Moo Cards!

Check out what I received in the mail today!
058
I’ve seen a few others mention getting these on their blogs, but it was still pretty unexpected and exciting to have these arrive in my mailbox!
068
I just love em. They’re so cute and colourful.

But I’ll stop gushing and move onto the food.
Today I tried Kath’s Cheese Danish Pancakes for the first time. I’ve been meaning to do the cottage cheese oat pancake thing for a while but I never want to sacrifice my lovely containers of cottage cheese by mixing them into other foods since I enjoy it so much alone. Fortunately I finally bought a container which I just didn’t enjoy that much, so I’m using it up by mixing it into all of the different things I’ve always wanted to try – aka the pancake.
I made a few small modifications, mainly reducing the amount of everything by just a bit to make a smaller portion.
The result? Well, they were a bit of a flop. I think I probably could have used a bit more egg white or something to hold them together, because I ended up with more of a Cheese Danish scramble than a pancake. It still tasted GREAT though, so I would definitely make it again, even if it doesn’t work out so well as a pancake for me.
002
This beautiful mess is topped with a hazelnut almond butter/vanilla yogurt/SF maple syrup dressing. This “dressing” stuff is good on everything.

I had three nearly rotting bananas left sitting on the counter that needed to be used asap, so I made some Banana Date Drop “Cookies”. They could hardly be considered cookies since there is no flour or sugar in sight, but they make a nice little pop-in-your-mouth treat that does a pretty good job of satisfying a sweet tooth and baked good craving, at least for me.
025
They are made up of 2 cups of oats, 3 ripe mashed bananas, 1 cup chopped pitted dates, 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce and some cinnamon and vanilla. Baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. I got the recipe to make 44 teeny cookies and I probably ate 3 or 4 today, but at about 35 calories a pop I didn’t see any harm in eating several of them.

I did a 25 minute sprinting interval workout on the treadmill and then a half hour Tae bo Abs DVD, then made myself some lunch.
A boring ol’ bowl of salad without any fancy mix-ins…
030
…and then one piece of leftover falafel with tahini yogurt dip and guacamole, and half a slice of rye with guac and bruschetta.
031
I also had a couple pieces of watermelon after lunch.

For dinner I had the last leftover Enchilada from the other night, along with some leftover pasta, some fresh mac and cheese with salsa, and some raw veggies.
037

My sweet eat was a teeny piece of Sour Cream Banana Bread with some cinnamon butter and a fresh strawberry slice. I also had a couple more strawberries, a few bites of yogurt and another drop cookie.
046

Now I’m thinking I might go make myself an iced coffee or tea, then it’s off for some Phil’s Hip Hop! This week is frosh week so there are events and such going on at the bars every night. Gotta partake in at least SOME of the festivities! Night all!

10 thoughts on “Moo Cards!

  1. Sorry the pancakes were a flop :( Ours are VERY hard to flip as well – but that’s also part of the joy of them since it means they are doughy and moist :)

  2. Yay Moo Cards!! So happy you got yours :)

    The first time I tried those pancakes they were definitely a flop, too – but I still loved ’em, just like you, and I added some extra egg whites the next time and they turned out more “pancakey” so all was well.

    I love those little “drop” cookies – thanks for the recipe!

    Have fun at Phil’s Hip Hop :)

  3. yay for trying the new recipe! hope they come out better next time if you try them again! and those cookies sound yummy…i have some bananas to get rid of so maybe i’ll try making those…

    have fun tonight!

  4. ah so much going on! from your moo cards to your falafels! I haven’t had those in years! and the banana date drop cookies–I could drop a few in my mouth.

    Have fun!

  5. yum the cookies and falafel look good!

    and so glad windows live writer is working for you. I have been one of it’s biggest fans, so I would have hated to hear that it wasn’t working out…but yes…so fast…so easy!!

    have a great Thursday!!

  6. Kath – I agree about it being part of the joy, I really liked how moist they were and I think it’s a great recipe! I think next time I’ll try making it into smaller pancakes though instead of one big one… probably a bad call on my part. Definitely doesn’t make flipping very easy.

    Jenn – Yep, I think extra egg whites will have to go into mine next time too. Plus, you can’t go wrong with the added protein anyway, right? ;)

    Em – I wish I had downloaded it ages ago. Well, I tried and it didn’t work so I guess technically I couldn’t have. But boy am I ever glad it worked now. Life saver of a program.

    Mi – They are little business cards from Foodbuzz :)

Leave a Reply

