Weekend Blues

I was planning on getting this update up last night but something came up last minute (just another night out… I need to minimize all this late night shiznat) so here it is now, along with a quick rundown of today as well.

I hate to say that my weekend was a complete bummer, but it was. I won’t vent too much because I don’t want to another downer post, so I’ll stick mainly to the food. I also just got back a little while ago from a walk with my mom and I did plenty of venting during that time, which made me feel significantly better. Venting mom walks can be great things. :)

Saturday

I felt like it would be a good day for an eggy breakfast, so I scrambled up some egg whites with refried beans, salsa, avocado and spinach and stuffed it all into half of a high protein pita. I can’t get enough of these pitas, I want them with every meal.

I also chopped up a honeydew melon and cantaloupe, and did lots of snacking on this during the chop process.

And then an iced coffee made itself present of course.

Lunch at work was a standard mixed vegetable salad bowl of mush with about 1/3 of a chopped up chicken burger thrown in. I had this along with an apple and half of a carrot oat muffin (I gave the other half to my brother).

A little later on I was feeling hungry again so I snacked on half of an Optimum Peanut Butter bar.

For dinner I had yet another of the wonderful pita halves, stuffed with a Gardenburger, goat cheese, tomato, spinach and dijonnaise. This was AWESOME, I don’t know if I can go back to having Gardenburgers with any other kind of bread product. Notice the small potato that I also had on the side.

And I had a few bites (a few too many…) of the meatloaf my mom and brother were having. I always want nothing more than to resist the meatloaf, but the one my mom makes is really good and I can never completely say no to a few tastes.

Saturday night I went out. It was lame. This city feels kind of like a ghost town during summer weekends. Stupid people and their cottages (Clearly jealous).

Sunday

Today was beautiful outside. I’ve been pretty tired-ish all day. Late night.
I spent the night at my friend’s house. We went out for breakfast this morning. I was kind of pumped, I like going out for breakfast.
And then we arrived at the breakfast destination – a little, hole-in-the-wall grease pit. Lovely. The choices? Eggs and toast and home fries in every variation. I got an egg over-easy with two pieces of whole wheat, of which I ate 1.5. It was okay but not what I wanted at all. And I was not satisfied by it at all. And I smelled like grease when I left. Yum.

So I got home and made myself a bowl of fruit and yogurt. Now THIS was a much improved breakfast #2.

Shortly after it seemed like an excellent idea to sit outside with an iced coffee and a magazine. So I did.

For lunch I had some leftover corn on the cob that had been in the fridge for a while. I coated it with light margarine and a parm/herb mix. It was awesome.

I also had a spinach, strawberry, goat cheese, walnut, balsamic vinaigrette salad. New salad combo right here for me. I was hoping this would be great. It ended up being okay. I think it would have been much better if the strawberries were sweeter, but they were slightly more on the bitter side so that detracted from the overall dish a bit. I still enjoyed it though.

Then I had the last of the pumpkin chocolate chip muffins from the freezer. I am greatly saddened that these are all gone now. They will be made again very soon.

For dinner I had another pita half stuffed with refried beans, homemade guac (that I added too much lime juice to and therefore slightly ruined by I ate it anyway), salsa and spinach, and topped with a nut yeast spread and some feta cheese, all baked for about 10 minutes.

Then a little while later, while I was not hungry at all, I had a craving for chocolate along with a craving for baking. So I pulled out a chocolate cake mix and a can of pumpkin and threw them together. These were the deliciously fudgy results, which are 10x better the next day. I overate these just a bit.

Then, as mentioned at the beginning of the post, I went out with a few friends. The night ended up to be pretty lame yet again. But so be it. Another late night and another early morning. Surprisingly I survived the day without crashing or even really feeling too tired for that matter. I don’t really have many pictures from the day but here is a brief overview:

Monday

I slept over at my friend’s again, who I work with so we both had to get up early. Bed time? Around 2:00-2:30 a.m. Alarm time? 6:30 a.m. Why do I do these things to myself? It was tough but we got up, got ready and headed out to breakfast before starting work at the bakery at 8.

We went to a little breakfast diner, which was much less gross and greasy than Sunday’s, and I ordered two poached eggs with rye toast. Even though it was a similar breakfast to the one on Sunday, I enjoyed this way more. Maybe I was just in a better mood. Maybe it was because they had good coffee. Maybe it was because the eggs were perfectly poached or the toast was perfectly browned. Who knows, but I ate every bite.
(Camera phone… I swear it tasted way better than it looks)

Lunch was thrown together last night while I was heading out the door and it had to be things that did not have to be refridgerated. So it consisted of baby carrots, an apple, a banana, a carrot oat muffin (that I only had a few bites of) and a mini pumpkin chocolate muffin, and some dry Corn Bran and Peanut Butter Panda Puffs cereal. Thrilling, I know.

It was a very long work day. Lots to be done so I was out an hour to an hour and a half later than usual. Oh well.

Since I was lacking veggies from the rest of the day, I threw together a nice big salad with romaine lettuce, spinach, cabbage slaw, zucchini and tomatoes, topped with a homemade sour cream dressing, refried beans and homemade guacamole. I also had a piece of pita with hummus. Sorry for the overabundance of refried beans and pitas. There will be less of that this week.

Then I munched on some honeydew melon and… some Rolo ice cream. My mom just bought a tub because my brother got his tonsils out today and will be living on cold, soft foods for the next couple days. That obviously means ridiculously delicious yet terribly dangerous ice cream sitting in the freezer just taunting me. So I had a few too many tiny spoonfuls. Then made myself an iced coffee to finish off the cold sweet craving without finishing off half of an ice cream tub at the same time.

I am in a much better mood today than I have been the past few days. Work was good, even though it was long. I am not feeling too down or lonely. And tonight I am just going to chill and not go anywhere. This whole sleep catch up thing really needs to happen.
And once again, sorry for yet another ridiculously long and blabbering post. Kudos for making it to the end.

13 thoughts on “Weekend Blues

  1. Awww feel better beauty! :( I was SUPER NEGATIVE NANCY today… accompanied by a monsoon of tears! Btw, my GF Flow is comin in next week! :) (…Ahem…Betch.)

    Anyways, your pictures hav become SO freaking CLEAR and the colors so bright! LOVE IT ALL <3 feel better!

  2. SIGH…. your pictures …. so FREAKIN gorgeous!!! You should be a photographer – seriously, I really LOVE your angled shots!!!

    Ok to the food, yummy cantaloupe and honeydew combo – love them!! Oooh man, *throwing fits* why can’t we GET gardenburger how in Perth :0( So sad … I’m so jealous!!

    By the way … all of your muffin pics are stirring up a serious muffin craving here – I <3 muffins … Don’t you just love the name muffin?!

    By the way, I hope you feel better :0) You know what works for me? I punch my pillow – ahhh, of course locked your room before you do that – don’t want anyone to think you’ve gone a bit cuckoo ;0)

  3. Omg I was just thinking about how badly I wanted to make pumpkin chocolate chip muffins today! Hope you enjoyed. And the chocolate muffins? Wow!

    More importantly, glad you are feeling better!

  4. Your pitas are absolutely mouth watering. I want one terribly bad! Feel free to make me one ;]
    -Ansley

  5. Hey! I love your blog :D

    I have ice cream taunting me in freezer as well… bah! but your pics are making me crave all of those delicious fruits and veggies; especially that yummy-looking corn.

    hope your day looks up and you get to take it easy! I know what you mean about just wanting to lay low.

    I linked you on my new blog :) http://www.iameatingtolive.wordpress.com

  6. We all have our BLAH and down times, you’ll snap out of it. :-) I know how you feel about being drained from going out but still not ever saying no to doing it. I am such a social butterfly, I always feeling like I’ll miss something and be sad ifI don’t go out, even if I am super tired!

  7. Melissa – I got the recipe for the Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins from Tina’s blog: http://www.carrotsncake.com/2008/05/pumpkin-muffins-with-peanut-butter-and.html :)

    Chandra – YES that is exactly it! I can be so tired and know that it’s best not to go out, but at the same time want to go out so badly and I would often rather suffer through the tired just so I don’t miss a potentially good time out. Heck I could go out every night. I should really learn that my body needs rest… sigh.

    Everyone – THANK YOU. You guys are all way too awesome. Reading all of your comments makes me grin from ear to ear :D

Leave a Reply

