Cheesy Oats and Sunshine

I wasn’t super hungry upon waking, but after some weight moves out of an issue of Fitness I figured I could finally stomach some pre-class eats. So I decided to finally make those highly coveted Cottage Cheese Oats that everyone seems to be raving about lately.

I only wanted a small bowl since I still wasn’t overly hungry, so I used 1/4 cup of oats, half of a small frozen banana, a bit of cinnamon, a touch of Splenda and about 1/2 a cup of 1% cottage cheese.
007

FILLING. I might have added just a touch too much cottage cheese, it was pretty cheesy, but I still enjoyed it. I don’t know if I loved it as much as others seem to, but maybe I need to experiment with it a bit more.

After my morning class I came home, enjoyed an iced coffee to fuel myself since I felt like I was burning out just a bit, then did a great 45 minute treadmill interval workout. This one to be precise. Try it. It’s awesome. And it goes by so quickly since you’re constantly changing the speed. I did it on a 4% incline. By the end I had gone 4.6 miles and burned 380 calories according to the treadmill readout. I have no idea how accurate that is though. I should really consider investing in a heart rate monitor.

I was kind of running out the door after getting ready since I was supposed to meet up with a friend before my 4:00 class, so I didn’t have a lot of time to make something good up lunch-wise. I ended up eating some leftover homemade pizza, tomatoes and cucumbers that were cut up from last night’s dinner, a half slice of rye with hummus and salsa, and the last of the vanilla yogurt container with dried cranberries. This was all surprisingly filling so I was good to go after that.
017 018 023 028

I ate that “lunch” around 2:00 and I still wasn’t even hungry when I got home from my last class after 5:30. Talk about staying power… I ended up having my dinner around 6:30, which is pretty late for me.

I had no idea what I was craving but after some freezer digging I stumbled upon the Sunshine Burgers that I had bought a while ago. Totally forgot about them. I’d had one from the box so far (which I blogged about before and which I would have linked back to except, when I looked at the post I discovered that nearly every single picture was wrong and unmatching to its food description. WHAT? Stupid WordPress) that I cooked on the bbq and enjoyed but wasn’t enthralled with. This time around was completely different. I cooked it in the microwave and I don’t know if that’s what made the huge difference but I loved EVERY SINGLE BITE.
032 045
I had the burger on a whole wheat english muffin with a wedge of Laughing Cow Light cheese, dijon mustard, tomato and spinach. I could have eaten two.
I also had some cut up carrots with balsamic as well as a bunch of baby tomatoes on the side.

While catching up on some blog reading tonight (and consequently slacking on readings…), I enjoyed an iced coffee. I think I might have to be retiring these pretty soon with the cold weather coming in… sigh. Good thing coffee is delicious hot too. And I’m definitely ready to get back into tea drinking again. I retired that pretty much the entire summer.
053
RIP Iced Coffee? Nah. Not yet!

Oh, and I also snacked on some of the apple bar (which is actually much more of a “cake” than a “bar”) that I made yesterday throughout the day. Probably the equivalent of a slice or so. It’s more moist and therefore better now. It could still use a little something more though to down the dryness factor a bit.

Now I guess it’s time for a bit more textbook reading before bed… woo…

12 thoughts on “Cheesy Oats and Sunshine

  1. leftovers are always good to have on hand when you’re in a rush. They prevent you from eating out, buying junk food and it’s cheap!

    I too have been slacking off on my reading….

  2. Hurrah for cottage cheese oats! I agree that they are not an everyday kind of dish, but definitely a good change up once in a while. I actually had them this morning, too!

    I’m glad you enjoyed the Sunshine burger even more the second time around! I still haven’t tried those…

    Haha, I pretty much always sacrifice school reading for blog reading. Ah well, it’s a worthy sacrifice, in my opinion!

    Hurray for bringing back the hot coffee and tea – nothing better in the cold weather!

    Hope you have a good Tuesday!

  3. LOVE IT!
    LOVE IT!
    LOVE IT!
    I am a cc oats lovah. I think a good heuristic to follow is 1:1 ratio of cc to oats.
    I love the color of that sunshine burger! Maybe I should try one.
    Have a great day Kristie!

  4. no wonder the burger was so good, it looks PERFECT. wow! and i agree, hot coffee is still goooood. i love a good cappucino-ing :)

  5. Melissa S – Mmm sounds like a good plan… especially the ice cream. Yum.

    Leng – Leftovers are awesome! Many a great and enjoyable meal I have made out of leftovers.

    Jenn – You should try the Sunshine burgers! They seem to be kind of pricey for the small amount you get, but I’d say they are worth splurging on at least once to try them out. And yes, blog reading beats school reading any day :)

    Erin – Okay next time I do the cottage cheese oats I’ll try that ratio ;) And you too should try the Sunshine burgers!

    Heather – Pretty sure I’ll still be drinking the occasional iced coffee right into the dead of winter. It’s just too good to imagine retiring for an entire season!

    Mi – I haven’t had a capp in way too long. They are the best on a freezing wintery day!

  6. VeggieGirl – They sure are deelish. I might try another flavour next time I see them. Too bad they are hard to find around here!

    Chandra – Because I’m just so hardcore like that. ;) Haha I don’t know, probably because I’m used to doing incline. I do ALL of my treadmill running on an incline of at least 4%.

  7. I LOVE sunshine burgers! I just discovered them at my local Whole Foods. I love that the ingredients… and they smell good cooking in the micro :)

Leave a Reply

