Whoops, Doubling Up

Sorry I have been MIA for TWO days now. This isn’t even a weekend, when I usually do the two day round up. But I’ve been pretty much nonstop on the go or so it seems, so I just haven’t had the chance to update! Let’s start with:

Wednesday

Breakfast was a bowl of Raisin Bran and Corn Bran with frozen banana slices, vanilla yogurt and skim milk. I seriously love this breakfast. The cold mushy banana and yogurt mixed in with the crunchiness of the cereal and the chew of the raisins…the perfect mix of food textures and tastes.

I worked at the bakery so lunch was packed. A wrap, baby carrots and an apple. The wrap had hummus, avocado, salsa, spinach and red peppers inside. Sorry I couldn’t get a pretty picture of the innards but I was in a rush so I just rolled it up and snapped a quick shot.

I had my lunch at the same time as the owner of the bakery, Richard, and it was hilarious because the entire lunch time he was sitting and drilling the other guy we were eating lunch with about the nutritional values of his white bread sandwich and fruit juice. I was lucky I had a completely healthy self-packed lunch with no processed foods. His wife eats nearly all raw and she’s really got him into it as well, so he knows pretty much everything there is to know about nutrition and food, down to the specific acids in fruit and what benefits or nonbenefits they offer. Interesting coming from a guy who owns a bakery eh? Haha

And on the completely opposite note, he gave me some mini cheesecakes to bring home. I may have had a couple bites of these…

Dinner was Chicken Cacciatore. I topped mine with feta and had a small piece of rye on the side. It was pretty stale but I ate it anyway. I also had quite a bit more noodles than this, picked straight from the pot. Pasta is one of those can’t stop addiction foods for me. Hence why I try not to have it too often.

I knew I needed vegetables and I was still kind of hungry so I had a bowl of spinach with light cucumber dressing and a few mushrooms with dijonnaise.

Then soon after I had a bowl of yogurt with mango, blueberries and frozen raspberries.

I wasn’t allowed to eat anything after that because I had the fast since I had an ultrasound appointment in the morning for some stomach issues. This was fine though because I don’t often eat anything into the pre bedtime hours anyway.
I was so exhausted though that I was ready for bed hours earlier than usual, but I had to stay up to do my course registration for fall, which opened up right at midnight. And if you don’t get on and register right away you will have a much harder time getting into the courses you want to. So I had to stay up much later than I wanted. But I ended up just setting my alarm for near midnight and having a nap of sorts while I waited to register.

And now onto….

Thursday

Today I worked as well, but for my dad this time. Before that though I started the morning off with my ultrasound appointment so I couldn’t eat anything before that. Luckily my appointment was early so I wasn’t even hungry when I woke up. I was pretty hungry by the time I got home though. I had half an english muffin with white chocolate pb and banana slices. Looks like a small breakfast but that’s because I didn’t take a picture of the cottage cheese or leftover pasta that I ate as well…

Oh and the iced coffee.

For a snack at work I packed some red pepper slices and baby carrots.

Then we went out for lunch with my dad (my brother and I both work for him). We went to a little sports bar place called Sammy’s Rec Room. The menu is ridiculous. Basically everything on it is fried and/or coated in mounds of sauces or cheeses. And the food itself is served in mounds. Heck one of the dishes on the menu was called ‘The Cardiac Arrest’ or something along those lines. Half the descriptions of the food included the words “deep fried”. It’s terrifying. I’ve been there before but not for a long time. Luckily they had some salads so I went with the mandarin orange salad. It was great!

Look how much dressing they give along with it…I hardly used any, only a few fork dips. I also picked off some of the almonds. But I did eat ALL of the pita bread. I can’t resist pita bread. Or fries apparently because I picked a bunch of them off of my brother’s and dad’s plates. Ah well though, I managed to have a pretty healthy lunch in the land of the deep fryer so I can’t complain.

We had a pretty lunch so I wasn’t very hungry come dinner time. But I ate because a) I was going out later and knew I wouldn’t have the opportunity to eat when I was actually hungry, and b) I FELT like eating. That is such a bad reason and I could have eaten a lot less than I did because I didn’t need all the food I ate but once again, all I can do is shrug it off. It really wasn’t THAT much food anyway. Just picked at a bit of bread, some cottage cheese, a little more leftover chicken cacciatore and then a bowl of salad and some yogurt with mango and cereal mixed in.

Then I went out to Caesar Martinis for some drinks and dancing. Drank probably a little more than I should but I practiced a little restraint. The night was… interesting. I won’t even bother getting into it. I just can’t seem to have a normal night going out.

6 thoughts on “Whoops, Doubling Up

  1. Yum, I can’t resist pita bread either, but congrats for steering clear of the deep fryer! I really don’t get why restaurants call some of their entrees like “cardiac arrest” i really don’t think I could ever order something with a name like that, it would ruin my whole meal just thinking about how it’s clogging my arteries lol

  2. That wrap sounds delicious, I may have to have it for breakfast tomorrow (it’s Saturday, I’m getting up late lol).

    Mmmm, that cheesecake is calling my name… actually all that food is :D

    Have a great weekend!

  3. Hey Kristie :) Thanks for the comment; I’ve actually read your blog for a while but I’ve been a silent reader for a while, hehe.

  4. That lunch looks fantastic! Good for you fod finding a healthy option. You and I def have the same weaknesses- pita bread and pasta…hmm.

Leave a Reply

