A Whole Lotta Random Foods

Not only have I been having food boredom recently but food in general just hasn’t been seeming overly appealing, which is weird for me because I love food… I’m wondering if maybe I’ve caught a bit of a bug. Seems to be a lot of that going around recently so maybe that would describe my slight lessening of appetite… I’ve still eaten normal meals and such anyway though, and they’ve all tasted just dandy so who knows.

One other thing I forgot to mention earlier in the week is that I chopped my hair off. Well sort of. It used to be nearly half way down my back and now it’s just past my shoulders. I’m still getting used to it but it needed to be done. My hair was so dead and frizzy and flat and gross. It sure feels a heck of a lot healthier now, which is nice. I do kind of miss having long hair… but my hair grows fast so I’m sure it’ll have grown in a bit in no time at all and this time around I’m going to actually try to keep it somewhat healthier instead of letting it turn to straw.

Let’s go over the weekend’s eats thus far, starting with

Friday

I did a lot of mini meal snacking on Friday rather than having bigger meals. I was eating fairly constantly throughout the day. I’m not sure why but it worked out alright.

For breakfast I had half a whole wheat english muffin, toasted and spread with the last of my cinnamon raisin peanut butter and some apple butter.
019
And an apple, sliced.
024

Lunch was a little more than 1/2 a can of tuna mixed with FF mayo and dijonnaise, on top of spinach and a cut up red pepper with sun dried tomato dressing.
037

Snack – Strained plain yogurt with a chopped date
052

Snack 2 – Butternut squash mixed with salsa
054

For Dinner I had a veggie burger with dijonnaise. After a few bites I ended up chopping it up and mixing it into a bowl of cabbage slaw.
059

My mom and brother were having one of those greasy, cheesy store-bought pizzas for dinner. I love pizza. I love the sauciness of this pizza. So I also have to have a sliver or two. I think I went with two this time around.
062
Seriously just slivers though. I think I’d actually feel sick if I ate a whole slice, far too much greasiness going on here.

My Dessert was multiple parts:
1/2 a Weetabix biscuit and some Puffins with frozen mango, almond milk, vanilla yogurt and unsweetened coconut
075 

I wanted more sweet than that though so I then went into my Christmas candy stash and had an eggnog almond, a misty mint thing and some candy corn. I grabbed two of each(one of the sprinkly mints is hidden underneath the other), giving one of each to my mom.
091
I ate these with some light hot chocolate that I also put a blueberry green tea bag into. It gave it a nice blueberry chocolate flavour. Next time though I think I’ll go with another kind of tea to mix with my hot chocolate instead. Maybe mango!

I stayed in Friday night to watch a movie that I have to write an essay on for this week. I wasn’t feeling like going out at all anyway so it was a nice, relaxing night. I snacked on a bit of popcorn too.

Saturday

I started the day off with some oatmeal, but today I used one of those Quaker Weight Control instant oatmeal packets since I’ve had them in the cupboard forever. I threw in half a banana and topped it with vanilla yogurt, along with some coffee. I only ate about half of it though, I was stuffed after that. I wasn’t that hungry to begin with though.
006

Then I went to work. I got hungry late morning so I ate 3/4 of this bar:
009
021 
It was the store’s brand. I had never tried this specific bar before but I’ve tried one nearly identical to it. I like the taste (chocolate mint… mmm) and density of it, but this just didn’t sit that well with me. It curbed my hunger (14g protein), but I was feeling a little off after eating it, hence giving the last 1/4 to my brother. I wonder if it was due to the fact that the first ingredient was glucose-fructose (Canada’s label equivalent to HFCS or so I’ve read). Lovely. Probably won’t buy this again.

For lunch I had a salad with avocado and chick peas along with an apple.

When I got home from work I was starving and dinner wasn’t quite ready so I had some cottage cheese, baby carrots and mushrooms.

For Dinner we had chicken cacciatore. I had mine on top of some wilted spinach. I think I ate three times as much pasta as is shown on my plate though, as well as another 1/2 piece of cheesy garlic bread.
020
I was stuffed after this. But what can I say, I just love me some pasta, I really do. It’s one of those things that I just can’t stop picking it.

Then I went out for my friend’s birthday. I wasn’t really feeling like going out (maybe because it was snowing like crazy outside… yuck) but it was her birthday so I sucked it up. We had some real hot chocolate (made with actual chocolate.. yum) mixed with Baileys before going out. Seems like a good way to begin a snowy bar night. Then we went to the bar. It was pretty empty when we got there. It got fairly full. We went out for food after. I had an english muffin with jam and some of my friend’s home fries. Then night was over. It was decent, nothing that exciting.

And

Today

So far I’ve just had a bowl of oatmeal.
1/4 cup oats, 1/3 cup pumpkin, 1/2 banana, cinnamon, SF maple syrup, topped with a mix of about 1T pumpkin seed butter, vanilla yogurt and more syrup.
027
This was really filling. I ended up tossing the last few bites.

Now I’m hungry again though. Time for a snack. Then homework and food shopping. Yay.

Hope you’re all enjoying your weekend!