On the UP side Today

Living up to my hopes, this day was much improved from last night!

I woke up in a good mood and had some grapes and a tasty smoothie for breakfast. It included chocolate protein powder, strawberry yogurt, unsweetened vanilla almond milk and frozen banana.

Then I did a good quick Tae bo workout. I should probably have done something longer but I had plans to go to the Farmer’s Market! with my mom and we wanted to get out as early as possible. Which didn’t actually end up being that early but whatever.
Post workout I had a hard boiled egg white, one half stuffed with black bean hummus and the other with roasted red pepper and feta spread. I also ended up eating about 1/3 of a cup of cottage cheese.

Then we headed to the market. I snapped a few quick picks. The first is a stand with a bunch of jarred sauces and such. We bought the most amaaaaaazing cinnamon butter from here. It tastes like icing. Heck, it’s probably basically like icing. Oh well. Everything in moderation, right?

My mom and I also shared a freshly squeezed Strawberry Orange Juice from this brightly coloured stand.

We also ended up buying some green beans, corn, blueberries and concord grapes from the stands outside. It was a lovely hot day today. I enjoyed soaking up a little sun while browsing around out here.

I ate WAAAAAAY too many of these grapes plus blueberries. More than anyone can imagine eating in a day. They are wonderful. Especially partially frozen.

We also bought cheese curds, aka “squeeky cheese”. It squeeks when you eat it. I had several curds throughout the course of the day.

Then a little later in the afternoon I made lunch. A big bowl of salad with chickpeas and homemade dressing. The dressing was a little too tangy this time around, but I ate it all anyway. It was still pretty good. I love a big bowl of salad. Especially when it’s eaten outside :)

Then I had a small piece of bread and a small piece of banana with some of the delicious cinnamon butter. I could eat it with a spoon. Except I won’t. That would be a very bad idea… I also ate more grapes, blueberries and some honeydew melon. Oh fresh fruit, how I love thee.

It also seemed like an iced coffee kinda day. So I had that too.

I spent the rest of my afternoon sitting outside reading, hoping to soak up some sun, but unfortunately it ended up getting and staying cloudy during the prime hours of tanning for my backyard, which only gets sunlight in the late afternoon. So I eventually went inside and did some Ipod music updating, blog reading and strength exercises before dinner.

For dinner I had corn on the cob (from the market today!), some broccoli and half of a whole wheat bun topped with spinach, a big dollop of salsa, egg whites and feta cheese.

Then I ate even MORE melon, grapes and blueberries. I TOLD you I ate way too many of these today. At least they are healthy… although probably not quite as much in such overabundance. Natural sugar overload!

And the night has fallen. Soon to be time for a night out dancing with the girls. Should be fun times! Have a great night everyone and THANK YOU x a million for all of the support and encouragement on my negativity yesterday. You guys rock.

11 thoughts on “On the UP side Today

  1. all your pictures look so beautiful!! and i loveeee the magic bullet…seriously hooked on it! im glad you had a better day and im sure tomorrow will be even better cuz its friday!!

  2. Glad you started out your day in the right mindset it is important to refocus after a day like the other day… the market looks great and stay positive and focused!

  3. I’m so glad you’re feeling better – you certainly had the day to match your mood, wow.

    First of all, stuffing your hard-boiled egg white with dip/hummus is pure genius. I am definitely going to be trying that soon. Then there’s the trip to the farmer’s market…holy moly, I honestly want to eat everything you talked about – especially that cinnamon butter! I’d have trouble NOT eating that straight from the jar, for sure!

    Dinner looks pretty much amazing, too. I hope you had fun with your friends!

  4. I hope I can get to a Farmer’s market soon.. yours looks great! I love the idea of egg whites with hummus. I’ve been lacking in (healthy) post-workout snack ideas. My personal favorite has been ice cream! :)

  5. I know this is random, but I just scrolled through your post really fast and saw the hard boiled egg and thought that you filled them with PEANUT BUTTER AND CHOCOLATE!
    Ha!

Leave a Reply

