The Neverending Workday

I worked ten and a half hours today! That is the longest day I have ever had to work at the bakery. One of the downfalls of working there… there isn’t really an “ending” time. You work until you are done. Typically that is a couple hours earlier, but when there is an especially large order or something… well you’re stuck there. I hate not knowing when my day is going to end when I go in in the mornings. It makes it damn hard to plan anything else. Oh well, luckily I had nothing important on my agenda for my post work day today.

I started the day off with a pretty typical breakfast, yet somehow this one managed to hold me over for six and a half hours until I was able to have my lunch! And even at lunch time I wasn’t starving.
I had a bowl of Weetabix and Peanut Butter Panda Puffs with almond milk, frozen banana and vanilla yogurt. Only difference was the yogurt. Wasn’t my typical fat free sugar free kind, but rather Stonyfield brand full fat vanilla. It has newly appeared in the grocery store (and only available in the normal fat kind, no low fat or fat free available yet…) so I wanted to give it a try. I have to admit I like the taste of my standard yogurt a bit better, and it’s much lower cal so I can eat a lot more of it… but this stuff sure seems to do the job in the stomach filling department.

I also snacked on some chicken thigh that I was chopping up and throwing into my lunch salad, which put me slightly over the top full by the end of the morning. That protein boost is probably another key factor in my long lasting breakfast.

Lunch was a salad with the leftover chicken and balsamic vinaigrette, an apple and a yogurt.

My lunches are so boring. Heck, all my meals have been pretty boring lately. I really need to start branching out… I’ve been trying to play it a bit safe with my meals though lately, so to speak, because I’ve been slacking a bit lately, and after a highly overindulgent weekend when my family was visiting, plus a week of many nights out involving probably a bit too much alcohol, I managed to put on a few lbs. Those need to go. I haven’t had time (or energy for that matter) to do much exercise the past few days because of long work days, so I have to try keeping the eating in check. I’m only moderately succeeding right now. Blah.

When I got home from work, I had some 1% cottage cheese (of course straight from the container) while making dinner.

Dinner was a veggie burger on a slice of rye with lettuce and a feta and roasted red pepper spread. Deeelish. I also had a side of mashed cauliflower topped with FF sour cream and salsa.

I also had two of my brother’s Supreme Fries from Taco Bell. I had to have just one little taste…

Then dessert, which was the rest of my container of Banana Graham Pie Baby Food, mixed with raspberries and blueberries. I later threw in some Guardian cereal. Unfortunately I then snacked on several handfuls out of the box. And then had some granola straight from the box as well. Curse you granola.

I managed to catch up on a bit of sleep last night by actually going to bed before 9. And sleeping for 9.5 hours. That’s longer than I’ve slept in ages and I can’t remember the last time I went to bed that early. It’s probably been years. And I probably should have gone to bed at that time again tonight but alas, it is now 10:30 and I still have a lunch to make and want to do a bit more blog reading. I’m aiming for around 11 though… we shall see.

8 thoughts on “The Neverending Workday

  1. Oh granola. always addictive! you made me crave a veggie burger as well!

    And wow 10.5 hours is a long day! i bet you are exhausted!! Hope you have a relaxing night! Happy Wednesday!

  2. hope you get a good night’s sleep! the veggie burger looks very good. intriguing about the baby food – does it kind of taste like applesauce-y texture?

  3. I laughed when you said your meals have been boring. Did you see that awesome dinner?! My dinner last night was a big bowl of banana oatmeal. I think you win :)

  4. hey kristie!

    I just stumbled on your blog through another food blog — and it is excellent!! i am totally lovin’ your eats! as a former bakery employee / barista, i know how hard it is sometimes to try to be healthy when there are so many opportunities for delicious nibbling throughout the day . . . especially on loong days. 10.5 hours – yikes, girl! anyway — just wanted to let you know your blog is awesome, and i am looking forward to checkin’ out more of your meals soon!

    -tea

  5. Yikes, sorry work was insanely long! But I’m glad you got some sleep – now I just need to take a cue from you and get my arse in bed earlier. I’m becoming an insomniac, and I don’t like it!

    I definitely would have had a taste of those Supreme Fries…wow, they look amazing.

    Ok honestly, I think I might have to try that baby food.

  6. wholefoodswholeme – Yeah, I guess you could say somewhat like an applesauce-y texture, although the banana kind is much chunkier, pretty much like mashed up bananas. It’s grand.

    tea – Thanks for stopping by! Always nice to have new readers. I’ll have a stop by your blog too!

    Kat’s Veggie Life – GREAT to know. I’ll definitely keep my eyes open now!

    Jenn – DO IT! You know you waaaaanna.

Leave a Reply

