A Weekend of Late Nights

Friday night was a late night of dancing. And Saturday morning was an early morning for work. I managed to do it though without even going for the coffee! At least not until after lunch when I hit a definite midday slump. Plus I was really cold, so I figured a big cup of coffee would kill two birds with one stone – give me an energy boost AND warm me up. It did both. Thanks coffee.

But this would make more sense if I started at the beginning of the day so…

Saturday

I had the first bowl of oats I’ve had I think all summer! Or at least in a month or two. It was actually oat bran. But regardless. I actually found myself craving a hot bowl for breakfast again, as I haven’t felt for anything like that at all this summer. It was pretty great. I just finished up whatever oat bran was in the bag I had, probably 1/4 cup. I cooked it stove top style with pumpkin, cinnamon and banana, then topped it with a mixture of pumpkin seed butter, vanilla yogurt and SF maple syrup. It was awesome. Now I need some more oat bran.

For lunch I packed my standard mixed veggie salad topped with homemade FF sour cream/dijon/balsamic vinegar dressing and a handful of chickpeas, an apple and a raspberry crumble yogurt.

Later on in the day I began to feel a bit hungry so I had half of a Chocolate Chip Cliff Bar to tide me over. This was my first time trying this flavour and I enjoyed it, but I have to admit I’m not sure I’m quite feeling the enthusiasm that seems to surround this flavour. I wasn’t overly thrilled with it. It was just good to me, but not great I guess.

Dinner was great. I made a grilled sandwich in which I put chicken, a FF cheese slice, tomato, spinach, buffalo sauce and dijon mustard. Mmm. I also had a nice pile of greatly overcooked broccoli, sprayed with balsamic vinaigrette.

After dinner I did a good treadmill run workout, then had a snack of some Corn Bran and Guardian cereal, a splash of unsweetened almond milk, frozen banana chunks and vanilla yogurt.

Then I went out dancing. Yes, again. Two nights in a row. Tonight will be the third ;) While getting ready I had an iced coffee. It was greatly needed considering the lack of sleep from the night before plus the late night that was in store ahead of me.

Sunday

Last night I slept over at my friend’s place, but woke up fairly early anyway condsidering I only got to bed around 4:30… yikes. But once the sun is up and shining in my face, I have a damn hard time falling back to sleep. So I woke up and headed home.

I wanted to do a workout as soon as possible, so I had a protein powder smoothie and then did an hour Tae Bo workout. Thanks for the muscle work Billy Blanks. ;)
I failed once again to make my smoothie as good as the first one I had a few days ago. It was good, but just didn’t have that perfect consistency that I got from the first round… oh well I guess. This one just had chocolate protein powder, frozen banana, cherry yogurt, unsweetened almond milk and some crushed ice.

My stomach was satisfied after this but I wanted something to bite into, so I had 1/4 of a Pria Bar.

After a workout, shower, etc etc I decided that I really wanted to make some homemade HUMMUS. I have never done this before, but been meaning to forever. I had my mind set on it. I picked out a good looking recipe and headed to the kitchen for ingredients, only to discover I had no chickpeas. BUMMER. BUT. The recipe I picked was actually for Black Bean Hummus and I was just going to sub chickpeas. Well, I had TWO cans of black beans, so I figured I might as well go along with the original recipe and do that instead. I used this recipe. I turned out wonderfully. I think I might end up consuming the entire thing within the next couple days.

I licked the processor in which it was made clean. And by licked I mean used a piece of rye bread to soak up all the hummusy goodness.

Then I made myself lunch. A big salad plus some chicken on the side with salsa and HUMMUS to dip it in. Yum.

Then I had some Sugar Free Cherry Koolaid with frozen mango chunks. I love fruit infused juices.

After a grocery haul, I had a fresh plum. Then a nap.

Then dinner. Half a sweet potato topped with…. what else. Black bean hummus. And salsa and FF sour cream. Along with a few noodles and a teeny piece of chicken from my family’s chicken cacciatore dinner. Oh and half of a small piece of garlic bread that I forgot to take a picture of.

After dinner I had a small piece of banana with a hunk of pumpkin seed butter. Soon I will be having an iced coffee. Then I will be heading out for some Phil’s Retro Night. And work at 8 tomorrow morning. Oh boy.

10 thoughts on “A Weekend of Late Nights

  1. Oooh, your Saturday breakfast looks scrumptious; and I LOOOVE the sweet potato that you had for dinner on Sunday – yum!!

    YOU LIKE PUMPKIN-SEED-BUTTER TOO?!?!?!?! FABULOUS!!! It’s my new obsession :-)

    Good luck at work tomorrow!

  2. have a fun night!!!!! i wish i went out and had as much fun as you do on the weekends! i’m such a party pooper! hahahaha….

    and i need to find myself some pumpkin seed butter…everyone talks about how good it is…hrm… :)

  3. wow what a fun weekend! i’ve done my fair share of partying this weekend, and am looking forward to getting to bed early ;)…good luck with work tomorrow!

  4. lots of dancing!! your hummus looks and sounds great, i love homemade hummus – miles above th store bought stuff!

  5. Sounds like a fun weekend, and all your pictures are making me hungry. Seriously, I don’t know what it is you do with that yogurt, but the way you situate it in your breakfast bowl always makes me drool.

    That black bean hummus recipe sounds amazing! I still have never used my food processor. One of the first things I will make will definitely be hummus, and I think I will like the black bean recipe even more than regular hummus. So thank you!

Leave a Reply

