No Good Oats

I didn’t get around to posting yesterday because I ended up going out with a friend for some Phil’s hip hop fun after doing some textbook reading and there just wasn’t a chance in between. So here’s a quick recap of some of yesterday’s stuff.

Wednesday

I was going to try eating bigger meals in order to snack less, but it only half worked. I just can’t do that very successfully when there are little bits of leftovers in the fridge requiring eating. I think most of them are finally gone now.

Breakfast was a bit different from the norms. After seeing this post by Hangry Pants about her tomato and hummus sandwich while doing some blog reading before breakfast, I was suddenly craving something with hummus. So I spread 2 T jalapeno hummus in a small whole wheat tortilla, microwaved an egg white and threw in a bit of salsa and tomato.
008

Along with it I had coffee (with cinnamon! I love putting cinnamon in my coffee now) and an apple. And of course some apple bar crumbs. Way more than that tiny one in the picture, I swear. It was a feast.
012 014

Went to my morning class and came home hungry. That breakfast should have more than filled me up. I think my body is already starting to get into the routine of having a midmorning snack, something I didn’t really do before school started.
I had some grapes.
021

And some leftover gnocchi. Then I tossed the rest because it was pretty dried out now.
023

I did a half hour of high intensity sprint intervals on the treadmill and then another 10 minutes of strength stuff from a Fitness article, then had some lunch.

A big salad with balsamic vinaigrette and black beans topped with FF sour cream and salsa, with some leftover roasted potatoes and hummus on the side.
029 028

Then yogurt with frozen berries and Vanilla Shreddies on top.
041

Then more class. Then home. Then more food. I don’t think there was much else to my day yesterday. School really doesn’t leave much room for day to day excitement.

Dinner was a frozen chicken and vegetable President’s Choice meal that had been sitting in the freezer for.EV.er. It randomly popped into my head and I knew that was what I wanted. I haven’t had any chicken in a while. I guess I was craving it.

I also sauteed a bit of spinach and stirred it in for some extra veg, then topped it all with goat cheese. This was pretty delicious.
046

I’m pretty sure I ate a few other small things in and around this but I don’t remember what they were.
And then I went on another apple bar feast. The remainders are now tucked away in the freezer.

Today

Today was my longest day of classes of the week. Usually I have pretty big breaks in between classes but Thursdays are:
Class 10:00 – 11:20
Break 11:20 – 12:30
Class 12:30 – 2:20
Class 2:30 – 3:20

Before school I opted for an oatmeal breakfast. Too bad this bowl was pretty disappointing. I was excited for it too. I don’t know what exactly went wrong but it was too liquidy and not sweet at all. I don’t usually put salt in my stovetop oats water though before cooking, but I remembered that I had read of several people doing that so I decided to give it a try. Maybe that’s why they were so liquidy? I don’t know, but I don’t think I’ll be adding salt again. Do any of you add salt to the water you cook the oats in? What difference do you find it makes to your oats?
I don’t think my banana was ripe enough either so it didn’t contribute much sweetness like they usually do.
Anyway, in this bowl was 1/3 cup of oats cooked in water, 1/2 a small banana, pineapple chunks, grapes and cinnamon, topped with flax seed, more pineapple and a mix of pumpkin seed butter and vanilla yogurt. I was even disappointed with the pumpkin seed butter. Usually I like this stuff but I find it a lot nutter or less sweet or something compared to most nut butters, so in this already dull bowl of oats it just didn’t offer any improvements. I drizzled some SF maple syrup on at the end, which helped a bit, but this was still a somewhat sad breakfast.
002

Because of my class schedule I don’t really have the opportunity to eat a real lunch on Thursdays. On the one hour break I had I snacked on an apple and half of a Carrot Cake Cliff bar while catching up with some readings.

This held me through the two hour class, but I was pretty darn hungry again when I got to the next class. So I whipped out a French Vanilla Crisp Pria PowerBar. These are OKAY but I don’t really think I’d buy them regularly. It held me through the class though so I’m not complaining.
016
It’s also 170 calories, 11g protein, 4g fibre and 6g fat per a pretty good sized 45g bar, and has 24 vitamins and minerals! according to the package. So the nutritionals aren’t too bad either.

I typically don’t eat bars that regularly (I prefer my snacks to be less packaged I guess), so two bars (or rather one and a half because the Cliff was only half) is quite the splurge for me. But my options were pretty limited today. I might try to plan my eating schedule better for next week’s long Thursday. Or just find some cheaper but still filling bars haha.

Since I had zero vegetables all day, I made a nice big veggie stir fry for dinner.
019
It had red pepper, spinach, cabbage slaw, and tomato in hot sauce and Caribbean stir fry sauce, topped with feta. This was good and spicy. I also snacked on some rye bread and raw mushrooms and carrots while making this. AND had some pasta salad from my family’s dinner.

I also had some pineapple immediately after dinner but I know I want something else now. Not sure what it’ll be yet. Maybe a small fruit smoothie or something.

Anyway, off to do some textbook reading and then maybe out tonight. We shall see. Have a good night everyone!

9 thoughts on “No Good Oats

  1. Sorry about the disappointing oatmeal! I messed up two bowls this morning and ended up having to eat a PBBJ breakfast sandwich… but that’s neither here nor there, haha. Anyway, yes I do add salt while the oats are cooking but only a quick dash. I don’t think it made the difference in how liquidy yours turned out because mine always turn out really creamy. And finally, I’m not sure if the taste changes because I’ve never tried it without. Gosh I wasn’t much help, huh? ;) Have a great night!

  2. I’m SO sorry about your oatmeal! It reminds me of our “conversation” about how depressing it is when meals don’t turn out very good. It can be very upsetting!
    I never salt my oats. I guess it makes them taste better, but I like the way they taste without it so I’ve never tried it.
    Kinda tight schedule today! I can relate. T/Th are my shit days. LOL.

  3. I know I so hope that I am not developing a dislike for coffee! I’d be truly saddened! :-( :-( Those kale chips are different. crispy veggies (other than potatoes) takes a little getting used to.

    I’m sorry your oatmeal didn’t turn out. It’s horrible when things go wrong in the morning. For me it kind of sets the mood for at least half of the day.

    I put salt into my oats, but only a pinch. My oatmeal texture preferences vary from day to day. Sometimes I like it mushy and other times I like it watery. I normally add 1/4 cup of oats, 1/4 cup of water and 1/4 cup of soy milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 Tbsp. of brown sugar, 1 banana and 1 Tbsp. of ground flax. When I want it waterier/creamier, I change the amount of water and soy milk to 1/3 of a cup each. Hope that helps!!

  4. ah, sadness that your oats didn’t work out! i have yet to add salt to mine, but i always add lots of cinnamon…and i use natural sweetners like the dried cranberries and bananas or apples for added sweet taste…and usually i make my oats in the microwave so the water gets all soaked up. not sure what went wrong!

    have a good night and friday!

  5. I’ve never added cinnamon to my coffee before. Well, now I know what I’m doing tomorrow.

    Sorry about the oatmeal. I usually don’t add salt to my oats, but I tried it once and couldn’t taste anything different. I’m not sure why yours were so liquidy (not a real word) – I can’t stand it when breakfast, the best meal of the day, isn’t absolute deliciousness.

    But you certainly made up for it with that veggie stir-fry! I love spicy food – and as you so wisely mentioned to me once, anything with feta makes the world go round ;)

  6. The bigger meal thing doesn’t work for me either–not when there are still bites left in the fridge! I think it only works for some people :(

    Love the tortilla for breakfast! Now I want some hummus too :-P

    And when you put cinnamon in coffee, don’t you find that there’s all these cinnamon clumps at the bottom of your cup after you’re done? Or is there some way to prevent that?

    For the oats–I heard that when you add salt, to do it when the oats are partially cooked so that you give the oats enough time to thicken up? [I haven’t tried adding salt yet–too scared! :-P]

  7. Leng – I’m sure your coffee liking will stick around. Coffee is just too good to give up completely. And I’ll have to give those kale chips a go. I keep forgetting to buy kale though. Oops.

    Carmen – Yeah, I usually have some cinnamon clumps at the bottom. But I also usually just drink em up anyway, yum yum cinnamon clumps haha

    Thanks everyone for all of the salt + oatmeal advice. I think next time I’ll add a bit less and see if it makes any difference. Otherwise I might not bother because thus far they have been pretty darn excellent without it.

Leave a Reply

