Ups and Downs

I was having a good day today, I truly was. Work was fine, I ended relatively early, I had dinner with a friend. It was all good. Then everything just seemed to kind of go down hill.

Warning: This is a bummed out rant. Pretty much for my own benefit. Skip this block of text if you don’t want to read a whole bunch of negative thoughts that probably only half make sense.
I had to have a not so fun conversation with my friend that was pretty hard to deal with and that really brought my mood down a bit. She was pretty down. But I was okay, just a little less chipper than earlier in the day. Then I came home and ate some stuff that I didn’t really want or need to eat (aka unhealthy crap) because I just didn’t feel very full after my dinner and thus did the whole fridge raid snack thing. So that made me bummed out, and feeling like crap, and hating on myself. Then I had planned on doing a workout but a friend called me and wanted to stop by to pick up her camera which I had, and she ended up staying for a while and chatting, which was fine except now I suddenly got really tired and just don’t have the energy for a workout now. Which sucks SO much because I haven’t done one in three days because I’ve just been too tired from working such long days and then the minimal sleep on the weekend I’m still trying to catch up on… And I am now feeling incredibly gross and lazy and flubby and it’s kind of scaring me. I don’t like this loss of control thing. Well it’s not a complete loss of control but a loss of structure in the past few days. I need to get back on track but I feel like I just don’t have the chance. And plus the stuff I talked about with my friend who picked up the camera included much guy complaining/confusion, and that just made me more bummed out thinking about it since I am having some major guy confusion right now. Plus I found out she’s leaving a day earlier than I thought to go back to school, and I was relying on her to go out with me the night that she’s leaving because of some lame reason that I don’t feel like getting into, but anyway now she can’t and now I’m not sure who else will be available and it’s kind of important that I find someone and now I’m worried about that too and right now I’m just rambling and feeling bummed and down on myself and everything around me. And I apologize profusely for this stupid rant but sometimes blogs are just great for throwing out all of those stupid emotions. So I am terribly sorry if you just read all that and I brought you all down. I’ll keep the rest of this as neutral as possible. eep.
RANT OVER.

AND food time.
Breakfast? Cereal. Weetabix and Guardian with some almond milk, raspberry Kefir (Has anyone ever tried this liquid yogurt stuff? Is it supposed to have a tang/sour taste to it…? I’m thinking not. Maybe the one I got isn’t quite at its freshest… but the stuff is pricey and I don’t want to buy it again only to find out it IS supposed to be like that cause I’m not a huge fan of that sour “bite” so to speak that it has going on…), frozen banana and blueberries.

Lunch was packed. I had a salad with romaine, mushrooms, carrots and balsamic vinaigrette, a large apple and 1/2 a cup of 1% cottage cheese. I also had a bite of a Cliff bar that was in my bag.

For dinner my friend and I went to a little restaurant called Yukikos. They had some pretty good sounding stuff. I got a warm chickpea salad with feta, spinach and sundried tomatoes. It was good but I was honestly expecting a little more out of it. And I still felt like I needed more food after this…

… hence the snack fest upon returning home. I had some leftover Hamburger Helper from my brother’s dinner (Ew!), some cottage cheese, some carrots dipped in black bean hummus, and a bit of rye bread with salsa. Then a bit later I had a few bites of gelato and some blueberries with yogurt. Now I feel gross. Do you blame me? Sigh.

Sorry sorry sorry. Better mood tomorrow! *fingers crossed*

15 thoughts on “Ups and Downs

  1. Please do NOT apologize for the rant. This is your blog, I read it not only because I like drooling over your food pictures (although I do ;) ) but because I can related to you- your busy schedule, your healthy attitude, your occasional unhealthy mishaps. You are a real person and real people have real problems and can’t always be perfect. I get that, your other readers get there and we are all here to support you. I hope you feel better soon and if you need to vent about anything at all, you know the place to do it. Take care girlie :)

  2. this is definitely the place to come for a good rant session! we all need them every now and then. i can totally relate on the “loss of structure” you’re experiencing, just step back and look at these past three days in the grand scheme of things. they don’t matter, and you have plans to get back on track as soon as you’re able. stay strong, and get some sleep tonight, tomorrow is another day! :)

  3. You’re soooooo allowed to rant to your readers whenever you please! I’m so sorry you had a rough day! Just think… it just makes tomorrow’s job easier because it just has to be better… well it’s very “cup half full” but it gets me through soooo many days!

    And, *sigh* I kind of want Hamburger Helper now… weird

  4. it’s your blog hun, you can do what you want with it! no worries! and we’re always here for you to listen to rants and make you feel better so you can move on to better times!!! sleep up and stay strong!

  5. I;m sorry you felt bad :( I can really relate to this post because my night went quite similar. I went crazy with the food (eating EVERYTHING, even though I was full) and because of that I missed my workout. So I went to bed early and planned on getting a class in this morning. I overslept and missed that, too. I tell you this because you aren’t alone. Catch yourself now, snap back on your healthy track and get back to feeling great. I hope today is better!

  6. Blogs are made for ranting, in my opinion. Don’t ever worry about posting how you feel! I’m really sorry that things didn’t go so well yesterday. I hate how when one thing goes wrong, everything goes wrong. It’s always that way, and it sucks. I hope that today goes better for you and that all the individual problems find solutions.

    And I haven’t had Hamburger Helper in a long time. But I definitely would have been feeling it after your day yesterday. And now I actually kind of crave it…I miss it’s salty goodness.

  7. When you make your own Kefir it has that tang taste to it also the unsweetened is very sour/tangy to me. It is hard to get use to it. Since I drink the homemade kefir the store bought is especially easy to drink. The fruit flavors are loaded with sugar and quite sweet. I would say give it another try yours might have been too close to the expiration date-at least if you like the fruity ones. My kids gulp those.
    Anna

  8. you are totally entitled to rant in your own blog, at any time! i hope tomorrow (today) is better for you, don’t get yourself down!

  9. awe it’s OK we all have our days. no need to apologize. Don’t be too hard on yourself. a little break from exercise is OK. hey at least it you’re still eating healthy right?

  10. Anna – Thanks for the info on the Kefir! I might give it one more go.

    Jess – These food blogs are just so darn addicting aren’t they? I just recently started reading yours and I enjoy the uniqueness of it. I’ll be continuing to read for sure!

    Everyone – Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU. You guys are more than awesome and every single one of your sweet comments and thoughts put a smile on my face. I truly appreciate all of you, you sure are a great group of people :)

  11. I am little late, but I just wanted to say don’t worry about the bad negative day. We ALL have them. I hope you’re feeling better. You have lots of support on the blog, so never apologize for ranting.

    xoxo
    Heather

Leave a Reply

