Long Weekend Wrap Up

I’m trying something new by writing this post in the Microsoft Word blog posting program. If this ends up being a lot easier then I might just have to make it a regular thing. Trial run! We’ll see how it goes.

Edit – okay so that publishing thing worked, but it took forever to do, but maybe that’s because I was trying to figure out how it worked… and I don’t like the way the pictures look. Blah. So I might just stick with the normal way of just posting straight through wordpress. Sigh. Has anyone use the Microsoft Word blog posting or something similar? And if so do you know a quicker way of resizing a bunch of pictures? I had to do each one individually and it just seemed to take forever…

Friday

For breakfast I was feeling a waffle, so I had one topped with vanilla yogurt, frozen banana slices and raspberries and some sugar free maple syrup. I’m not sure what kind of waffles these are since they are just in their plastic baggie in the freezer, but I think they are some kind of whole grain with blueberries or something along those lines. It was good anyway.

I also had one of those thin crispy scones I mad the other day crumbled on top of a teeny bowl of yogurt with some raspberry jam mixed in. The bowl really is teeny, hardly the size of the palm of my hand.

I worked at my dad’s on Friday, so we ate out for lunch. I packed a lunch initially because we always end up going to places that don’t really have food options that I’m overly impressed with. I packed a tofu wrap, some carrots with balsamic vinaigrette and an apple. I ended up eating all of this because all I got at the restaurant we went to was a relatively small and relatively unimpressive greek salad.

For dinner we had chicken lasagne (one of those frozen out of the box ones… yuck) and cheese garlic bread. This was one greasy, cheesy meal. I felt pretty unimpressed with myself for eating as much as I did (which was more than pictured), and the garlic bread wasn’t even good. It had way too much butter which I think might have been going slightly rancid. I also had a bit of salad with light cucumber dressing.

I wasn’t hungry for anything after this, but I had a little bit of raspberry kefir left in the fridge that I wanted to get rid of, so I had that with some Peanut Butter Panda Puffs and Vanilla Shreddies thrown in. I am a pretty big fan of Shreddies, but definitely not so much the vanilla ones. Their sweetness tastes really weird and artificial. But now I’m stuck with a whole box that needs to be eaten. Ah well, I guess I’ll just have to mix it with other cereals when I eat it.

Saturday

I didn’t really take any pictures of my food at all on Saturday, nor do I even really remember what I did for the entire day. I did manage to get one picture though, and that was of the cereal bars that I attempted to make. Huge failure here. I mean, they taste great but they are not bars at all. I didn’t have enough keeping them held together so I basically ended up with a dish of crumbly sweet cereal. It’s now in a container in the fridge that I grab a piece from here and there. I’ll probably just eat it mostly mixed with yogurt or something.

In these “bars” is honey, peanut butter, cinnamon dried fruit (I used dried apricots and dried peaches because that’s pretty much all I had), Vanilla Shreddies and Puffed Rice. There, my first attempt at getting rid of some of those Vanilla Shreddies. I probably needed more peanut butter to hold these together. Next time. I was following a recipe but I don’t remember where I found it.

Oh, for dinner we went to my cousins’ grandparents’ place for a “Thanksgiving” dinner, which they did now because I guess it was easier to coordinate and make it work out at this time of the year rather than later on. I didn’t feel like I overate TOO much or made too many poor food decisions, but I inevitably ended up getting some bad stomach pains after this meal. That always seems to happen to me after big family dinners with food I don’t typically eat. No idea what triggered it, but I’m suspecting maybe some of the dessert I had…which consisted of a sliver of apple pie, a couple bites of a chocolate cake, a couple bites of some ice cream dish, a couple bites of pumpkin cheesecake, and two small homemade skor bars. I know that sounds like a lot, but my portions were relatively tiny. I overindulged a bit on the skor bar front though. I should have one had one but they were so good I just had to go back for a second. Sigh.

I actually stayed in this Saturday night! That’s a first for me in a while. I guess though, having been on Wednesday, Thursday AND Friday night, with plans to go out Sunday night as well, staying in Saturday was somewhat of a requirement…

Sunday
I have many overripe bananas right now, so I knew I wanted some banana oatmeal. I used 1/3 cup of oats, half a banana and cinnamon, then topped it with a vanilla yogurt/SF syrup mix, some frozen blueberries and a sprinkling of flax.

I also made the best FOAMY awesome iced coffee ever. So much foam! I used splenda, some light hot chocolate powder, a splash of skim milk and 5 ice cubes. Not quite sure what made it so foamy, but I think it might have had something to do with the fact that the coffee was still slightly warm when I made this, whereas usually I make my iced coffee with coffee that’s already cold and has been sitting around for a while. I know, maybe that’s a little gross but whatever, it works.

That lighter top section is ALL FOAM.

For lunch I had a salad with a bit of chicken thrown in, feta and sweet onion dressing.

Then I had a baking mission, and made Sour Cream Banana Bread.

I found the recipe randomly on the internet a long time ago with the intentions of giving it a try someday, and now having so many bananas just waiting to be baked with sitting on the counter, this seemed like the perfect time to try the recipe out. Unfortunately the link to the original recipe has now gone completely missing on me. I have no idea where it went. But I made a few small modifications in an attempt to make it the tiniest bit healthier, so I’ll post how I made it.

2 cups all-purpose flour
¾ cup sugar
1 large egg
¼ cup egg whites
2 Tbsp vegetable oil (because that’s all I had)
1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce
½ tsp cinnamon
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 large, ripe bananas, mashed
½ cup fat free sour cream

I made one loaf plus 12 mini muffins out of this recipe. I baked the muffins for around maybe half an hour, and the bread for about an hour, both at 350. The muffins cooked perfectly but the bread is slightly undercooked inside. The outside was pretty brown so I thought it would be done enough, but I guess I was wrong. It still tastes good though.

I calculated the nutritionals for 16 servings out of the entire recipe, so I cut the loaf into ten pieces and then counted two mini muffins as a serving. Each serving came out to about 160 calories and 2.5g of fat. Not too bad I’d say.

I had a piece with some light margarine after lunch.

Then for dinner I made Jenna’s Famous Chicken Enchiladas. I’ve been wanting to make enchiladas for a while now and it just seemed like the perfect night for it.

My only changes were that I used pre-cut frozen chicken that was just defrosted in the microwave, and I had no chilies so those obviously didn’t go into the dish. I also threw some spinach into the tortillas, and used light mozzarella rather than a Mexican cheese blend since, well, I didn’t have any of that either. On the top I sprinkled some oregano and… All Dressed popcorn seasoning. I found it in the cupboard and thought it might add a bit more flavouring considering I used a pretty bland cheese.

These were great! I think next time I would actually go out and get some kind of Mexican cheese blend or use a stronger cheese, but other than that they were perfect. Even my brother, who is a picky eater and doesn’t like to try new foods, thought they were really good. So score for this recipe, it’s a keeper!

I had mine alongside some leftover mashed potatoes from the dinner Saturday night, as well as some yellow beans.

Then last night I went out to my favourite little sketchy bar Phil’s for “Black Sunday”, which is apparently their biggest Sunday night of the year because it’s the Sunday that all the students are coming back into town before school starts. You always have to go there early on a long weekend Sunday because the line up gets crazy so I ended up going at 10, which is pretty darn early (I typically go between 11:30-12) and yet it was already quite busy when I got there, and within a half hour was already packed with a long line of people waiting to get in. People know where it’s at on long weekend Sunday ;).

Unfortunately, although I did have a good time, I ended up being pretty disappointed by the end of the night over some stupid stuff, and when I arrived home I did something that I haven’t really done in a while – I binged on pretty much any food that caught my eye. Everything I ate was small portions – a bite here, a taste there – but it all added up to a crapload of food that made me really disappointed in myself this morning. Stupid emotion eating. So today I am going to try to eat really clean and healthy, and heck I’m going to try to detox so to speak for the rest of the week. I’ll do my best anyway. I really need to get back on track because I am really not happy with what I’ve been putting into my body lately (it’s mainly the random snacking and the stupid alcohol) and what it has been doing to my body. I have been feeling pretty down of myself lately. So I need to fix this and get back on track. I think that’ll be a little easier now that it is the last week of freedom before school starts. Getting back into school and into the routine of things (and not having too much free time to snack and go out drinking…) should definitely help.

12 thoughts on “Long Weekend Wrap Up

  1. Gorgeous waffle breakfast, cereal bars, banana oatmeal, and banana bread/muffins (I just posted about banana bread too! haha :-) )!

    Today is a new day, Kristie!! Stay strong. And good luck when classes start!

  2. I agree with VeggieGirl! Today is most certainly a new day, no stress! That banana bread looks amazing, and so do the enchiladas! Enjoy your last week of freedom before school! :)

  3. i really recommend windows live writer – i’ve just started using it, and installed it free. just google “windows live writer” and it should come up with a link that lets you download it. pictures are uploaded so fast and everything is just easier, and you can upload posts directly into wordpress.

  4. wholefoodswholeme – I actually tried to download the windows live writer several days ago an for some reason it said it couldn’t be downloaded on my computer. I have no idea why, I really wanted to use it, I keep hearing good things. I may give the download another try though and hope that it works.

  5. That waffle breakfast looks amazing – as does all that yummy baking you did! Even if those “bars” aren’t really “bars,” they look really good. And I’d say the sour cream banana bread more than makes up for it – wow, what a great recipe! Thanks so much for posting it!

    I’m sorry about the rough Sunday night. I have to catch up on your next post…but I hope that you’re feeling better now!

  6. Pingback: A Falafel First « Lighter Portions
  7. Pingback: Moo Cards! « Lighter Portions
  8. Pingback: It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year « Lighter Portions

Leave a Reply

