! It’ll be GOOD, I know it,Girl!! =D

    Hang in there,I’m all with you there!! =D

    If you have time pls visit me on my new post =D

    Hugs for you!!

  3. wow you sound like you have your hands full! THat’s a lot to take on at this time. I hope you get to relax soon!

    As always I am still amazed at how healthy you manage to eat while going to school, Kristie. Good luck on your essay and exams.

  4. i didn’t enjoy the pecan larabar too much either.
    i never even though to try and make my own type of bars – probably would save me a ton of money!

    good eats!

  5. De-lurking to say that I love your blog and have been reading it for a while, but I’ve always been too big of a whimp to comment!

    I can’t wait to hear how your homemade Larabar adventure turns out, I’ve been wanting to do the same thing for a while, it saves so much money!!!

  6. I want it to snow in California!! So beautiful! :) Anyway, I’m also in awe of your roasted vegetables. Your picture reminds me that I should make them more often!

  7. Wow, that’s a lot of midterms and papers to cram into one week! An extension is well-deserved!!

    SO cool that you attempted homemade Larabars. I can’t wait to hear what you think of them! If you like ’em, I might have to give it a go.

    It was snowy where I was on Monday, too!

    Hurray for no burnt sweet potatoes – although the picture was pretty sweet at the time. Oops…I just made a pun and I didn’t try to. Oy!

    Have a great hump day! :)

  8. Glad you got an extension – I was so relieved when I was able to get one for my art assignments, because I procrastinated like MAD..

    And great job on the yummy sweet potatoes! Hahah!

  9. i friggin love sweet potatoes. Hells yeah. I also believe that your pictures are wonderfully gorgeous. Your oats LOOK really good..sorry they did not taste that way!!

  10. Pingback: It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year « Lighter Portions
  11. Pingback: Oven Lovin’ «

Leave a Reply

